We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hare & Hounds

Cronton Road, Tarbock L35 1QJ, England
+44 151 489 3046
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good15%
  • Average12%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible23%
Travellers talk about
“salmon” (3 reviews)
“busy pub” (3 reviews)
“piping hot” (4 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cronton Road, Tarbock L35 1QJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Haven't visited in a while popped in for a quiet lunch with my hubby. Food was delicious and served really quick

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Jill P
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although the food used to lovely, it’s hit and miss nowadays. It depends what day you go. Don’t ask for a cocktail because they “don’t do them anymore” apparently, even though it’s advertised on the website. And do not start a tab I there’s a...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Jenniferb647
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Got there late Saturday afternoon and the place was very busy but managed to find a table. Went the same restaurant pub a few months back and was not that impressed with the place. But this time there must have been new management or better...More

Thank lilypug2
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Not been here before, we were looking for somewhere to have lunch so decided to try here. We were not disappointed, the menu is extensive, although mainly meat based, the choices are plentiful. We both had the rump steak followed by apple pie and custard....More

Thank graham198
Reviewed 1 February 2018

I had to leave this pub. I was the only person waiting to be served, but was purposely left to wait. When I said I had been waiting 5 minutes, I was told I will have to wait another 5. Disgusted and embarrassed.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank EddieDefc
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

I would be interested to know when this was and who it was that told you this. We work on the premise that customer is king, Please contact the pub and speak to either myself or Gary so this can be investigated fully

Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

Went last night fed 6 for 42.00 Food was nice. Nice friendly welcome and staff were nice. I would go back again for sure, both boys had the apocalypse cow challenge, never seen so much burger on a plate. The proof was in the eating,...More

Thank paddythemaltese
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

We arrived in the evening and found it easy to find a table for a party of 9. We ordered food and drinks fine and one starter came out quickly. About 10 minutes later a waitress told us there was a 40 minute delay. We...More

Thank budncharl
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

The reason for the delay.was due to another large party arriving at the same time as yourselves. I did however ask the staff to inform all guests of the delay due to this, I can only apologise if this message was not conveyed. As for...More

Reviewed 28 January 2018

Waited for over one hour for food. 3 times I asked a member of staff what the delay was. Not once did anyone come back with a answer. When the food did come the so called fresh vegetables were frozen sprouts pea's and burnt frozen...More

1  Thank vivwhelan
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

We're sorry that you did not enjoy your meals. I agree that an hour is too long to wait on food, the reason to the wait was a party of twelve and a party of nine coming in unannounced - We would usually have an...More

Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Been before and had lovely food and lovely service. Went today and honestly the food was poor. All 3 of us complained about it saying it wasn't nice. The chicken on the burger tasted like it was canned chicken and the rest of the food...More

1  Thank Becci B
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal on this occasion. Our chefs use all modern equipment to cook the food including induction plates and microwaves. We do however pride ourselves on our freshly flame grilled steaks and burgers, maybe you can try one of...More

Reviewed 27 January 2018

Very good food at a very good price, with good friendly service . Staff are very attentive and there is a really good atmosphereMore

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank D563WQrobertw
Alan W, Manager at Hare & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

It's great to get reviews like this. We have been working hard to get the right team in place to ensure that the quality of food and service are what you expect. We will continue to work hard to ensure that every time you come...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Tarbock Hotels
Premier Inn Liverpool (Tarbock) Hotel
282 reviews
.53 km away
Village Hotel Liverpool
1,549 reviews
.91 km away
Premier Inn Liverpool (Roby) Hotel
657 reviews
2.59 km away
Childwall Abbey Hotel
168 reviews
4.02 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Brewers Fayre Chapel Brook
173 reviews
.51 km away
The Pub at the Village Hotel
8 reviews
.90 km away
The Public House
11 reviews
.98 km away
Nearby Attractions
Knowsley Safari
2,198 reviews
3.91 km away
Stadt Moers Park
25 reviews
1.85 km away
The Welly
9 reviews
4.06 km away
Delta Force Paintball Liverpool
20 reviews
4.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hare & Hounds staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cronton Road, Tarbock L35 1QJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Tarbock
  • Phone Number: +44 151 489 3046
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;