We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wellwood

) #10 of 27 Restaurants in Amble ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , British,
High Street, Amble NE65 0LD, England
+44 1665 714646
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good27%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (20 reviews)
“curry” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
High Street, Amble NE65 0LD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went because totally tired out, couldn't face cooking. Had a lovely welcome as always, we both had a lovely meal. The portions were so large we couldn't finish them. The decor has been renewed and all in all it looks and feels most inviting. Our...More

Thank jazzlady2015
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

You know it's a real pleasure to serve nice guests the comment you have written are so appreciated by all our team and we welcome you to Amble as our new neighbours and hope you are happy here and we have the pleasure to serve...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was really disappointed with this pub ordered 2 meals off of main menu one was sausage and mash which was good the other was a total disaster pie and chips very poor tough meat and pastry like cardboard house wine very poor quality got...More

1  Thank Ladylesley61
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Before I answer your complaint I must say You are the most obnoxious and ill mannered "person" I have had the displeasure to serve. You are codisending, infact if you had touched me again I would have called 101 to have you taken out of...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Looking for a Sunday carvery when away,came across this place, I should have carried on driving, earthy taste on carrot and swede, potatoes tasteless,gravy sweet, I asked for pork your guess was as good as mine if it was, on the good side the parnsips...More

3  Thank lorraine k
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good review of the spuds... "jersey royals" and turnip although not always it's best this time of year....carrots are carrots, however everything grows in the ground so may be earthy! the gravy was lovely this week according to the other 400 who had lunch... Have...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a good meal here. One of us had the salmon on sweet potato purée and the other had gammon. Food was good and service was also good. Prices are reasonable. Good for s pub meal.

Thank Lindaandin
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much a great review look forward to you returning at some point please say hello Kind regards Julian

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Definitely one of our favourite spots for Sunday lunch.Excellent carvery with great choice of veg. Also very friendly staff and reasonably priced.

Thank Johnlobster
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review very much appreciated see you back soon hopefully Kind regards Julian

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here a few times for drinks and food. It's a nice pub that's also dog friendly and has an out side area. Friendly staff and the food was really nice pub food. Great place to visit.

Thank ScotlandAmber
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Great review thank you for taking the time to do it much appreciated by all Kind regards Julian

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A change of layout since our last visit has given additional cosy restaurant seating. The menu and 'specials board' give a great choice of dining. Both meals we enjoyed were good quality and the staff were friendly and helpful.

1  Thank annglen1
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Cheers and many thanks for taking the time to review us we have our new menu starting soon hope you return to give it a try Kind regards Julian

Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Visited today as a family of 5. Excellent carvery, amazing beef and a huge selection of vegetables. Puddings were to die for. Great value. Staff were very friendly. Would highly recommend. May have been our first visit but will not be our last. Thank you.

2  Thank D-P_2012
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Great review so pleased you enjoyed it on such a hot day !! Give us a shout hello next time in Kind regards Julian

Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

I had the liver and onions. The onion was slightly burnt but that is not a complaint as it added immensely to the flavour. The portion was immense but the quality was too. Later I had lemon meringue pie. Overdose but wonderful. The decor is...More

Thank EdwardoCalipso
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you for your great review, yes we do brown the onions to add flavour... well spotted! ... lambs fry is what we use, it's one of those "yesterday meals" a meal rarely cooked at home nowadays so we keep it on our menu... a...More

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

2nd visit today for Sunday carvery sorry to say will be the last . The chef could do with a few more manners . smiles and health and safety issues . We all know about stock rotation so why put newly made vegetables onto old...More

1  Thank Johnws1961
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Yes agreed and done!!! I have spoken to the chef on that day and looked at the cameras to establish exactly what happened as people who take to trip to vent off or complain often exaggerate ... you didn't I must say. However we serve...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Jaspers Bistro
186 reviews
.37 km away
Spurreli
587 reviews
.54 km away
Sea&Soil Amble
386 reviews
.43 km away
The Fat Mermaid
116 reviews
.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Northside Surf School
93 reviews
.90 km away
Artique at The Marina
77 reviews
.15 km away
Pedal Power Cycling
74 reviews
.60 km away
Puffin Cruises
81 reviews
.71 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jackie B
30 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Northumberland_Jules | Property representative |
Hello and yes you can depending on size plus you can stay over at no charge if you tell us in advance Jan
0
Votes
unicorn_fairy_05
25 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Northumberland_Jules | Property representative |
Yes in the pub and a seperate dining room for pets not in the rooms Regards Julian
0
Votes
MacjademumDad
29 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Northumberland_Jules | Property representative |
No we are shut!!!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 4 - US$ 26
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Amble NE65 0LD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Amble
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 714646
  • E-mail
Description
The Wellwood is reborn again! New owner really first class NEW MENU serving quality pub grub...Lots more to come. GREAT CARVERY and fabulous PUB GRUB( ok a little better than that!)MENU...All your favorite dishes in one restaurant. BOOK YOUR TABLE NOW
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing