We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Beachcomber

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Downtown Winnipeg
Bar, Canadian, Seafood, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Forks Market, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 1B4, Canada
12049480020
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 23:00
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 23:00
Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 240: English reviews
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I checked Tripadvisor looking for a good seafood option in Winnipeg, and found The Beachcomber. There were many unfavorable reviews - but there was also a smattering of positive reviews. Using the logic that more people will write to complain than to compliment, we assumed we had a better than 50% chance of having a nice meal. Also, the owner... More 

Helpful?
Thank DJP1964
TheBeachcomberWpg, Manager at The Beachcomber, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to seeing you and your guests again in the future! Happy new year and we hope you have a wonderful day! Jackie More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been there in the summer, the patio is full of bugs and mosquitoes, wasps etc. Inside was full of people. Also constantly felt a whiff of cigarette smoke from some people that made it impossible to enjoy food. The staff should enforce the no-smoke rule more adamantly.

Helpful?
Thank joshua1122
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Beachcomber was chosen as a central location to hold committee meetings for an organization I belong to. Ten or twelve us met a few times and they were able to accommodate us in a semi private area. There was something on the menu to please everyone. It is now one of my favourite places to meet friends for lunch... More 

Helpful?
Thank quilts204
TheBeachcomberWpg, Manager at The Beachcomber, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to send us some kind words! We are always happy to host groups and parties and are always happy when they return! We hope that you and your organization come and see us again soon! Have a wonderful holiday weekend and happy new year!! More 

Winnipeg
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We used skip the dishes and ordered in. Where do I start....mushrooms caps with crab and cream cheese - caps were flat...how does that happen? Each cap about the size of a quarter, six of them with about only 1/3 of a teaspoon of filling in each - unbelievable, the smallest I have ever seen anywhere. Crab cakes - I'll... More 

Helpful?
Thank NickyTka
TheBeachcomberWpg, Manager at The Beachcomber, responded to this review

Hi Nicky, First of all, thank you for choosing to dine with us through Skip The Dishes. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience. There are certain dishes, like would be in any restaurant, that don't travel well when taken out of the restaurant. Quesadillas would be a perfect example, this is not an excuse, however we feel... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016

I was at this restaurant with a group of 10 people for my brothers birthday. Service was unprofessional and not knowledgeable and in fact pretty rude. Service took way to long with not even a half full restaurant. My friends steak came to him bleeding all over the plate when he asked for medium rare. My salad had an awful... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nettie12556
TheBeachcomberWpg, Manager at The Beachcomber, responded to this review

Hi there Annette, I am sorry that you feel that way, here at The Beachcomber we strive to insure excellence by checking in on our guests and making sure that the experience of the evening is a great one. We had asked several times that evening how everything was going with the experience, and everyone seemed to be having a... More 

Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016

We had are Christmas party here this year and were so thrilled with the service! Beachcomber let us use the whole lounge so we were able to move around freely and socialize with the 30 plus people in our party. We had assigned waiters , bartenders etc. The menu choices were ample and the food was delicious!! Very organized !... More 

Helpful?
Thank 807kerry
TheBeachcomberWpg, Manager at The Beachcomber, responded to this review

Hi Kerry! We are so pleased to hear that you and your party had such a great time at our establishment! Thank you for taking the time to review us and for all the kind words! We love being able to help people make some wonderful memories! We hope to see you again soon! Have a lovely day! Jackie More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016

Honestly some of the best tapas I've ever had, and it's on par with proper Spanish tapas restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank Josh C
TheBeachcomberWpg, Manager at The Beachcomber, responded to this review

Hi Josh, Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience while dining with us! We hope to see you again soon! Jackie More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2016

During a short stay in Winnipeg we took in the Human Rights Museum and as we were leaving asked a local for a recommendation on a good place to eat. She suggested The Beachcomber, and are we ever glad she did. The best service I have ever received!! Bar none!! The food was fantastic! All four of us had different... More 

Helpful?
Thank annette599
TheBeachcomberWpg, Manager at The Beachcomber, responded to this review

Hi Annette! Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad that you chose to visit our restaurant! We hope that the rest of your stay in our beautiful city was a pleasant one, and please come back and say hello next time you're in town! Have a wonderful day! Jackie More 

Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
221 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2016

Beachcombers is in the Forks area of Winnipeg. Staying at a nearby hotel, I was looking for an evening meal, and found Beachcombers. The ambiance and décor is a bit old-fashioned, even the menus looked a little old, and I wondered if I had come to the right place. Service was polite and efficient. The server answered several questions I... More 

Helpful?
Thank SeanOden
TheBeachcomberWpg, Manager at The Beachcomber, responded to this review

Hi Sean! Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience with us while you were in town visiting! Your server was correct, pickerel is definitely one of our most popular items on our menu! We hope you will come back and visit the next time you are in town and give... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

I came here for lunch and felt very welcomed when I first arrived. Marilyn was the server who was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and was able to make many recommendations that all sounded delicious. I had the seafood Caesar salad which was delicious. I will definitely come back and recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves seafood.

Helpful?
Thank Sherry E
TheBeachcomberWpg, Manager at The Beachcomber, responded to this review

Hi Sherry! Thank you so much for the kind review! Marilyn is one of our best servers and we are happy to hear that she had another happy customer! Also, thank you for taking a minute to post a wonderful picture of our seafood Caesar salad! We look forward to seeing you again! Enjoy your weekend! More 

Travellers who viewed The Beachcomber also viewed

 

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 11 - US$ 26
Cuisine
Bar, Canadian, Seafood, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, View
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Forks Market, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 1B4, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Manitoba  >  Winnipeg>  > Downtown Winnipeg
  • Neighbourhood: Downtown Winnipeg
  • Phone Number: 12049480020
Description
The Beachcomber Restaurant is located at one of the most popular and historic destinations in Winnipeg, - The Forks Market. The Beachcomber Restaurant is a great place to have a meal, a drink or just relax with a hot beverage. If you're looking for Seafood, Pasta, Steak or Chicken we have many delicious dishes to feed your appetite. We look forward to serving you!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Beachcomber and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Winnipeg, Canada
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Beachcomber staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?