We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
In the Village, Heddon-on-the-Wall NE15 0DR, England
+44 1228 598941
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good27%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
In the Village, Heddon-on-the-Wall NE15 0DR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Disappointing food. I had steak and mushroom pie, the beef was dry as sticks and full of chewy pieces. I picked 3 consecutive chewy bits out of my mouth and then the 4th fork full had a large visible grissly line though it. We ordered...More

Thank Alex M
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello Alex Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I do believe I have also spoken to your partner via email recently who complained to site. I will apologise again for the food being below expectation on the day of your visit,...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just been to the swan today and was a bit apprehensive because of the recent reviews but i had not reason to be. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food was amazing i had the beef and mushroom pie and it...More

Thank cherrycoke-fan
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Thank you so much for leaving us your review, we really do appreciate it and love to hear when we are doing something right. Hope to see you again soon and thanks :)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I took our Grandaughter here for her birthday treat my goodness it was a disgrace I had Turkey dinner Yorkshire pudding was like a flying saucer hard cold I has to ask for another which was nearly as bad the meat was...More

Thank Hiccki
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Hiccki Thank you for leaving your review. I apologise for your party not having a great time with us, this is definitely not something that we wanted to happen. Had you said something on the day then maybe we could have done something to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited because have previously had some good meals here, don't know if there has been a change of management but the Sunday lunch was just awful. I don't know how they could go so wrong, not one thing on the plate tasted nice. Potatoes rock...More

Thank hshs1
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We regret to hear that you had this experience with us and will take your comments on board. I apologise for you not enjoying your experience although we have guests that return every Sunday for lunch. If you wish to address your concerns further, please...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited Wednesday night and very quiet. Should have been a warning as tried to go to poachers pocket but no spaces In car park. Food was really poor and overpriced so no wonder was quiet. Ordered lamb shank but not available at 7 o clock!!...More

Thank thompa14
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Thompa14 Thanks for leaving your review. I apologise for you not enjoying your visit. We did not have the lamb shank available on Wednesday evening as we had had problems ordering with out supplier but we did have an alternative available in its place...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to give The Swan a go for Sunday Lunch but never again. The quality of the meal was poor. Meat dry, the vegetables awful, particularly the cabbage which was brown on the edges and mostly white stalk. The meal wasn’t even hot. Very...More

Thank Hutd
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hutd, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. Sorry to hear that you will not give us another chance but we appreciate you bringing this experience...More

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

The Swan has been taken over by a company that thinks 1970's school dinners are something that is worth paying over £10 per person for instead of 50p. The vegetables were a disgrace. I could see some people eating it all up but that happened...More

2  Thank caroline h
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Caroline We have now been this brand for over 18months with some great positive feedback, I am sorry on this occasion that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. If you would like to discuss this further please contact us. Thank you

Reviewed 11 September 2017

Well the staff were friendly enough but the menu was confusing to say the least !! So many different combinations and quite expensive starter or mains with pud. Did my head in !! We ordered steak !! Cooked on griddle and quite dry. Not many...More

Thank 149gibsonm
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thanks for your review I apologise that the onion rings were missed off your steak, I wish you had mentioned it at the time as we would have got them for you, this is not our usual standard, missing things off meals. As a...More

Reviewed 10 September 2017

Had a wonderful Sunday Roast with my partner. The food was very tasty and the service was top class. The Beef was lovely and tender. The temperature of the restaurant was cold which was the only draw back.More

Thank Julie C
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Julie We are happy to hear that you had a lovely Sunday afternoon with us with the weather getting a touch colder we are keeping a eye on the temperature I am sorry that the building was still cold on your visit and I...More

Reviewed 8 September 2017

Excellent food and service. Although it appeared to me that they might have been a little short-staffed at the Sunday dinner time, the waiter did a good job serving our table. The very nice hostess not only recognized our need for hydration after walking all...More

Thank kenneymbmrj
General Manager A, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hi Thank you for your great 5 star review, we are glad we could help in contacting your hostel and you enjoyed your much deserved dinner stop, hope you enjoyed the rest of your walk. hope to see you again

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Dingle Dell
69 reviews
.12 km away
The Number Nineteen
26 reviews
.01 km away
The Swan
10 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Boathouse, Wylam
39 reviews
2.72 km away
North East Falconry
5 reviews
3.68 km away
Prudhoe Castle
76 reviews
5.41 km away
Prudhoe Waterworld
37 reviews
5.26 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
BlueBoat52
22 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 13 answers
Response from Linda G | Reviewed this property |
We have been going for about 3 years now and wouldn't have been going back if it was no good. Took our daughter and her partner who realy enjoyed the carvery. They couldn't believe how good the food was and how good the... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: In the Village, Heddon-on-the-Wall NE15 0DR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Heddon-on-the-Wall
  • Phone Number: +44 1228 598941
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing