We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
CUISINES
Indian, Bangladeshi, Asian, Balti
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Table Service, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
115
11
10
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
115
11
10
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gosht chicken mixed kebab starter briam last night food was lovely tony delivery
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 26 February 2022

Disgusting! Been using this restaurant for years now and always been nice! However the last few times we’ve had to wait 2 hours for a delivery. Same again tonight and we’ve got a cold curry and rice! (Unsafe due to the rice being cold!) and...the poppadoms had bloody holes in them and looked inedible! Never again! Starving so going to the shalimar instead! The attitude of the manager on the phone was also disappointing as he’s normally very friendly and even recognised us over the phone due to being regular customers! Hoping we get a refund ASAP! But apparently they aren’t open until Monday!More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Red_Rose_Lounge, Agency / Consultant at Red Rose Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2022

Dear Madam, thank your review, however we would like to be clear that you were incredibly rude and incredibly abusive to our manager and threatened to write reviews all over social media before we could respond. We did refund your money on the day and...More

Reviewed 22 January 2022

We had a superb evening last night. Food was lovely as always, staff friendly, efficient and chatty. They had run out of the drink we wanted as the delivery hadn't come that day but they went out specially to get some for us while we...ate our meal....really good over and above service! Thank-you for a great evening!More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 7 January 2022 via mobile

What a lovely place. The decor is great, staff are hugely friendly, and the food is delightful. My Wife and I had a meal on Fri 7 Jan, and despite it being the month of health-kicks the place was pretty busy which is a great...sign. We shared a mixed kebab starter and then had Chicken Lajawab, Biran Gosht, mixed fried rice, and chapatis. It was all delicious and even a 10% discount.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 December 2021 via mobile

Visiting Portsmouth, looking for a good curry takeaway, went by the good reviews on trip advisor, very misleading. Food was like purified baby food, no spice, very disappointing.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Red_Rose_Lounge, General Manager at Red Rose Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2021

Thank you for your review. However we dispute this review because we don't any record of you ordering or visiting our restaurant. I've checked on our platforms and with our delivery partners to find when you ordered. We have no details of this. Your wife...More

Reviewed 1 July 2021

Thank you Tony and Team. Throughout these difficult times you have maintained the excellence and standard of your cooking. Fabulous. We haven't ever experienced any problems with delivery times, obviously it's best to order online earlier in the day. Long may you continue.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 September 2020

Ordered at 6.40 and dinner arrived after 8pm, stone cold and missing items. Phoned to speak with a manager - he out. Delivering our extremely late meal! Was promised a call back and heard nothing. Also did not respond to the email I had sent...requesting a refund. Will not be returning or recommending to anyone. Poor service.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Red_Rose_Lounge, Owner at Red Rose Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2020

Hi, Apologies for the delay. whilst we disagree with what you have wrote - we will very gladly issue you a refund. This I believe is your 2nd or 3rd post about this matter. Please email 258redroselounge@gmail.com with your address and the amount you are...More

Reviewed 25 July 2020

We have had an excellent meal from Tony and his team. The delivery did not take long and the flavours excellent. I can recommend the Chicken Jhal Merchi. The delivery person was very friendly but above else the food is excellent and well presented. I...thoroughly recommend Red Rose Lounge.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 25 July 2020

Ordering online is so quick and easy, with a really comprehensive and helpful menu layout. For the first time in years I had a biryani last night, the Red Rose Special......it was exceptionally good. It was good to see you about again Tony. Keep delivering!

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 13 July 2020

Had a delicious dinner last nite from red rose lounge. They delivered within the hour and as always we enjoyed a really tasty curry with moist chicken and so flavoursome.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 8 July 2020

Have used the Red Rose takeaway/delivery service several times during lockdown and they have been excellent. Lovely food and sensible prices. Whats more it is great for someone like myself who only wants one meal as the minimum spend is only £12. A lot of...similar takeaways locally price themselves out of the running by insisting on too high a minimum spend. They need to learn from the Red Roses example. Well done Red Rose, you will have my custom for a long time yetMore

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?2  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Innkeeper's Lodge Portsmouth
166 reviews
4.29 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North, an IHG Hotel
827 reviews
4.78 km away
Village Hotel Portsmouth
1,734 reviews
5.30 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
1,603 reviews
5.45 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Giorgio's Pizza
142 reviews
.23 km away
Number 73 Bar and Kitchen
107 reviews
.07 km away
Poppins Restaurant
65 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Waterlooville Market
6 reviews
.15 km away
Horizon Leisure Centre Waterlooville
27 reviews
1.14 km away
The Beauty Experience
6 reviews
1.18 km away
AKM Limos
46 reviews
.59 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Alison E
9 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Red_Rose_Lounge | Property representative |
Hi Alison, We are not planning to be open on Christmas Day. HOWEVER this could change if we have enough of a demand for it to be opened. Were you planning on booking a table? Kind Regards, Red Rose Lounge Management
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Red Rose Lounge

Yes, Red Rose Lounge offers takeaway services.

Yes, Red Rose Lounge offers delivery services.

Red Rose Lounge is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5