We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moreton Tea Rooms

The Street, Moreton DT2 8RJ, England
+44 1929 463647
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good33%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (50 reviews)
“treacle” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
DETAILS
The Street, Moreton DT2 8RJ, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Visited on Monday 22nd May 2017. 11.15 am, with my husband. As we entered the tea room one of the four ladies behind the counter said "sit down I will come to you". We duly sat at a table, not far from the counter, in...More

Thank terryann H
Kate S, Owner at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Hi. I wonder if you have got the wrong Tearoom or possibly the wrong date. We did not have four ladies working on Monday!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Heard a lot of good things about this place from fellow cyclists stopped in there today with a friend on the bikes after 15 mins of no service approached the lady behind the counter and was told if I didn't sit at a table I...More

3  Thank Mathew C
Kate S, Owner at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this review

I'm glad you've heard good things about us but am very sorry you had such a disappointing visit on Sunday. What you don't mention is that the Tearooms were very full with a group of about 50 cyclists from a local club who had decided...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have visited previously and to be fair, had a lovely lunch, sandwiches & cake were very nice. Worth mentioning it was dead though and we were practically the only ones in there! Thought we would try it again today, again, in fairness it was quite...More

2  Thank BourbonQueen
Kate S, Owner at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this review

I'm glad you have enjoyed your visit to us in the past but apologise that you had a less satisfactory visit this weekend. As explained below, one of our tablets was not working and the staff did not think to take some orders with a...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Waited 10 minutes for a waitress, then asked to be served after another 10 minutes. 5 waitresses all doing nothing on not a particularly busy time. So we left and went to walled garden, Dovecote Cafe which is much cheaper too.More

1  Thank alex190817
Kate S, Owner at Moreton Tea Rooms, responded to this review

I'm so sorry you did not have an enjoyable experience at the weekend. I'm afraid that one of our order tablets was not working and instead of picking up a notepad and writing orders down, the staff waited for the one person to take all...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Moreton Tearooms occupies the former School House in the tranquil village of Moreton. Situated on the River Frome, the village is surrounded by broad meadows and pastures creating Thomas Hardy's "Vale of the Great Dairies." The olde worlde exterior belies the light and airy interior...More

3  Thank Ken N
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Waited 15-20 minutes to be served. Others that came in after us were served. One guy came in from the garden to ask to be served. We left in the end still gasping for a drink!

3  Thank Lindsey D
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately my sister and I had to wait for our cheese scones and watch my son and daughter eat their food. We did mention to the waitress that although she bought our teas, where were the scones?! They were very busy but when our food...More

2  Thank JECHertfordshire
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Stopped off after visiting TE Lawrence's home and grave. Lovely tea room with walled garden. Very clean and well presented. All had homemade scones and tea as they stop sandwiches at 3pm and we were 10mins late. Otherwise would have given 5 Stars. Scones were...More

Thank bellyofale
Reviewed 20 April 2017

A real gem of a place with good food and good service. A large menu to cater for all and depending how busy there they would be happy to change things around. Home made cakes, a large garden to eat out side and clean. Food...More

Thank James A
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

We visited the tea rooms and find it reasonably priced, good choice of cakes. Including gluten free, lots of different teas and hot and cold food, friendly staff, and nearby is the ford , great for children and lovely walks

Thank 40lulu
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Matilda's Coffee Shop
8 reviews
2.60 km away
Red Lion Winfrith
155 reviews
4.01 km away
The Black Bear
280 reviews
4.97 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Tank Museum
2,654 reviews
2.67 km away
Sculpture by the Lakes
906 reviews
2.67 km away
Mill House Cider Museum
27 reviews
3.99 km away
Winfrith Village Stores
14 reviews
4.78 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Mick B
How do I get there from Blandford?
6 June 2016|
Answer
Response from Robert T | Reviewed this property |
Follow B3082 to A354 3 min (0.9 mi) Head north on Salisbury St/B3082 towards Whitecliff Mill St 43 ft Continue straight to stay on Salisbury St/B3082 0.2 mi Turn right to stay on Salisbury St/B3082 85 ft Turn right onto... More
0
Votes
Sue B
Do you have gluten free lunch menu
1 August 2015|
Answer
Response from Kate S | Property representative |
Yes, we have a number of dishes which do not contain any gluten-containing ingredients.
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 17:00
Monday
10:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 17:00
Thursday
10:00 - 17:00
Friday
10:00 - 17:00
Saturday
10:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street, Moreton DT2 8RJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Moreton
  • Phone Number: +44 1929 463647
  • E-mail