We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Slowfish

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Marine Parade, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
+64 5742949
Website
Today
06:00 - 16:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 06:00 - 16:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 120: English reviews
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After an enjoyable walk around the Mt what better than to enjoy an excellent lunch across from the Ocean. Thoroughly enjoyable meal and just what we wanted.

Helpful?
1 Thank JonTelamar
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Been to DeckChair twice so thought it time to give another brunch cafe a chance - SlowFish did not disappoint! The deli cabinet was loaded with amazing treats and there were jars of hand made wonky cookies and incredible looking protein balls dusted in freeze dried raspberry... wow! It was around noon when we dropped in - the guys chose... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHotrox
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was recommended to us by a very helpful bartender. We couldn't have asked for a nicer breakfast. My muesli had delicious fruit and honey. Service was quick and seamless. My wife learned what stripey bacon meant:) farm fresh eggs with orange yolks that are so hard to find in Seattle

Helpful?
Thank adamtre316
SlowfishBeachcafe, Owner at Slowfish, responded to this review

Yes, we use free range eggs in all our dishes and you do taste and see the difference. Thank you for noticing the quality of our food! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great healthy option - vast choice of mains, wraps, cakes and salads, put together with care - my smoked chicken and pesto wrap had a delicious salad and what tasted like home made sweet chilli sauce to set the flavours off. Great value too.

Helpful?
Thank jeizza
SlowfishBeachcafe, Owner at Slowfish, responded to this review

Our chefs make all the products fresh from our carefully chosen ingredients. It is wonderful to get your acknowledgement for their skills and efforts. Thank you so much and hope to see you again. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Simply the best porridge I've ever had! Great coffee! Free Wifi! Friendly efficient staff! Great start to the day after our climb up the mountain!

Helpful?
Thank Nash H
SlowfishBeachcafe, Owner at Slowfish, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to have breakfast at Slowfish. It is fantastic to get the great feedback. Enjoy your travels! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Visited on Sunday morning with my 3 year old. I ordered French toast which was delicious and my daughter ordered a kids bacon and eggs which she loved. Coffee was great and the service was surprisingly fast considering it was very busy. Would definitely return!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael P
SlowfishBeachcafe, Owner at Slowfish, responded to this review

We love having young families eating at Slowfish. We've got young kids ourselves and find it hard to discover places with healthier menu choices for them. Thanks so much for your feedback! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

I Can't go past creamy mushrooms and normally I'm disappointed... NOT HERE these were amazing great food all round great coffee great service...

Helpful?
1 Thank 274kariner
SlowfishBeachcafe, Owner at Slowfish, responded to this review

Creamy mushrooms are a great choice, whatever the weather is. Good way to get those B vitamins in your body. Thank you so much for the review! More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We were looking for seafood and found this place. Great seafood and small plates. We ordered the calamari, scallops and mussels. All excellent. The mussels were huge and delicious. Very fresh seafood and excellently cooked and presented. The staff was friendly and very quick. The decor was great as well. I wish we had more time on the mount to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Davin R
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

I need my daily coffee fix and happened to walk into this place. While I waited for the take away, bought myself a bliss ball. Nice strong silky coffee and a nutritious treat. Was a good start of my day.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
SlowfishBeachcafe, Owner at Slowfish, responded to this review

Thank you! Those protein balls are very popular and full of goodness. Glad you liked them and hope to see you again. More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Great location right on the beach front but sad to say our breakfasts were quite average. Everything including staff a bit hum drum. Think we will try another place next time.

Helpful?
1 Thank HappyBubbleSurfer

Travellers who viewed Slowfish also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to Slowfish? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 3 - US$ 16
Cuisine
Healthy, European, New Zealand, Cafe, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Waitstaff
Good for
Child-friendly, View
Open Hours
Sunday
06:00 - 16:00
Monday
06:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
06:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
06:00 - 16:00
Thursday
06:00 - 16:00
Friday
06:00 - 16:00
Saturday
06:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Marine Parade, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Bay of Plenty Region  >  Tauranga  >  Mount Maunganui
  • Phone Number: +64 5742949

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Slowfish staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?