We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hob Nob Restaurant

209 Queen Street | Located in the Charles Hotel, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
+1 905-468-4588
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good19%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“salmon” (84 reviews)
“tenderloin” (43 reviews)
“mac and cheese” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Canadian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
209 Queen Street | Located in the Charles Hotel, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 230 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2016

My husband and I were pleased with our meals at the Hob Nob. It was difficult to choose our meals based on the interesting descriptions on the menu of locally source ingredients. The atmosphere was traditional and elegant with opportunity for quiet conversation. The wait...More

Thank AVIDBOOKIE
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Hello Avidbookie, I'm happy to know that you had a good meal. It can be hard to decide what to order because everything looks so good - but that is all the more reason to return. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon...More

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

First visit. Located in the historic Charles Hotel. Service, atmosphere and setting was great. Was visiting for Shaw festival. Got a dinner reservation on short notice. Food was remarkable (Caesar salad appetizers, the salmon and the halibut for mains). Would highly recommend Hob Nob for...More

1  Thank Lynne R
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Thank you for your review Lynne R & for the recommendation! Our halibut dish has been very popular this summer and the crisp skin salmon is always a guest favourite. I'm glad that we were able to squeeze you in short notice; we hope to...More

Reviewed 20 August 2016

The food at this property was good, the location and cleanliness was just fine. The Hostess was less than hospitable when we arrived 20 minutes late for our reservation - there were a number of table open at the time. We had clients with us,...More

Thank S M
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Hello S M, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. It would appear that your Manhattan was more expensive because it was ordered with premium liquors instead of lesser "house" brand components. I regret that you felt you could...More

Reviewed 17 August 2016

we had a great meal here last week, setting was formal and food excellent but servers casually dressed and uncertainMore

Thank n9328x
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Hello n9328x, we appreciate all reviews however I feel as though your review is incomplete. If you have the time please email me any additional details from your evening so that we can address any issues with our team. I can be reached at kberketo@niagarasfinest.com....More

Reviewed 16 August 2016

Dinner was a special treat. Service was very attentive. The local bubbles (champagne) on the menu tasted so good we had to buy a few more bottles the next day. We shared the foie gras which took our taste buds back to France. My duck...More

Thank KieranR
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Thank you for the nice review KieranR, our foie gras is true decadence and is something that guests came back time and again for. The duck is a personal favourite and the halibut has been a hit with guests this summer. I'm glad that you...More

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

In town to celebrate our anniversary, and we had the most amazing meal in the historic Charles Hotel! We've visited NOTL many many times, have dined at many places enjoying each one very much, but the HobNob is really a cut above in terms of...More

Thank Spa-Foodies
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Thank you so much for the amazing review Spa-Foodies! I'm thrilled that we were able to make your anniversary and your experience here so memorable. Our kitchen team takes great care with every component of each dish they create. Nothing makes us happier than knowing...More

Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Had dinner there on Saturday. Food and service were excellent. Salmon was fresh and crispy on the outside. Everything was of great quality. I would eat there again.More

Thank Lance M
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Hello Lance M, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. The crisp skin salmon is always a guest favourite. I'm happy to know that you enjoyed the meal & service that we are known for. We will look forward...More

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Great spot. Very nice location on he fringe of the busy downtown area. Wait staff was very nice & food well prepared & presented. We enjoyed a breakfast here as wellMore

Thank ukdickinson
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

I'm happy to see that you enjoyed the HobNob a couple of times while visiting Niagara-on-the-Lake. Our location is perfect as we are walking distance to nearly everything but just slightly far enough way to avoid the crowds and congestion of the main area. Thank...More

Reviewed 13 August 2016

We stayed at the hotel so were able to take advantage of a $55 3-course menu, a wonderful value. Service and presentation were great and all our selections were delicious.More

Thank deborahChatt
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Hello Ms. Chatt, thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts. I'm glad that as a guest of the hotel you were able to take advantage of our dinner enhancement and enjoy a great meal for a great value. I hope we will...More

Reviewed 13 August 2016

This place was recommended and we were able to get in last minute (it was actually nearly empty). The service was fantastic, and the food was alright. The problem was for the kind of money they were charging I expect it to be perfect. One...More

Thank Richy_Bobby
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Hello Richy_Bobby, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I hope you will accept our sincerest apologies that we did not live up to the standard we are known for. While I regret we did not know of your concerns...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Il Gelato di Carlotta
800 reviews
.47 km away
Nina Gelateria & Pastry Shop
505 reviews
.53 km away
Treadwell
1,579 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Royal George Theatre
96 reviews
.39 km away
Edward Spera Art Gallery
51 reviews
.25 km away
Il Gelato di Carlotta
27 reviews
.47 km away
Fort Mississauga
52 reviews
.39 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
awjohn
3 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Laura M | Reviewed this property |
Yes, if you behave in a gentlemanly fashion.
0
Votes
pianoman22
9 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jessica V | Property representative |
Yes
0
Votes
RJCTeach
30 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jason B | Property representative |
there is no dress code required, we just kindly ask that you remove your hat when dining in the formal room.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 12 - US$ 46
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Fine Dining
Good for
Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 209 Queen Street | Located in the Charles Hotel, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
    (Simcoe St)
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Niagara-on-the-Lake
  • Phone Number: +1 905-468-4588
  • E-mail
Description
The HobNob restaurant & wine bar serves contemporary French cuisine with a regional flare. The restaurant features breakfast, lunch, dinner and afternoon tea. Visit the dining room, lounge, wine bar or fully licensed patio where you can enjoy a wide range of delicacies accompanied by a vast selection of Niagara wines. The Charles Hotel dining room has been recommended in publications such as Gourmet Magazine, Wine Spectator and Toronto Life and is the proud recipient of the CAA Four Diamond Award as well as the VQA Gold Award of Excellence.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing