We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hope and Anchor

Hope Cove, Salcombe, England
+44 1548 561294
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good32%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (31 reviews)
“pulled pork” (11 reviews)
“burger” (23 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hope Cove, Salcombe, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for a drink, and an evening meal later nice food with lovely sea views , polite hard working staff would come back again definately.

Thank libs7350
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice trip to the hope and anchor with my partner. He had a chilli and I had scampi, it was both very nice. We then had brownies to finish off with which were to die for.

Thank EmilyLuscombe
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for you review, we are delighted you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have stayed here a couple of times now and great location and nice clean rooms. Staff all very friendly. Food good, recommend the sea food curry. Remember to pay for car parking however!

Thank 2015TG1975
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review following you recent stay with us, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place offers a nice view from the outdoor sitting area. Food is okay. The service is odd, glacial, industrial, regimented and still shambolic, with girls in uniforms and earphones shoeing you away from the bar. Most peculiar and far from being trendy.

1  Thank Discover Y
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely dog friendly pub / restaurant in centre of Hope Cove with plenty of pay parking nearby. Staff were fun, friendly, welcoming and helpful, especially Beth who went more than out of her way to assist when there was confusion over a booking we had...More

Thank Kevin S
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Kevin for leaving us this wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your visits to us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A member of our party used to work here around 30 years ago so it was very much taking a trip back in time. We had been here a few times this holiday but we did have a bite to eat. The venue was quiet...More

Thank Dan F
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Dan for writing us this review. We are pleased you enjoyed your trip down memory lane and hope to see you back again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a week at Hope Cove and ate here 3 times. Food is not cheap, but it's good quality and good size portions. Due to the time of year the pub was very quiet and service was very good with staff happy to stop and...More

1  Thank Steve M
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your meals with us and of course our stunning views. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

Visited twice as staying in Hope Cove. Fish and chips good. Dirty chips was good. They are in a prime location and the views are brilliant. Service satisfactory but nothing special on our visits. Generally good selection of food and drink.

Thank Elaine P
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 18 April 2018

All the food is over priced. Of course it is in a prime location, but that is no excuse for a pub charging £13 for a crab sandwich on supermarket sliced bread and grey crab with no flavour, and no trimmings that looked edible. At...More

1  Thank ST2013to2014
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel with good food. Fish finger sandwiches were lovely and seafood sharing platter was enormous. Fairly good value for money. Waiting staff were good but didn’t offer a kids menu. However bar staff a little rude and abrupt. Felt that we were a bit...More

1  Thank Daley1206
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for writing us this lovely review.We will take your comments and discuss them with our team. We hope to see you back again in the near future

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Hope Cove
The Cottage Hotel
443 reviews
.09 km away
Lantern Lodge
170 reviews
.18 km away
The Sun Bay Hotel
452 reviews
.33 km away
Thurlestone Hotel
762 reviews
2.77 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Cove
547 reviews
.02 km away
Beach House Cafe
626 reviews
1.44 km away
Beachhouse
49 reviews
1.45 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hope Cove Beach
519 reviews
.02 km away
Bantham Beach
190 reviews
3.77 km away
Bigbury-on-Sea Beach
370 reviews
4.85 km away
Salcombe Distilling Company
105 reviews
6.45 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Andy R
25 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from StAustellManagement | Property representative |
Hi Andy, thank you for your question. We welcome dogs at the restaurant all year round and if you are staying with us, we ask for a fee of £10 per night. Please let me know if you'd like any further information. Best wishes... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hope Cove, Salcombe, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Salcombe  >  Hope Cove
  • Phone Number: +44 1548 561294
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;