We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Houghton Cafe

) #2 of 7 Restaurants in Middle Swan ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ Cafe, , Gluten Free Options
148 Dale Rd, Middle Swan, Swan Valley, Western Australia 6056, Australia
9274 9543
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good34%
  • Average19%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (39 reviews)
“cuttlefish” (3 reviews)
“sliders” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Australian, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
148 Dale Rd, Middle Swan, Swan Valley, Western Australia 6056, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just had a small flat white coffee. There was more foam than on any cappuccino or late that i have ever hadMore

Thank andrew p
Herb F, Owner at Houghton Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Andrew We're sorry to hear your coffee was disappointing! It's certainly not what we like to hear. I'm hoping it was brought to our staff's attention so it could be replaced, however I'll also be sure to pass your feedback on to our staff...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to this Cafe as we heard it had changed hands. We decided to order two small entres. I had the Cuttlefish​ and my husband the deep-fried Camembert. My cuttlefish was delicious. I did ask the waitress her recommendation and that was it. My...More

Thank Rosina2013
Herb F, Owner at Houghton Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Thank you for your lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your time at Houghton. Thank you also for the feedback about the platters and pizzas. We are currently in conversations about adding those to our menu as they certainly seem like a popular...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We dined here with friends on Saturday as a birthday celebration. We did a wine tasting at the Cellar Door before purchasing a bottle of Pino Grigio for lunch. We had the duck liver pate with sour dough to start and then I enjoyed the...More

Thank BrinksMP
Herb F, Owner at Houghton Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello We're so happy to hear you and your friends had a lovely birthday celebration at Houghton. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience - we appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards Houghton Cafe...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I decided to visit. We had not been here for a couple of years. They did not have the platters that we enjoyed so much but decided to have a few different items. We had the pate which was delicious, the fried...More

Thank Carol P
Herb F, Owner at Houghton Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Carol Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Houghton Cafe. We're glad you enjoyed your lunch, although it's a pity the doughnuts were disappointing - we'll be sure to pass this feedback on to the kitchen. We're also looking at...More

Reviewed 9 June 2017

Went here with a Scoopon deal for 4 for $94. Enjoyed a glass of wine each, entree to share between 2 and main course each. We all shared the Shark Bay Cuttlefish. We loved this! Tender and flavoursome. 2 ordered the barramundi and 2 ordered...More

Thank Leah s
Herb F, Owner at Houghton Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Leah Thank you for your kind words. We're really glad you enjoyed your meals! Please accept our apologies for the wait between courses. We hope to cook for you again in the future! Kind regards Houghton Cafe Management

Reviewed 6 June 2017

We went here on the strength of an $89 2-course lunch/dinner for 4 which is an outstanding offer (if you can get in before the expiry date). We really enjoyed the beautiful setting and the food was excellent, along with a complimentary glass of wine....More

1  Thank TippOz
Herb F, Owner at Houghton Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello We just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the cafe. We're so glad you enjoyed your time at Houghton and hope to cook for you again! Kind regards Houghton Cafe Management

Reviewed 16 May 2017

One of our favourite places for lunch, have been here several times recently and have brought friends here from over seas, it is a fascinating place with its history and also love the art gallery in the old cellars, the food is also excellent and...More

Thank Malcolm E
Herb F, Manager at Houghton Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Hello Malcolm Thank you for your lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your time at Houghton and we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards Houghton Cafe Management

Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Visited today with friends and while we found the food was excellent, the staff attitude was wanting! What has happened to the concept of service and making the customer feel welcome rather than an imposition. When platters cost $45, it is unreasonable to suggest that...More

Thank Cartwell
Herb F, Manager at Houghton Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Hello Cartwell Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Unfortunately it is our policy that our takeaway platters are consumed in the picnic area, however we will certainly take your feedback on board to perhaps relax this rule during non-peak times. We...More

Reviewed 11 April 2017

Spacious grounds available to anyone wanting to picnic. Food and service at the cafe was very good. We had an outside table with umbrella, but when it started raining we were quickly ushered ino the cellar.Choose your own wines from the cellar door, pay there,...More

Thank sharon l
Herb F, Manager at Houghton Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Hello Sharon We just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review the cafe. We're so glad you enjoyed your birthday lunch and hope to cook for you again soon. Kind regards Houghton Management

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We went here for a lunch and loved the place. It wasn't busy so the staff were very attentive. Food was awesome. You buy your wine from the cellar door then take it to the garden setting. Highly recommended!

Thank zedmeister
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Yahava KoffeeWorks
292 reviews
1.08 km away
Lavender Bistro & Boutique
85 reviews
1.31 km away
Mandoon Estate
586 reviews
1.59 km away
Penny Garden
178 reviews
1.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Swan Valley Perth's Valley of Taste
98 reviews
.02 km away
Top Gun Tours
131 reviews
1.44 km away
Houghton Cellar Door
60 reviews
.03 km away
Margaret River Chocolate Company
317 reviews
1.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Houghton Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Monday
10:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 16:00
Thursday
10:00 - 16:00
Friday
10:00 - 16:00
Saturday
10:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 148 Dale Rd, Middle Swan, Swan Valley, Western Australia 6056, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Western Australia  >  Greater Perth  >  Swan Valley  >  Middle Swan
  • Phone Number: 9274 9543
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing