We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hare & Hounds

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cronton Road, Tarbock L35 1QJ, England
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
Prescot
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Another great night with piping hot meals in friendly atmosphere. Definitely Visiting again this week.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank lindawZ5213YD
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review. We have plenty of reasons to come again with a weekly quiz starting Thursday from 9pm, entertainment every Saturday and Special Offers for mothers day. I really hope to see you soon when we will keep making improvements and endeavour to make your experience as entertaining and friendly as possible More 

Prescot
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Normally good food but not great this time, staff not so friendly been other times an food been good and staff lovely

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank juliemY9008LO
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that your experience wasn't what you have come to expect from us. We do accept that on occasion we can have 'an off day', but this shouldn't impact on our service or the quality of the food we provide. I hope to see you soon where we can hopefully wow you with our personality and service.... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

To be fair I didn't expect much when I came with my mum for lunch today. I thought it was just going to be General pub grub how wrong was I.. ... I ordered the Cajun pasta and added chicken and my mum ordered the chicken new Yorker. On arrival there was plenty of food they sure don't skimp on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanne37290
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

How superb to know you enjoyed your visit today. I'm incredibly proud of my team and the service I feel we give so when we get reviews like this it makes the hard work worthwhile. I was working yesterday and it's great that you've singled out every member of the team for special praise, it means that I can thank... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

£8.99 for 2 meals, you can't go wrong, food is always a good standard. Staff are very welcoming & for a busy pub you always get a consistently good visit.

Helpful?
Thank Rachel O
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

It's great to hear reviews like this, not only has our value and service struck a chord but it shows that we do it consistently for you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Keep an eye out on our Facebook page for deals and events occurring in the future months. More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A group of us visited one evening in February, having been in the area. The establishment was packed when we entered, but we were quickly led to a table by a friendly member of staff, after ordering some drinks at the bar. There was plenty of choice on the menu, with each of us ordering something different; myself a steak.... More 

Helpful?
Thank David S
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that we have excelled. We pride ourselves on our service and its great to hear that this has struck a chord with you. We look forward to welcoming you back, if you haven't already tried it I'd recommend one of our famous double dip ribeye steaks with a lovely glass... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food here was way above the standard you would expect for pub grub! Piping hot cooked just as was ordered (med-rare) plentiful portions and all of this within 15mins of ordering. Staff where excellent friendly and funny and you where acknowledged as soon as you went to the bar for a drink. I don't mind waiting my turn at... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thanks for you review. We aim to provide excellent service and it seems that with you we have struck a chord, it's also great to hear you enjoy our quality steaks, have you enjoyed one of our signature double dip rib-eyes yet? We'll be glad to see you back wether it be to watch the football or to enjoy another... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went out for a meal with family for my birthday as pub is local and been before. Ordered meal waited well over a hour for meal to arrive and when did stiff was missing from two meals, garlic bread with the lasagne which is main part of meal, onion rings from steak meal. Was going to order deserts but disappointed... More 

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
Thank Scousejay41
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

I was disappointed to read your review, we pride ourselves on our service but do admit on occasion we can get it wrong! We usually hope that we can correct this for customers on site at the time to prevent a total bad visit. I would be interested to chat to you to find out when this visit was and... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017

The food served here is probably the best Pub food I've ever had, really good choice and well worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank LeeThom69
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a good review. It's always great to know when our guests enjoy their experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future where we will do our best to keep up high standards in both our food and service. More 

liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017

have passed this place many times but have never been in, until yesterday. we are fed up with the local pub grub so thought we would give this a go. it was really great. the price of the food, good size portions and spotlessly clean, which for me is a must. the lady called phylis was serving the food, also... More 

Helpful?
Thank andymikenick
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. It means a lot to get positive feedback like this especially when we are busy. It's also great to hear about particular staff that provide excellent service, it means that we can reward them accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the pub and will endeavour to give the... More 

Prescot
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017

Oordered 3meals 6pm 640pm still no food ( no one else in pub)asked staff politely to check on it,came out cold when complained was glared at and food snatched away and microwaved to reheat,poppadoms didn't come out so when I 'DARED' to ask for them they were thrown onto the table!! Attitudes awful such a shame, used to be so... More 

Review collected in partnership with Greene King

Helpful?
2 Thank jackiei2017
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you had this experience Jackie. This certainly isn't the standards that we expect from our team. The food you order should come within a reasonable timeframe, hot and with all accompaniments. We pride ourselves on the friendliness of our team and the openness of our management team. I hope that you will give us another chance to... More 

Travellers who viewed Hare & Hounds also viewed

Been to Hare & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cronton Road, Tarbock L35 1QJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Tarbock

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hare & Hounds staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?