We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill

) #44 of 551 Restaurants in Halifax ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ Bar, Seafood, Pub
1781 Upper Water St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3R6, Canada
+1 902-492-1800
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good39%
  • Average15%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“chowder” (21 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, Pub, Canadian, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
DETAILS
1781 Upper Water St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3R6, Canada
Neighbourhood: Downtown Halifax
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

After spending a lovely afternoon in Halifax, my wife and I decided to have a drink and some appetizers on a patio near the harbour front. We happened to find Stayner's which seemed to have a decent patio. We were greeted warmly, seated and told...More

Thank M160VBwilliamk
JAbbass, Manager at Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill, responded to this review

My stomach hurts reading this experience you had! I am very sorry about this happening. Not only sorry but embarrassed. Can you please send me an email to Jesse@staynerswharf.com I would like to hear more.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My blackened salmon was fantastic: tasty and moist. Very funny way to fix black beans, with lots of bell peppers, that I really don't like. But everything else was good.

Thank DameDeBronze
JAbbass, Manager at Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write. Most people love the black beans. I'm sorry they weren't to your liking. Hope you come again and see the new good eats we have to offer!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I went here on a Groupon. The food here is not your average pub fare, it is cooked just for you while you wait , not fast food style . The server was excellent . They substitued caesar for my fries which...More

Thank DebM908
JAbbass, Manager at Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind words! Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 14 April 2017

The place is ok, typical pub style. Nothing special with the food but it came out hot and nicely presented. We just ordered the haddock burger and another burger for my husband...

Thank caribbeanasian
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

I have had a couple Groupons for this location. It's a small cozy bar/restaurant that has live entertainment on weekends. I have been to a couple live blues venues. The music has been pretty good. Dinners aren't too bad. Breakfast/lunch has been disappointing. I won't...More

Thank Jean2017
JAbbass, Manager at Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you haven't enjoyed your visits here with us. I would really like to better understand what we could be doing better. Please send an email to jesse@staynerswharf.com as any information you have for me would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

We ate here on our last day in Halifax and the restaurant did not disappoint. Myself and another had fish and chips, someone else had shrimpetta, and the other a beef burger with no complaints from anyone. The fish was flakey and not overcooked or...More

Thank Anythingbutonions
JAbbass, Manager at Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing! Much appreciated

Reviewed 8 April 2017

This was our first time going to Stayner's Wharf and my wife had purchased a groupon that offered a great deal and neither of us had been before but had heard from someone it was worth checking out. We had to make a reservation as...More

Thank Spencer D
JAbbass, Manager at Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill, responded to this review

Please send an email to jesse@staynerswharf.com as I'm very disheartened hearing about your experience. I would like to try and rectify this situation if at all possible. Thanks

Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Our service was only okay. It seemed to take a while for them to seat us, although there were only a few people in the restaurant. Our server had ZERO personality and at one point was on his phone while on the floor. The other...More

Thank Sarah R
Reviewed 15 March 2017

This is a small restaurant with a great atmosphere. Great music on Saturday afternoons and night. The blackened chicken chilata was incredible. The Selfish shell fish dish was great as well. They often have "Groupon" specials too.

Thank sackvegas881
JAbbass, Manager at Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write! It's much appreciated. We hope you'll be back to see us soon!

Reviewed 13 March 2017

This is a very comfortable restaurant/pub that provides a stage to local musicians in Atlantic Canada. We have seen many wonderful performers here and have witnessed several impromptu performances by other well known artists who just happen to come by. The menu is original and...More

Thank Rowcliw2000
JAbbass, Manager at Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing! We appreciate you writing this review

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Old Triangle Irish Ale House
972 reviews
.19 km away
McKelvie's Delishes Fishes Dishes
858 reviews
.19 km away
Salty's
1,170 reviews
.16 km away
Lower Deck - Downtown Halifax
476 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Maritime Museum of the Atlantic
2,061 reviews
.22 km away
Halifax Harbour Ferry
741 reviews
.24 km away
HMCS Sackville
268 reviews
.29 km away
Art Gallery of Nova Scotia
216 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Robert A
Any music tonight?
19 September 2016|
Answer
Response from buffybotns | Reviewed this property |
Not on Monday or Tuesday :( You can go to their website at staynerswharf for info.
0
Votes
Ian M
We are looking for a place for lunch during a March afternoon in Halifax. Can anyone help us choose between Stayner's and Salty's, or maybe have a third suggestion nearby? Thanks in advance!
12 February 2016|
Answer Show all 13 answers
Response from NessieBo | Reviewed this property |
Not much to choose between the two. Stayner's is a bit more of a bar and Salty's is a restaurant. The food is fine. Depends really what you wany. If you like Italian fare then head to Ristorante aMano for overall good food... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, Pub, Canadian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 01:00
Saturday
11:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1781 Upper Water St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3R6, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Nova Scotia  >  Halifax Region  >  Halifax>  > Downtown Halifax
  • Neighbourhood: Downtown Halifax
  • Phone Number: +1 902-492-1800
  • E-mail