We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holly Bush Inn

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
51 Brook Lane | Marehay, Ripley DE5 8JA, England
+44 1773 570830
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good29%
  • Average1%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“game pie” (2 reviews)
“steak” (5 reviews)
“salad” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
51 Brook Lane | Marehay, Ripley DE5 8JA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with friends and enjoyed our evening. The meal was very pleasant but nothing to go mad about. The whole place is screaming for a refurb but with plenty of customers they may feel it is an unnecessary expense. Food distinctively average but no complaints.

1  Thank jackbry
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

The decor was lovely, the staff and the locals were friendly and the food and beer first rate. However, this was as nothing to the divine majesty of the waitress Leah. Ships have been launched, symphonies written and poems recited for a presence less divine....More

Thank James R
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Visited this pub yesterday with friends having never been before and was pleasantly surprised with the staff, food and welcome received. my understanding is that the pub has recently re opened after being closed and up for sale. The staff were very friendly and efficient...More

Thank chalks178
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

First time in the Holly Bush but will be back again! Service was great and so was the food :) Large Sunday roast was lovely with a great selection of vegetables, great value too.

Thank Charli W
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Lovely home made food . Friendly helpful staff .Aways get you a table if they can usually do though.

Thank teresasharpe
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Food was greasy over cooked, chips were home made but looked and tasted like they were cooked in old batter not nice. Bush burger very greasy cheese n bacon dropping in grease.burger was also a little tough. The place smells of fried food to the...More

1  Thank wren76
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

I noticed the people that complained about this place were not exactly breaking the bank on what they ordered. This pubs resteraunt is an excellent example of home food cooking. I have people from Leicestershire and Yorkshire visit me and insist on going for a...More

Thank dcripley
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Called for lunch on Wednesday with three others. Ordered gammon egg and chips. The gammon was cold ham not hot gammon and the chips were seven or eight one inch chips, the rest were chip bits only. The waitress asked if all was ok when...More

Thank jackiebU1972RG
Lorrainehollybush, Owner at Holly Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Hi sorry your meal wasn't up to standard. I can't help the size of potatoes as we make our own chips they aren't all in uniform like frozen chips. Could you tell me did you order the gammon from the £5.50 lunchtime specials board?

Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Went to the Holly Bush Inn for some lunch with a work colleague. I asked for a cheese and ham panini. After paying for this I was informed that they no longer serve paninis. I then asked for a cheese and ham toastie. When it...More

1  Thank Marianne S
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Found this lovely place for a spot of lunch .food was great and well presented. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his rabbit pie it was the best he had tasted . well worth a visit.

Thank Madcook
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kathmandu Gurkha
92 reviews
1.29 km away
The Village Inn Marehay
106 reviews
.73 km away
Sea Fish
35 reviews
1.41 km away
Sylhet Spice
148 reviews
1.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Denby Pottery Factory
335 reviews
1.96 km away
Midland Railway - Butterley
294 reviews
2.51 km away
Codnor Castle
16 reviews
3.64 km away
The Thorn Tree Ripley
26 reviews
2.26 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Hilary M
20 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sam T | Reviewed this property |
It's on the chalk board inside and notice board outside; not seen an online version yet xx
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 51 Brook Lane | Marehay, Ripley DE5 8JA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Ripley
  • Phone Number: +44 1773 570830
  • E-mail
Description
Public House
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing