We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bat & Ball

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$6 - $17
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveller rating
353
183
74
45
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
353
183
74
45
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish pie sunday roast pudding beef salad ice cream the pub hampshire countryside south downs christmas meal booked a table lovely meal cricket fullers hsb garden veg
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We hadn’t visited for Sunday lunch for quite some while and as my wife had a 25% discount voucher from Fullers for her birthday we thought we’d take advantage before it expired. My wife and I ordered the roast turkey dinner and our son the...pork roast. All our meals came with a good selection of vegetables, roast potatoes and a large Yorkshire pudding. Sadly when we started on the turkey it was thick slices and rather chewy. I’ve read so many reports on Trip Advisor when the manager says “If only you had told me rather than write a bad Trip Advisor report” so I told Andrea and without hesitation the whole plate of our dinners was whisked away and replaced with new pork plates complete with vegetables etc. which was tasty and tender. This is the mark of a good manager - no arguments etc. We then followed with excellent deserts and went back to our son’s house for coffee. The Bat and Ball is still our favourite pub and Andrea our favourite manager. Thank you.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrea Collins, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Thank you so much for this charming review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and that you gave us the chance to make things right for you, we always want our guests to leave us feeling like you did. I'm glad you...More

Reviewed 26 August 2022

I can’t give enough praise for this romantic old English pub, with its style and historic importance. I just love the place and the warmth inside from the staff is embracing. The food is poetry, excellent quality and very reasonably priced indeed. The chef is...producing dishes which are out of this world. I had the beer battered haddock and chips with minted peas on the side and the angels were singing with every mouthful. Can’t wait for my next pilgrimage. Well done to all at the bat and ball.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrea Collins, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Robert Thank you so much for this lovely review and comments about the staff. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit so much. Andrea & Team

Reviewed 10 August 2022

Chicken, ham and leek pie ( very salty) served with red wine gravy? I don’t think so! Veal escalope was so over cooked, with salad - not very exciting. Did not complain as we were with a very elderly friend who was footing the bill....The young staff were pleasant. There were rats running about in the garden so not pleasant to look at!More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrea Collins, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2022

Hi Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are glad you found the team pleasant. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your food, we would have loved to rectify this at the time of your visit, so please...More

Reviewed 31 July 2022 via mobile

We met up with my wife’s son again for lunch and as always were were very happy with the food and service. My wife and son had the chicken schnitzel and I choose one of their specials - grilled sardines with salad. My meal was...different and the sardines weren’t out of a tin but I wouldn’t have it again. My wife and son were very happy with their chickens. We all had deserts, wine, beer, orange juice and lemonade and coffees and the bill came to £95 with tip for Jo who gave us excellent service. Another super lunch at out favourite pub.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrea Collins, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2022

Hi Thank you so much for your lovely review and honest feedback, we are glad we are your favourite pub and look forward to seeing you again Andrea & Team

Reviewed 24 June 2022 via mobile

The three of us booked a Friday lunch not realising it was an important day for the pub to celebrate 250 years from the first cricket match. There was even a special beer for the occasion. A large crowd attended the memorial match and even...TV crews were in attendance. We come here quite regularly and the food is always very good. This time I had the rump of lamb (from the specials board) which was absolutely first class; my wife had the fish pie and our son the steak pie. We followed with deserts and coffees. We had excellent service from Amelie and got chatting to the landlady Andrea and her husband Chris whose birthday it was today as well as their 22nd wedding anniversary. Andrea enthused about Fullers (the brewery owners) and how good they were to her and her staff during lockdowns with Covid. All this encourages us to visit more often.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrea Collins, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2022

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed the food and the experience. It was a pleasure speaking to you on the day. Rest assured we got to celebrate our anniversary later in the evening. Andrea & Team

Reviewed 4 June 2022

Family meal, Friday evening. Table booked. Staff were friendly and welcoming, but the meal took forever to reach the table. The quality was not too clever, particularly the desert, a tasteless Bakewell tart. The main meals, shepherds pie, was thought to be of beef, not...lamb. The steak pie was typically a mass produced product, which at the price was disappointing.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrea Collins, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2022

Hi Peter Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, I am sorry you were disappointed in your visit, and have taken on-board your comments about the food. We are glad you think the staff are friendly as they are all quite...More

Reviewed 2 June 2022 via mobile

Luckily for my husband and I we live in walking distance of this wonderful pub. Over the bank holiday we met with two friends for lunch. As always a warm reception on arrival and our dog was made to feel welcome. This place is extremely...dog friendly. We ordered 3 burgers and the Cajun Chicken wrap, followed by the bakewell slice and a Belgian waffle which I’d love to see as a permanent fixture on the menu! All our meals were fantastic, what with the good food and great service you can’t go wrong. We all thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrea Collins, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2022

Hi Hannah Thank you for this charming review, we are thrilled that you love it here. I have made a note of your love for the Belgian waffles which we will certainly have on again. Andrea & Team

Reviewed 13 May 2022 via mobile

We met our son who lives at Clanfield for lunch and we are always happy with the food here. I had the cottage pie, he had a chicken schnitzel and my wife the fish pie. Good vegetables too. We had deserts of coconut rice pudding,...chocolate brownie, and Bakewell tart - all delicious. What was disappointing this time was the slowness of our food getting to the table after placing our order - over 30 minute wait and not due to our server Sarah, who was very efficient, but just the kitchen slow in preparation. With drinks, beer, wine, coffees, soft drink the bill came to just over £90 which we thought was good value for the quality of food for 3 of us. Sadly I’m only giving a ‘very good’ this time compared to our usual “excellent” because of the long wait.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrea Collins, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2022

Hi Bob Thank you for taking the time to leave us your lovely feedback, we apologise for the delay in service, we promise to be quicker next time. Andrea & Team

Reviewed 3 May 2022 via mobile

Sunday lunch.. we’ll, a poor excuse for Sunday lunch. Tepid food, tasteless food and less than average service. There are better places. Never again.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrea Collins, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2022

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am disappointed to hear you that did not enjoy your meal with us. We are always willing to put things right if you have a problem, I'm sorry that you didn't speak...More

Reviewed 28 April 2022

I took my parents out for a meal first time since pandemic, to start with the lady was lovely, (she must have left her shift as we didn’t see her again), great scenic views and saw a wood pecker on the the bird feeder. It...was extremely hot inside the radiator was on full so turned it down, the First Lady asked if we were hot (all red faced) and turned the heating off, then we asked a member of staff if the door right behind us could be opened, she opened it but warned us a rat might come in we joked and said he was fine where he was (we could see him) all part of nature. Then four young ladies came in and immediately complained it was cold. We had a rather grumpy member of staff ask if we had opened the door. We did explained we did not but a staff member did. The group of ladies moved. Fine. The lad serving us asked if he could get us anything else I said a smile and a desert menu please. The food was amazing so credit to the chef. Just shame about the two grumpy non friendly staff (not the First Lady as she was really friendly). We did not let it ruin our first meal out but be wary of the heat and grumpy staff … rat outside was far friendlier!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrea Collins, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2022

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the food and I have passed your compliments on to the chefs. I am sorry you felt the servers were grumpy as this would never have...More

Reviewed 28 April 2022 via mobile

Went up to the Bat and Ball for lunch today. Haven't been there for years. Lunch order taken by a very pleasant waitress, Paulina. I ordered whitebait and a side of chips and my husband had a Cajun chicken wrap with chips. Both meals were...served without being adorned with a mound of inedible lettuce - yay - and both meals were perfect for lunch. My only disappointment would be the cost of a glass of sauvignon blanc £10+ (albeit large and very good) from a bottle that costs around £9 retail. However my choice and it won't put us off returningMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrea Collins, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2022

Hi Pauline Thank you for the lovely review, we are glad you had a great meal. So glad the price of the wine won't put you off coming again. :) Andrea & Team

Reviewed 15 April 2022

Can't believe how time has passed, anyway, went back to Bat & Ball. Very efficient staff, who once table vacated immediately cleaned down the area, which seemed clean anyway. Ordered HSB and yes same high standard, shame some other public houses cannot get to this...standard, anyway we ordered Blade of Beef, Garlic Mushroom , and a fish pie, we all agreed our meals were very good and definitely filling. By the time we had finished with the food on the plates , the plates looked like they did not require washing. (But of course they did) HSB £4.80, Current price with Boris still at no 10, currently. As this is the home of the sophisticated English Cricket and prime ministers are apparently enrolled at Hambledon, has Boris had a 'Party here? Who knows, maybe the MET do watch this space for a £50 fine?More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrea Collins, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2022

Hi David Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a joy to read. Regards Andrea & Team

Reviewed 11 April 2022

Was very unimpressed by the food on our visit today. The service was good and the lady was nice but the food was poor and very expensive. The buffalo chicken wings had a half inch thick batter on them I left most of them. The...steak pie pastry was incredibly tough and difficult to eat. Didn’t want to complain as it was my mother in laws birthday but we won’t be back anytime soon. Shame as the the pub is located in a beautiful area but the food needs some serious attention. All in all it was just shy of £100 for a very lacklustre lunch.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrea Collins, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2022

Hi Dan I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with the food on your visit. We always take on board constructive criticism and I have passed on your comments to my kitchen team. I hope you do visit us again. Kindest Regards Andrea

Reviewed 26 February 2022 via mobile

I'm not sure if we were unlucky, or just caught the Bat and Ball on a bad day, but we had a very poor experience dining at the Bat and Ball. When ordering our choices from the menu, we asked about the portion sizes of...the children's meals (as our 10 year old has a healthy appetite). We were informed that the children's food was pre-portioned. This was obviously a bit of a red flag, but, we went with it. For some reason, our order took an hour to be delivered. We asked for olives after about 50 minutes, which, to be fair we weren't charged for. Our mains took so long that at one point the waitress asked if we'd like to see the dessert menu! When our orders were delivered, the children's food was pretty much inedible and had clearly been microwaved. Again, in fairness, we weren't charged for these. Of the three adult mains, two were okay. The third was from the specials board - wild boar linguine. This was a tiny portion for £17.50, and had grated cheddar on top! Overall, unfortunately, this was an extremely disappointing experience, and it is impossible to recommend the Bat and Ball. Maybe we were just Unlucky, or they were having a bad day?More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrea Collins, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2022

Hi Dave Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valued feedback. We are very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit as we would have liked. We pride ourselves on giving the best possible service and are saddened to know you...More

Reviewed 13 February 2022

There was a good variety of food on the menu with some interesting specials. Our meal was well cooked and tasty but what makes this place really special is the management and staff who, as ever were warm, welcoming and attentive.

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrea Collins, General Manager at The Bat & Ball, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2022

Hi Thank you so much for your lovely review, we pride ourselves on giving a warm friendly welcome. Andrea & Team

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Langrish House
438 reviews
6.84 km away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
295 reviews
8.44 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Portsmouth
168 reviews
11.18 km away
New Place Hotel
2,361 reviews
11.41 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Rising Sun
288 reviews
2.11 km away
The Old Forge Tea Room
73 reviews
4.10 km away
Four London Road
423 reviews
4.61 km away
Mela
123 reviews
2.92 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hambledon Vineyard
167 reviews
2.99 km away
Queen Elizabeth Country Park
384 reviews
4.39 km away
Butser Ancient Farm
271 reviews
4.61 km away
Hampshire Tours
21 reviews
5.47 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
463jackieh
10 January 2022|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Andrea C | Property representative |
Hi I'm afraid we dont do breakfasts, but thanks for the interest Andrea
0
Votes
Sue K
29 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Andrea C | Property representative |
I am pleased to say, there are no dog treats on the tables but our 4 legged friends are still welcome.
2
Votes
Anton1939
21 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Andrea C | Property representative |
Hi Anton 1939, our roast dinners start from £12.95 you can view a sample sunday lunch menu on our website, please let us know if you would like to reserve a table, Kind regards Paul Goldthorpe
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE BAT & BALL, Waterlooville - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Bat & Ball

Yes, The Bat & Ball is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Bat & Ball is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4