We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George

) #141 of 209 Restaurants in Bromley ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , British,
29 Hayes Street | Hayes, Bromley BR2 7LE, England
+44 20 8462 1120
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good20%
  • Average20%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible18%
5 weeks ago
“Hmmmm”
14 May 2017
“Baby food”
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
29 Hayes Street | Hayes, Bromley BR2 7LE, England
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Title says it all! I love this pub inside and out, but from now on will only go there to drink. Have been a few times now and the food is consistently bad. No taste, dry, portion size stingy.... in fact I have nothing good...More

Thank Kathryn H
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Kathryn I am sorry to hear our food has not met your expectations, but very happy that you like the pub, please contact me as I would like to discuss this with you further and have another opportunity to wow you. Kind Regards Del

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of all - excellent booking system with email confirmations and reminders. But on arrival the most surly welcome I've received in the service industry in a very long time. We had long waiting times following every order. The waitress called us "love" "loves" and...More

Thank VirtualVicki
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Virtualvicki, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Here at The George, Hayes, we are always looking for ways to improve; we appreciate your input. If you would be willing, we would like to have you contact our manager 442084621120 to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Today was our last day of 6 week holiday in the UK & Europe. We were looking forward to a lunchtime meal with our friends. What we found was, Lacklustre Staff, Indifferent service, Smelly Toilets & and not all menu items available. One huge disappointment,...More

Thank georgecooper2017
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Georgecooper2017 Your feedback helps us improve and we would like to learn more about how we can make this better. We appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went here before Christmas and was supposed to be going here at Christmas. Unfortunately had to cancel at the start of December as mother in law was receiving emergency cancer treatment. When she told the member of staff this they were extreamly rude and told...More

Thank dan5577
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Dan Very sorry to hear you had this experience at the george last December? Please contact me to discuss this issue as that is not how we deal with cancellations, we are now at the end of May, I would have liked to be...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Had dinner here, Cod and Chips, Watery fish, a few chips with a £13.00 price tag. Toby Calvery beats this hands down st half the price.

Thank Andrea T
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Andrea Thank you for your comments and bringing this to our attention, I do hope my team dealt with this at the time if it was brought to our attention? Hope to wow you next time. Kind Regards Del

Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

As our local pub, we visited reasonably often prior to having our baby and the food was always good. Having some friends with us today, we thought we would go for lunch with our baby and their 2 kids. Our baby is unable to have...More

Thank Annabel D
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Hi Thank you for your feedback and comments, I am sorry my team did not explain to you that it is company policy that we are not allowed to heat baby food in the microwave, and all we can do is provide hot water, glad...More

Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

We are local to this pub and have visited serval times over the last 2 years. It's hit and miss, depends on the day and who is serving you. We have had good service but also very bad service. The food is usually okay and...More

Thank LondonKindo
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Rude & aggressive general manager ?Thank you for your review, although extremely surprising.

Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Visited one early evening with my husband . I wasn't that impressed, I would say the food and the ambience was average . I didn't like the way the tables were set out in the bar area, we didn't eat in the restaurant part as...More

Thank Leyla G
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Leyla G, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.

Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

Nice place to take the family - but not the best meal and a bit overpriced for what you get. The meal is nice, don't get me wrong, but it's not incredible and it's therefore a bit overpriced. I love the decor and it's a...More

Thank DadFC
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Gone_to_india, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. Wishing you a great day until the next time we meet.

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Very nice atmosphere. Parked on the street. Not too expensive. Overall good but not outstanding. Nice visit.

Thank Patrice H
General Manager A, Manager at The George, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Patrice H, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The George, Hayes! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Miller & Carter Steakhouse
405 reviews
1.19 km away
Costa Coffee
8 reviews
.57 km away
Tugra Turkish Restaurant
105 reviews
.59 km away
The Gamari
17 reviews
.60 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Swan
11 reviews
2.35 km away
Churchill Theatre
193 reviews
2.72 km away
intu Bromley
135 reviews
2.68 km away
Church House Gardens
35 reviews
2.91 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The George staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 11 - US$ 27
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 29 Hayes Street | Hayes, Bromley BR2 7LE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Bromley
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8462 1120
Description
The George is in the heart of Hayes, Bromley. Located just off the high street it is a firm favourite with everyone. With an extensive menu and a well stocked bar we are popular with families looking to celebrate a special occasion, those looking for a quiet drink in a comfortable, stylish environment to couples wanting a romantic meal- we cater for everyone. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing