We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magnum & Steins

₹₹₹₹
Downtown
Canadian, International
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
329 Duckworth St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1G9, Canada
+1 709-576-6500
Website
Today
17:30 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 17:30 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 17:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 187: English reviews
ST. JOHN'S
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

An extensive selection of wines stored in a nitrogen system to maintain freshness and a nice list of small plates capable of being shared or eaten in sequence to add up to a multicourse meal. Friendly, efficient service, quiet atmosphere, reasonable prices, and many specials both in prices and in food items. Fresh halibut often on the menu.

Helpful?
Thank 155Beckett
Debbie M, General Manager at Magnum & Steins, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review! We love our small plates menu too, hope to see you soon. More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate at the downstairs bar which is small but has access to both a bar menu and a full menu. The happy hour specials are quite extensive and are a pretty good value for downtown st. John's. The food was good but our server didn't have the best night. First they messed up my wife's order so I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank NLtrout
Debbie M, General Manager at Magnum & Steins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I'm very sorry for the mix up with your meal. Unfortunately mistakes sometimes happen, I hope you'll visit us again. More 

Paradise, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I think we were the only people in the restaurant after about 20 minutes. Our reservation was for 8:00 thought this was pretty strange for a Friday night. I ordered the Apple and pear salad, I would have liked a piece of grilled chicken but the chef couldn't give me that only stuffed chicken. We all had side plates at... More 

Helpful?
Thank RobbiP
Debbie M, General Manager at Magnum & Steins, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I apologize that you did not receive bread as we normally serve it to all our tables. We try to accommodate all special requests as much as possible but because we don't have a plain chicken breast on our menu we couldn't offer it on short notice as our product was prepared for our stuffed chicken... More 

St. John's, NL
Level Contributor
109 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2017

The downstairs is perfect for couples and groups of four who want an intimate get together to relax and connect. Salads, nachos, fish tacos, wings, fries - were soul lifters and the flourless chocolate cake dessert made us smile from very glance to last taste. Perfect ending was the chat with engaging owner Bernie.

Helpful?
Thank GoodFood&Drink
Debbie M, General Manager at Magnum & Steins, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, we hope to see you in the bar again soon! More 

Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Landed at Magnum & Steins by accident. Service was slow, and observed a table of 5 next to us get their meal. Took at least 5 minutes from first to last meal to be served. Person who got first meal was well into meal before 5th meal arrived. Wine was served well after that meal was served. After observing this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dieter T
Debbie M, General Manager at Magnum & Steins, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we're very happy you enjoyed your food. More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2016

The restaurant has many private rooms is you so desire. It has a great wine bar. Food is great and they have a very welcoming bar downstairs. They also have have rooms for rent which is great if you want to stay downtown.

Helpful?
Thank V6450RXmichaelp
Debbie M, General Manager at Magnum & Steins, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, hope to see you again.! More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2016

This place was recommended to us and it did not disappoint. We started for drinks at the bar on the lower level and moved up to the main floor for our meal. The service was attentive and offered all kinds of recommendations. The food was so good I wish we were able to go back to try more of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MFBM03
Debbie M, General Manager at Magnum & Steins, responded to this review

Thanks so much! More 

Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2016

I travel to St John's often and have had the pleasure if dinning at most of the higher-end restaurant's in the city but this was my first experience here. I was very happy with my meal including the pulled Duck Nachos which were amazing. Ambience was ideal for a quiet dinner and the service was attentive. Only complaint was the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave G
Debbie M, General Manager at Magnum & Steins, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review! The Duck Nachos are always a hit, hope to see you soon! More 

Newfoundland
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Second time visiting this higher end restrauant and after having an amazing experience the first time around, we were let down this time. The food was amazing, tasty, delicious and came out fresh and hot, but not so much for the service. We showed up for a reservation on time, and waited in the doorway for 5 mins before we... More 

Helpful?
Thank sledneck800
Debbie M, General Manager at Magnum & Steins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. I apologize that you were not informed of the features, your server was under the impression that you wanted to order from the menu. We are very happy that you were satisfied with the meal you ordered. More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We ate here on two occasions and didn't enjoy either experience. The first time the bread wasn't ready and the service was poor. The most recent and last visit. The lighting was poor, food over salted. The flourless chocolate cake was the worse I've ever eaten. The clientele were loud and obnoxiously. We won't be going back again.

Helpful?
Thank msmena
Debbie M, General Manager at Magnum & Steins, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, sorry you did not enjoy your experience. More 

Travellers who viewed Magnum & Steins also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Magnum & Steins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Canadian, International
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
17:30 - 22:00
Monday
17:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
17:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
17:30 - 22:00
Thursday
17:30 - 22:00
Friday
17:30 - 23:00
Saturday
17:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 329 Duckworth St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1G9, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Newfoundland and Labrador  >  Newfoundland  >  St. John's>  > Downtown
  • Neighbourhood: Downtown
  • Phone Number: +1 709-576-6500
Description
Magnum & Steins is pleased to receive a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. We strive to offer our customers a memorable experience, and this accolade is evidence that our hard work is translating into positive reviews on TripAdvisor. “TripAdvisor is delighted to celebrate the success of businesses around the globe, from Sydney to Chicago, Sao Paulo to Rome, which are consistently offering TripAdvisor travellers a great customer experience,” said Alison Copus, Vice President of Marketing for TripAdvisor for Business. “The Certificate of Excellence award provides top performing establishments around the world the recognition they deserve, based on feedback from those who matter most – their customers.”

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Magnum & Steins staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?