We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal George Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery

Upper Shoreham Road, Shoreham-by-Sea BN43 6TA, England
+44 1273 591904
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good15%
  • Average14%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible36%
Travellers talk about
“roast spuds” (3 reviews)
“fish” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Upper Shoreham Road, Shoreham-by-Sea BN43 6TA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 147 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Well where do I start? I have been To the George before and had some very nice meals, when I saw that it was being refurbished I thought that I would pay them another visit to see what had been done.on entering I thought that...More

Thank Gooner217
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Upon the reopening the staff have been fully trained and can honestly say what a pleasure one of the managers bikash was very polite attentive to all of our needs the team leader in the food department introduced himself gave recommendations to us and was...More

Thank Elaine R
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We visited the George today for the first time since its long awaited refurb and I have to say that we were all very impressed. First impressions were ”what a great job they have done transforming the place”! We were served at the bar by...More

Thank stevolangleylad
Reviewed 4 days ago

Had an early evening meal here....had looked at the menu and it looked promising. We had a quick look at the carvery....all the veg looked a bit dried up so we chose burgers instead and upgraded to have cheese/onion rings/ and bbq sauce. The system...More

1  Thank neopuss
General Manager A, Manager at Royal George Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Neopuss thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. We would like the opportunity to make this up to you. Please contact our manager at 01273-591904 so we can make your experience a positive one.

Reviewed 6 days ago

took our grandson with 3 other children for his birthday to the refurbished carvery. excellent kids menu offering lots of choice at very reasonable rates.

Thank tednakhle
General Manager A, Manager at Royal George Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks again for the recommendation, and have an amazing day!

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

So after the revamp on the George we were expecting good things when it reopened on the 10th November. Sadly we were met with disappointment- same tasteless veg, “roast” spuds just tasted like they had been just been boiled, carrots had black bits in, the...More

Thank Katherine W
General Manager A, Manager at Royal George Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Katherine W, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Here at The Royal George, Shoreham, we are always looking for ways to improve; we appreciate your input. If you would be willing, we would like to have you contact our manager...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was really looking forward to trying out the new menu and seeing the refit. Unfortunately was very disappointed. The food wasn't too bad although a bit dry. Ordering system is very odd. You order at the bar and get given a pager when this goes...More

Thank Claire B
General Manager A, Manager at Royal George Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Please contact us at 01273-591904 when you have an opportunity, and we will be more than happy to try and turn your experience around.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked online for Sunday Carvery, we usually go to the Toby, but I wanted to try somewhere different When arrived they had no reconciliation of my booking but it wasn't busy so doesn't matter, the waitress showed up to our table, it reminded me something...More

Thank Jselwood
General Manager A, Manager at Royal George Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Jselwood, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one.

Reviewed 29 September 2017

The chief whose name was Sumit, was very friendly and courteous when serving his excellent carvery. The food was cooked very well , especially the meat . Also the waitress was very friendly and helpful. Well recommended ,thanks again Sumit .

Thank Glen B
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Friendly helpful service in usual carvery style. Meat is rationed but the wide selection of veg and sauces to which you help yourself is not. I had the fish which was cooked to order. Car park can be tight at busy times - some local...More

Thank Martin O
General Manager A, Manager at Royal George Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hi Martin O, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Royal George, Shoreham. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thank you again for letting our team know how we did! We look forward to helping again in...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Schooner
194 reviews
1.56 km away
Tosca Tapas and Prosecco Bar
48 reviews
1.21 km away
Pannisa Coffee
25 reviews
1.28 km away
JR's Fish Bar
11 reviews
1.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shoreham Harbour Lifeboat Station
73 reviews
1.13 km away
Shoreham Fort
76 reviews
1.52 km away
Happy Valley Riding School
14 reviews
.53 km away
The Duke of Wellington
27 reviews
1.57 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lilliek420
29 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Sharon C | Property representative |
Hi there, Sorry unfortunately we do not allow dogs inside the pub, but we do have some outside seating available, and the benches out the front of the pub have a porch like covering over them. Regards.
0
Votes

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Shoreham-by-Sea

Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 4 - US$ 7
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Upper Shoreham Road, Shoreham-by-Sea BN43 6TA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Shoreham-by-Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 591904
Description
Whether you’re up for a party, watching sport or meeting with friends and family for a bite to eat, the The Royal George in Shoreham is the place to relax and unwind. We’ve something for all the family – from our freshly carved, slow cooked roasts exactly how you like them, tasty pub food classics such as hand battered fish and steak and ale pie – all available on any day of the week. What’s more, every day we make our own fresh dough so you can tuck into freshly made stone baked pizzas and garlic bread. Or, we have a range of burgers and vegetarian dishes – and all main courses come with unlimited veg, salad and sides. With every plateful offering cracking value, it's no wonder locals in and around can't get enough.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing