We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Market by Jean-Georges

#124 of 2,889 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
₹₹₹₹
Neighbourhood:
Downtown
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
1115 Alberni Street, 3rd floor, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada (Thurlow Street)
+1 604-695-1115
Website
Today
07:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 421: English reviews
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Made a reservation for 8:15 through open table..got to the restaurant at 8:10..it is 9:10..still waiting for our table. Abysmal service! Ruined our special day.

Helpful?
Thank riya1987
Starr M, Manager at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this review

Dear riya1987, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent dining experience at Market by Jean-Georges. We were disappointed to learn of your comments regarding the inability to seat you at your reservation time. I do very much appreciate your honesty and thank you for providing us with this feedback. This is not the usual high standard... More 

Hong Kong
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Well cooked food... but a bit heavy handed on the salt. Portions are designed for extra extra large persons or those trying to become one. Did not get to try other meals unfortunately.

Helpful?
Thank J&J-HFV
Starr M, Manager at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this review

Dear J&J-HFV, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Market by Jean-Georges with us. I apologize if your food was too salty but I am glad to know that you had a nice breakfast with us however. We hope to see you again at MARKET by Jean-Georges Restaurant. Kind regards, Starr Mayo More 

cincinnati
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

again raining... no reservation and they could not have been nicer, lovely room, great service, and delicious lunch...very buzzy and yet quietly nice

Helpful?
Thank CincinnatiTravelmom
Starr M, Manager at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this review

Dear CincinnatiTravelmom, Thank you for your feedback. It is so nice to hear that you decided to dine with us again and that you had a nice time as always. We look forward welcoming you again and again to MARKET by Jean-Georges. Kind regards, Starr M. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It's really bright in here. The place looks like it's set up for breakfast the next morning. Dinner service ok but food is uninspiring. So many better-less expensive-places to eat in this city. Don't waste your $$ for dinner. Paying for a name. BS

Helpful?
Thank Marshall W
Starr M, Manager at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this review

Dear Marshall W, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize if you felt that our restaurant was a bit bright and that our food and set-up did not meet your expectations. We do hope you give us another chance as this is not we strive for. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me should you consider dining with... More 

Vancouver
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Was with a couple friends at the lounge for a few drinks. The bartender was very attentive, but missed our food on a couple occasions. He then took the initiative to offer the first round of the drinks on the house. We were not even complaining the whereabouts of the food. This showed a willingness to accept his mistake which... More 

Helpful?
Thank doberman_baby
Starr M, Manager at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this review

Dear Doberman_baby, Thank you for sharing your dining experience with us. I am glad to hear that our bartender was very attentive and was able to anticipate your needs during your recent visit with us. We will certainly look into your seating suggestions as we continue to look at opportunities for us to improve our restaurant. We hope to see... More 

Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

Casual room and setting but a very nice meal. Service was good and the menu offerings on par with other Jean-Georges establishments.

Helpful?
Thank Pam A
Starr M, Manager at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this review

Dear Pam A, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I am delighted to read you had a very nice meal at Market by Jean-Georges. We hope we have an opportunity to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver again soon. Kind regards, Starr M More 

Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Just had a fantastic breakfast at the Market. We stayed at the Shangri La and this is the restaurant in the hotel. I had the smoked salmon eggs Benedict, which is legit. But I was just blown away by my son's French toast, which may have been one of the best bite of FT I had ever had! The amazing... More 

Helpful?
Thank SunnyT1969
Brittany A, Manager at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this review

Dear SunnyT1969, Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were blown away with our French Toast, it is indeed one of our signature dished. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Brittany A. More 

Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016

The service, the food, the atmosphere are all amazing. We were treated to a 7-course meal.. yes 7 courses. Each dish was tiny but meticulously crafted to ensure precise placement and maximum flavour. By the end of it we were stuffed to the gunnels and so satisfied. The prices are a bit high but fairly standard for a fine dining... More 

Helpful?
Thank Niki P
Brittany A, Manager at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this review

Dear Niki P, Thank you for taking time in sharing your experience with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our service, food and atmosphere at the restaurant. I apologize if you felt that our prices are a bit high but do hope that you found a good value overall. We hope to see you again at MARKET by Jean-Georges.... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

I have been enjoying this restaurant for Christmas Lunch with colleagues for several years. We always have the three course fixed price option. This year, I invited my staff to treat them, and they were very excited to go to the Shangri La. We booked during November and clearly specified we were wanting the three course menu which was on... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank ExecTravel777
West Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016

While everyone was pleasant each encounter seemed disorganized and simple requests appeared to fluster the staff which embarrassed me in front of my guests.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bilderberg12
Brittany A, Manager at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this review

Dear Bilderberg12, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent dining experience at Market by Jean-Georges. We were disappointed to learn of your comments regarding the team’s organization and ability to handle simple requests. I do very much appreciate your honesty and thank you for providing us with this feedback. This is not the usual high standard... More 

Travellers who viewed Market by Jean-Georges also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Market by Jean-Georges? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 20 - US$ 81
Cuisine
International, Canadian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 22:00
Monday
07:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 22:00
Thursday
07:00 - 22:00
Friday
07:00 - 22:00
Saturday
07:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1115 Alberni Street, 3rd floor, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 0A8, Canada
    (Thurlow Street)
  • Location: Canada  >  British Columbia  >  Vancouver>  > Downtown
  • Neighbourhood: Downtown
  • Phone Number: +1 604-695-1115
Description
The Vancouver location, of the Paris original, is an unparalleled dining experience in Vancouver. Designed for understated elegant, yet relaxed contemporary dining that supports Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s renowned Modern Pacific style of cooking. The Restaurant: Refined Dining: OPEN 7 days a week Reservations recommended – Level 3

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Market by Jean-Georges and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Newcastle, Australia
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Market by Jean-Georges staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Downtown

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown
Vancouver's business district, the Downtown area is bustling with smartly-dressed folks balancing their lattes and briefcases to and from work. The area's plethora of contemporary commercial, residential, and corporate spaces has bred a landscape of nouveau restaurants, chain cafes, and upmarket shopping options. However, located right on the waterfront of Vancouver's energetic Harbour, Downtown is a also popular public meeting spot, with a massive public library and convention center attracting a bevy of visitors both local and not, as well as a hotspot for the arts, being home to some of Vancouver's most cutting-edge galleries. With behemoth architecture and a professional air, Downtown means business.
Explore this neighbourhood