We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dearden Tea Rooms

12 Deardengate | Haslingden, Rossendale BB4 5QJ, England
+44 1706 557300
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good13%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (56 reviews)
“scotch egg” (10 reviews)
“haggis” (11 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
12 Deardengate | Haslingden, Rossendale BB4 5QJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We’ve been here twice and been impressed both times. My wife loves the Ploughman’s (maybe a bit too much food) and we love the sandwiches, teas and burgers. We went there for the 2nd time with our twin babies and 5 adults and caused some...More

Thank DukeOfLancasterVI
Cjhood, Owner at The Dearden Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We will always go above and beyond for our customers, there was no inconvenience caused, it just needed patience from both parties for everything to come together, which it did. Our menu is extensive...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Fabulous! It was quite a long way to this location and we didnt quite know what to expect...but it was worth it. It was a Harry Potter afternoon tea. The staff and characters worked really hard. The venue decoration was brilliant. The atmosphere friendly and...More

Thank Lorrymac
Cjhood, Owner at The Dearden Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your experience of the tea rooms and our Witchcraft & Wizardry Afternoon Tea Parties. All of our events are very popular and most sell out. Our Witchcraft & Wizardry Afternoon Tea Parties are...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place has a nice feel to it. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The Afternoon Tea was of very good quality. There were four different varieties of sandwich - with no mayo in sight; which we requested on booking. Great to find a...More

Thank Drewber40
Cjhood, Owner at The Dearden Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the tea rooms and we met your dietary requirements. Our afternoon teas are very popular and excellent value for money. We use locally sourced produce from...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great food, friendly staff, but the ambiance was not the best. Doesn't quite hit the mark when it comes to the "Olde Worlde" feel that it it seems to be trying to create. We were also left waiting at the sign that says "wait here...More

Thank Richard T
Cjhood, Owner at The Dearden Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our afternoon teas are very popular, we use fresh locally sourced produce from reputable suppliers within Lancashire. most items are baked and prepared fresh on the day. You do not specify how long you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here for the Sunday dinner platter; it was absolutely gorgeous. The food was all homemade and didn’t disappoint. The puddings were really good too, again all homemade. The staff were all lovely and made you feel welcome. I really like the set up...More

Thank chuckyegg83
Cjhood, Owner at The Dearden Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of our Sunday Sharing Platter. It is excellent value for money, a beautiful cut of beef slow cooked for 4 hours complete with goose fat roast potatoes, Vimto braised red cabbage, roast parsnips, buttered...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited today for a gentleman’s afternoon tea for two, we were shown to our table when we arrived 1.30pm booking,we were served with a very polite young man who took our order for 2 lattes did not need menu for we had already booked the...More

Thank Sexbomb1958
Cjhood, Owner at The Dearden Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your visit to the tea rooms. Our afternoon teas are very popular! We use fresh produce locally sourced from reputable suppliers and try to bake most things fresh on the day. We apologise...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Tried to book their KIDSFREE special online, it would not accept the code, so I phoned the restaurant to book. Read the small print, had to book 24 hours ahead of time, and because we were also having afternoon tea for 2, I had to...More

1  Thank ecoday
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visit here on the 14th of October Was so looking forward to it as I had been told several times it’s was a Lovely afternoon out. I had already enjoyed another Local place famous for Afternoon teas and was hoping dearden would surprise me and...More

Thank Lee B
Cjhood, Owner at The Dearden Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review There is plenty of parking throughout the town, some council car parks, high street and private. All are within walking distance and the council ones are free with a 'Blue Badge' these can be...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just wow. So much attention to detail on the theme. Room was decorated inventively, Harry Potter and Professor Trelawney were amazingly real and great hosts and my nine year old niece was in awe (as was I if the truth be known!) Had great fun...More

Thank 900LouiseC
Cjhood, Owner at The Dearden Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of one of our Witchcraft & Wizardry Events. They are very popular with kids and adults of all ages. We have just recently launched new dates as the earlier ones had SOLD OUT. We...More

Reviewed 13 October 2018

I have reviewed Dearden Tea Rooms previously but thought they deserved another mention as they went out of their way to make our day special. We went for a 30th Birthday treat for my son who doesn't like butter on his bread or cheese or...More

Thank mummybear2222
Cjhood, Owner at The Dearden Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to hear you have reviewed us previously and you have gone to the trouble to leave us another one, we really are grateful. We will always do our best to accommodate any...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Sykeside Country House Hotel
140 reviews
1.34 km away
Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club
478 reviews
6.23 km away
Red Hall Hotel
593 reviews
7.98 km away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
1,713 reviews
8.16 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Siena restaurant
57 reviews
.21 km away
Haslingden Bar and Grill
159 reviews
.38 km away
Holden Wood Tearoom
167 reviews
1.46 km away
Nearby Attractions
Holden Wood Antiques
91 reviews
1.32 km away
Grip & Go
52 reviews
1.32 km away
RunAmok Play and Party Centre
57 reviews
.62 km away
The Live Lounge
5 reviews
.21 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Karen D
11 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Cjhood | Property representative |
Yes we are Karen as long as they are well behaved 😀
1
Vote
Trevooor
1 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Cjhood | Property representative |
yes we do a gluten free afternoon tea which is excellent value for money and many things on our menu can be adapted. we have gluten free bread and flour in stock all the time so meeting dietary requirements isn't a problem
0
Votes
Trevooor
1 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Stacey W | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do! One of our party ordered it
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 Deardengate | Haslingden, Rossendale BB4 5QJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Rossendale
  • Phone Number: +44 1706 557300
  • E-mail
Description
Once inside our tea rooms visitors will experience the authentic charm of yesteryear, open fires, original Lancashire range and may more original features whilst enjoying a traditional afternoon tea or if you prefer order from our menu of hearty dishes freshly prepared by our passionate chef and co - owner Chris Hood using locally sourced produce of the highest quality. We are passionate about baking and we hope you enjoy eating our cakes as much as we do making them. And we don't stop there our staff look the part too! We serve a vast selection of loose teas. Everything from traditional breakfast tea to delightful herbal and fruit teas, all our loose teas are available to buy. Loose tea isn't our only specialty. There's a coffee for everyone. Here at Dearden Tea Rooms we use rainforest espresso from exchange coffee based in Clitheroe. Our menu uses locally sourced produce of the highest quality. Visitors to our tea rooms can be assured of a warm welcome and a full belly!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing