We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Caribbean, Seafood, Bahamian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
222
38
16
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
222
38
16
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grouper crab cakes beet salad key lime pie pool side beautiful restaurant amazing food great dinner sunset island view bayside dock
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just excellent. Nothing was wrong.... beautiful restaurant, ask to sit on the lower level. We came twice and they were so wonderful and the food was equally perfect!

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Henryrockhouse, Owner at Rock House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing our restaurant! And thank you for visiting twice! That view during sunset never gets old!

Reviewed 14 July 2022 via mobile

If you follow me you can see I have stayed at places all over the world. When I go to a Nice recommended restaurant I expect it to be nice. This place failed everywhere except for the table people. We started off being shown to...the pool side table versus the view tables "which people reserve 4 months in advance. We ate from 6-7.30. When I left not a single other person was there so much for the good tables. Next we were shown to the table by a delightful person followed by another bread fun person. Then the Flys came and out came these industrial sterno cans burning on the table without any covers. The appetizers were mixed my crab cake was good my other one dry. The squash soup came with a large black hair in it which was discovered after eating half. The waiters comment upon being notified was.. You are right I see it. The Thai shrimp and rice was a large plate of rice with small shrimp and some sauce. My grouper and risotto was astonishingly over salted on the crusty grouper and through out the risotto. The bill came with the $20 soup still on which had to be pointed out. The mandatory 15% gratuity was already there but the waitress who didn't say anything to us all night felt the need to push the machine back and ask if I wanted to leave more. We are all world travelers. We all are understanding but none of us could come up with another experience that cost $350 and was just so poorly done in every level.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Henryrockhouse, Owner at Rock House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2022

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, James. I have reviewed the activity related to the reservation you booked yesterday and I truly am sorry we were not able to provide you with the view you requested. The sunset view we have...More

Reviewed 19 June 2022

Had a great dinner at Rock House! Very friendly staff, excellent waitress, delicious food! Highly recommend!

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Henryrockhouse, Owner at Rock House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

Hey Andrea, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. Our staff is the best!

Reviewed 26 May 2022 via mobile

We haven’t been to this well-revised restaurant on the island for years but went this week and were sadly disappointed in the horrible service. The food was excellent as expected but the wait service only came to our table once to ask if we need...anything. They comped our desserts and wine to make up for the poor service but I doubt that I will go to this restaurant again since there are so many other excellent options for good food. A real waste of a good restaurant. Management needs to make some major changes.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Henryrockhouse, Owner at Rock House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2022

Hello Jim, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I truly do apologize again for the incident with your server. He has been severely reprimanded for the lack of focus shown at your table. Despite this, I hope that you will afford...More

Reviewed 11 May 2022 via mobile

We ere seated promptly for our reservation and had great food and service. The grouper was perfectly cooked and tasted great. The rum cake dessert with homemade vanilla ice cream was top notch.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Henryrockhouse, Owner at Rock House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant! I love the grouper as well. I hope you had the Lobster Bisque to start though. They are an amazing combination! See you when you get back!

Reviewed 30 March 2022

This was my husband's favorite restaurant in Harbour Island. He wanted to go back a second time. The food was great, and Henry the new owner, is very friendly and accommodating.

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Henryrockhouse, Owner at Rock House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2022

You are too kind. Thank you very much for this review. I'll tell you the secret to my success... my team makes me look good! They all do an incredible job!

Reviewed 28 February 2022

Loved the service staff, rooms and food. Great vibe and location. Easy access to one of the worlds most beautiful beaches with services to meet your needs for food, drink, towels, etc.

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Henryrockhouse, Owner at Rock House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

Thank you for this! We work hard to provide the highest level of food and service. I hope we get to see you soon so you can see the dedication our staff has for making your next stay even better.

Reviewed 23 December 2021

This was my first time visiting Rock House and they did not disappoint. We had dinner at the pool (highly suggested) as the there wasn’t much to see on the bayside except for the sunset, which was amazing, but the lights on the dock got...distracting after. Our server, Edge, was a gem! Her recommendations were perfect. I had the seafood cakes and snapper dish. Food is pricy but that seems to be a trend on the island. All in all, fantastic meal!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Henryrockhouse, Owner at Rock House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2021

Thank you so much for this review! I do love the pool as well but you really can't beat that sunset. It is magical! Also, Edge really is the best. I'd try the Burrata salad and Blackened Grouper the next time you're in though. Our...More

Reviewed 21 December 2021

We went to the restaurant looking at the reviews and photos. There is no view of the sea like in the photos. Ambience is good but the food is not only over priced but the quality is poor. No vegetarian options except some pasta and...chick pea dish which was stale and had to return it. Surprisingly the waiters were not wearing any masks unlike the other restaurants which I found very annoying. Overall very expensive restaurant with no views and very average quality food. On the positive side the waiters were very polite and took the dishes away without any argument when pointed that the food tasted stale.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Henryrockhouse, Owner at Rock House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2021

Hello Treeline27, My apologies, but I'm at a loss as to how to respond to this. Mainly because we offer and promote a Bayview, not Oceanview, and we do not offer a pasta and chickpea dish. Also, our servers are required by law to wear...More

Reviewed 18 November 2021 via mobile

Appetizers (such as Grilled octopus, Duo beet salad) and Mains (Thai coconut curry shrimp, Balsamic glazed snapper) were all well presented and tasteful. The staff are knowledgeable and efficient. The music has thankfully changed tempo - and now allows for more conducive dining. (Yay!) Topping...it all off in the dessert selection was the sublime Key Lime Pie and the infamous Torte. Big congratulations to the new Rock House team!More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Henryrockhouse, Owner at Rock House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2021

Thank you very much for your review. It's always difficult when changing anything that has such a strong legacy as The Rock House. It makes me happy to see that the hard work my team put into building onto that legacy is being well received....More

Reviewed 15 November 2021

I’ve been to rock house before and really loved it many years ago but this experience was different. All the dishes were pretty good except the Caprese salad which was absolutely absurdly priced. Two cherry tomatoes and two pieces of store bought mozzarella about the...size of a Reese‘s peanut butter cup. $26 +12% VAT and 15% gratuity. I literally could’ve ate the whole salad with one big bite. Lol lol. I do love the atmosphere there but come on do people right on the food!! Please. A lot of better options on the island.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Henryrockhouse, Owner at Rock House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2021

Hello Jedken, Thank you for your honest feedback. I've met with our chef to tweak that salad. And you're absolutely right. It can and will be much better! We hope to see you soon to get your option on the new setup!

Reviewed 30 June 2021 via mobile

We spent time all throughout Eleuthra and hands down this was the best meal that we had. The food was perfectly cooked and tasty and the drinks were nice and strong! We had a seat right on the water next to the dock where we...enjoyed looking at out of my world yachts! Staff was friendly and service was fast! Would definitely recommend.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 March 2020

The Rock house is everything that people say it is. Great food, great service and high prices. It is expensive, but very good. Most people don’t like giving them a credit card to make a reservation. Beware of the $50 per person fee if you...are not there within ten minutes of your reservation.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 March 2020

The food and the service was incredible. If we return again for 5 nights I would eat here at least twice on the next trip. Should out to Toby for giving us a great table. Thank you!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 February 2020 via mobile

Wow. Great ambience. Excellent food and drink. It’s a hotel and Restaraunt. And party pool after dark. Would recommend staying there if you are sans kids. Have fun @nickellfamilytravel

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Rock House
361 reviews
.01 km away
The Landing Hotel
143 reviews
.05 km away
Valentines Resort and Marina
421 reviews
.19 km away
Runaway Hill Club
163 reviews
.47 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Landing Restaurant
316 reviews
.07 km away
The Dunmore Restaurant
204 reviews
.53 km away
Cocoa Coffee House
90 reviews
.23 km away
Da Vine Wine Merchants
53 reviews
.13 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Abaco Tours & Activities
53 reviews
.13 km away
Fitness with Tamara
68 reviews
.57 km away
Pink Sands Beach
542 reviews
.75 km away
Dunmore Town
112 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
beachbooks
15 March 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from donpurdy | Property representative |
Hello and thanks for your inquiry. Unfortunately the hotel will remain closed until November 15th due to Covid19. Regards, Don.
0
Votes
Susanabbru
12 November 2019|
Answer
Response from Jasmine G | Property representative |
Hello, Unfortunately we are fully booked for that date. We can put you on a waitlist if you would like. Kindly provide your name, where you will be staying and a phone number. If there is any availability we will contact... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rock House

Rock House is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 5