We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi, Balti
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
221
76
33
24
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
221
76
33
24
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bombay potatoes bread best indian indian food take away fantastic restaurant recommend this restaurant excellent food and service takeaway eric
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 26 July 2022 via mobile

We came her last night for a bite to eat and a catch up. We entered and they seated us quickly along with another table. We were asked our drink order quite quickly. We were brought poppadums out and the. Asked if we were ready...to order, nobody took our order for 20 mins. We waited and waited for our food, an hour passed and still no sign we were told a couple of minutes, another 20 mins passed and eventually our food was brought out. We were so disappointed when we eventually started to eat everything was cold. There was no one around to ask to heat our food and to be honest we were too worried about having to wait another long wait. The table that came in with us had long gone and walked out and asked us to inform the waiter that they had left as they couldn’t find anyone to tell. We asked for the bill and after we had paid our only we’re we then asked how our meal was. I understand restaurants are busy but we felt forgotten and very disappointed in our experience here after being told how amazing it was. We won’t be visiting again.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C&C, Agency / Consultant at Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2022

Hello, We would firstly like to apologize for the experience you had at our restaurant. That is not the service standard nor experience we normally offer our lovely customers. We would also like to assure you that your feedback will be passed on to the...More

Reviewed 30 January 2022

Cannot complain about the service and ambience, lovely restaurant experience until the food arrived. Out of 4 , only 1 of our party said they enjoyed the food. Very disappointing, not greatly presented and all food just lacking in flavour. Shame as service and staff...were wonderful.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C&C, Agency / Consultant at Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2022

Hello David D, Thank you for your lovely comments on our service and ambience! We are sorry to hear your order was not up to our usual standard on this occasion, it is very out of character to hear such comments. Nevertheless, thank you for...More

Reviewed 27 January 2022

We have just had the most dreadful take away from this restaurant, it was the best in the area but have gone down hill in a big way, this is the second bad meal we have had it was cold and had no taste or...flavour, was told there was a 10 minute wait but had to wait 40 minutes. At one time I recommend this restaurant to everyone but will be doing the opposite from now on.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C&C, Agency / Consultant at Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2022

Hello daviestrish, We appreciate all feedback as we are constantly striving to improve, so thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear your order was not up to our usual standard on this occasion, and our apologies that...More

Reviewed 10 December 2021 via mobile

We ate here as a family for a birthday celebration, there were two young children in our party, shalimar staff were excellent, attentive and professional, the food was superb, very relaxed atmosphere, have not eaten here before, would definately recommend!!!

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C&C, Agency / Consultant at Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2021

Hi Suzieb61, Thank you very much for this lovely review! We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Shalimar

Reviewed 8 December 2021

Food watery and tasteless, bahjees burnt, rice dried out and bland. I have two places i usually use, but thought i would give this a try, having not been in for years. Now i remember why. NEVER AGAIN.

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C&C, Agency / Consultant at Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2021

Hi sumojay, Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal. We usually receive the opposite feedback - that our food is full of flavour. Nonetheless we will pass on your feedback to our team. Kind regards, Shalimar

Reviewed 1 December 2021 via mobile

My husband picked up a take away which consisted of Keema rice, Tikka Masala, chicken Korma, Bombay potato and a Naam bread. The lamb was poor quality gristly, the sauces on both curries were bland and didn’t taste quite right. Even the Naam bread was...tasteless. We won’t be going back.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C&C, Agency / Consultant at Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2021

Dear 884melaniey, Thanks for the review, albeit negative. We usually find our reviews saying the opposite - that our food is full of flavour and spice! Nonetheless, we're sorry to hear you weren't satisfied and will pass this feedback onto our team. Kind regards, Shalimar

Reviewed 1 December 2021

I've been to this place a few times now. Every occasion we've had a great experience. This time we had friends and family round our house, but instead of going to the restaurant, we decided to get a takeaway from them. Had a chat with...the guys at Shalimar, wanted to have a mixture of dishes. Even a couple of ones to try out. As usual they couldn't be anymore helpful. Took their advice of how to serve it all too... I swear... It all looked and tasted so fresh and amazing. Friends thought they had come to and authentic Asian house. Just wanted to thank you all for the advice and amazing food. I even bought some of that Mr Naga Pickle, for the spicier tastebuds. Family and friends were full and had a great night in, and your Takeaway had a big part to play in that. Thank you guys again and look forward to next time.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C&C, Agency / Consultant at Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2021

Dear ActualTruth, Thank you for this glowing review! We're so glad we aided you in having a great evening with family and friends! We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Shamilmar

Reviewed 1 September 2021 via mobile

Lovely restaurant for sit in meals will be back .felt a bit rushed on the weekend as was busy , but we didn’t book so was looked pastMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C&C, Agency / Consultant at Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2021

Dear 509lewis, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your evening with us. We hope on your next visit you do not feel rushed, we will pass your feedback onto the team. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Shalimar...More

Reviewed 30 August 2021 via mobile

Had a takeaway from here for the first time in years had the dansak,had thev texture of a dansak but no flavour,went in the bin cost £24

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 August 2021

We went for a mid week evening meal, the food was good, however on returning home we found we had been charged on our card for a tip of £6.50 which we did not agree to. We can only advise people to check their receipt...if paying by card, will hesitate to go there again, which is a shame but do not like to be scammed!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C&C, Agency / Consultant at Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2021

Dear Annie, Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. We're sorry to hear about this. This seems out of character for Shalimar. Please don't hesitate to contact the restaurant directly to discuss this further. If this...More

Reviewed 18 August 2021

Whether you want a take-away or sit in meal, Shalimar is where we will always go locally for a great Indian meal. The food is superb, there is loads of choice for my wife who is a vegetarian, and not all of it is "hot...& spicy". My daughter and son-in-law come over just for the Rajistani Chicken! We (as a family and with friends) have been going there for over 20 years and know the owner (Eric). Thanks for lots of years of great service and food. We'll keep coming back for yearsMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C&C, Agency / Consultant at Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2021

Dear Drew, Thank you for your 5-star review. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. We're glad we can cater to your whole family. It's lovely to hear that you will keep on returning for some great food! We will...More

Reviewed 8 August 2021

Turned up early on a Saturday evening in August without a booking hoping they could fit us in... and they did, but only just! Glad they did as we had a nice meal, good food and pleasant, friendly and efficient service.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C&C, Agency / Consultant at Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2021

Dear TrevB56, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your evening with us. Thank you for your compliments on our food and service! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Shalimar Management. Please follow our social media platforms: Instagram: @ShalimarWaterooville...More

Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

This is one of my favourite restaurants and when visiting friends we always come here, but with the past year it's been a long time since we'd visited, but it was great to be back with a large friends reunion meal booked. The staff remembered...me and were as courteous and professional as ever, the food was as fantastic as always and the ice cold Cobra just perfect for the first rate Indian food. So good to be back and also great to see the restaurant so busy. I'll return as soon as I can.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C&C, Agency / Consultant at Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2021

Dear 896jemj, Thank you for a five-star rating and a positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your evening, and we were happy to have you back! Thank you for your positive comments. We will see you again soon. Kind regards, Shalimar Management. Please follow...More

Reviewed 4 July 2021 via mobile

We have been to the Shalimar frequently always had excellent food and service in a pleasant and relaxing atmosphere. Last night the food was excellent as usual and initially the ambiance was too. Service was very slow with the long gaps between the dishes being...brought from the kitchen and the waiter was not as friendly as ones we have previously been served by. Partway through our meal a party of 6 were seated at the table next to ours. 5 men and an iPad showing the football match. From this point on we had to shout across the table to be heard and although we were only 6, the people at either end of the table were unable to hear each other unless they leaned right in. It was very uncomfortable and although we had been going to have another drink and a dessert we asked for the bill. This took some time in coming and contained drinks we had not had. No apology was made either for the noise or the erroneous bill. The enjoyable evening we had been having had ruined. Had we wanted to listen to the match whilst eating dinner we would have gone to a pub or got a take away. We wanted to spend a quiet relaxed evening with family who we have seen very little of since lockdown and we were denied this. That our complaint about it was not even acknowledged made it worse. I think it will be a while before we consider returningMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C&C, Agency / Consultant at Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Dear June H, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are saddened to hear that your family did not enjoy your meal on this occasion. As you are aware this sounds unlike a normal evening in Shalimar. We hope to accommodate...More

Reviewed 27 June 2021 via mobile

It is first visit after the lockdown, restaurant is clean, the menu is great the waiter was very helpful. The meal was brilliant not to hot .More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
C&C, Agency / Consultant at Shalimar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2021

Dear hope1968, Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first visit after lockdown. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, Shalimar Management. If you have not done so already, please follow our social...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Innkeeper's Lodge Portsmouth
168 reviews
6.70 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
1,612 reviews
6.82 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel
34 reviews
6.86 km away
Village Hotel Portsmouth
1,782 reviews
7.42 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Harvest Home
236 reviews
.59 km away
The Fox And Hounds, Denmead, Waterlooville
247 reviews
.86 km away
The BakeHouse
34 reviews
.81 km away
Denmead's Finest Fish and Chips
42 reviews
.81 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Furzeley Golf Club
23 reviews
1.65 km away
Hambledon Vineyard
167 reviews
3.42 km away
The Southwick Brewhouse
40 reviews
4.48 km away
Denmead Driving Range
61 reviews
2.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Norman B
19 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Norman B | Reviewed this property |
It's definitely west of waterlooville, towards Hambledon, north would be towards Petersfield.
0
Votes
judy b
28 February 2017|
Answer
Response from brightangel | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do but they can take ages.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shalimar

Yes, Shalimar offers takeaway services.

Shalimar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5