We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

High Tide Bar & Seafood Grill

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
5000 Enighed PMB 52 Prince St, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
+1 340-714-6169
Website
Today
08:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

914 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 909: English reviews
Clinton WA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Service was great food was good but not great, RIb eye was tough even though cooked medium, lobster was undercooked and for the price that wasn't good. First try of lobster for one of my party. Drinks were reasonably priced, view was lovely and had really nice music created great ambience

Helpful?
Thank LilysMum0723
Jimbo R, Owner at High Tide Bar & Seafood Grill, responded to this review

While we're glad the service and atmosphere could really impress, we wish it was the same story for your food. You're right to expect both the rib eye and lobster to be properly prepared, so we're disappointed that wasn't the case for you. We do appreciate you bringing this up and will for sure follow up with our team about... More 

Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly fast service and good food, beachfront location right near ferry dock, grabbed a quick breakfast but they had a nice lunch menu too

Helpful?
Thank Mark and Jenny L
Jimbo R, Owner at High Tide Bar & Seafood Grill, responded to this review

Thanks for stopping by for a quick breakfast, Mark! It's great that you enjoyed things while admiring the beautiful view out here. All the best, High Tide More 

Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
205 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate lunch at High Tide a couple of times the last visit to St. John. You might think it would be hot down by the beach, but the restaurant is quite shady with good fans. The view right by the water is good too. There aren't a great number of tables; most of the space is dominated by an... More 

Helpful?
Thank gingerlee13
Jimbo R, Owner at High Tide Bar & Seafood Grill, responded to this review

Thanks for stopping by for lunch a few times while at St. John! We're glad both the roll and burger hit the spot and hope the rest of your visit went just as well. All the best, High Tide More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food that we were served was spoiled as well as fermented meat. Thirty minutes after finishing our meal we were both suffering from stomach pain and diarrhea. Homeless drunks bathing in the sink in the restroom. This place needs to be closed down by the board of health immediately!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Ben G
Jimbo R, Owner at High Tide Bar & Seafood Grill, responded to this review

Like we mentioned on both your Google and Yelp review, what you describe couldn't be further from what we strive for. This is the first time you mentioned how you were feeling after your meal, Ben, so we want to take a moment to emphasize that we make sure all our food is safe and cooked properly. This is especially... More 

Phoenix, Az
Level Contributor
115 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So, this is one of the first things you will notice, to your right, as you walk off the ferry on St. John. You are so happy to be here moseying up for a drink was our first inclination, but we couldn't! We had some responsibilities. However the next day we returned to the bar and enjoyed a couple of... More 

Helpful?
Thank ROBII
Jimbo R, Owner at High Tide Bar & Seafood Grill, responded to this review

It's just wonderful you had fun here, Rob! Thanks for stopping by for some drinks while over by the dock -- hope the rest of your St. John trip went just as well. All the best, High Tide More 

Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We've been to High Tide on three other visits and would give it a four plus. The menu last year had very good sushi. This year the menu was more basic. There were four of us and one of us ordered nachos as his dinner, but it appeared 15 minutes before the other meals. It was covered in cheese (?)... More 

Helpful?
Thank finney9685
Jimbo R, Owner at High Tide Bar & Seafood Grill, responded to this review

We're a bit disappointed with how your last visit went -- especially since you've been a fan of ours for quite some time. It's clear that the nachos and calamari didn't live up to our usual standard, so we hope you brought this up to your waiter so we could have addressed it. Still, we do appreciate you giving us... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had the best service from Stefanie. The rum punches were less than great, however, the Painkillers were stellar. I think it was the fresh ground nutmeg. The chicken salad wrap was incredible and fed 2 for lunch. Get the pasta salad as your side and you will not be disappointed. FYI The Dock is out front and uses the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cary S
Jimbo R, Owner at High Tide Bar & Seafood Grill, responded to this review

While the rum punches didn't exactly impress, we're glad the Painkillers and chicken salad wrap could hit the spot! We know Stefanie will be just as thrilled reading your review as we are, Cary. All the best, High Tide More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had two dinners at High Tide on our most recent trip. We had missed this place on our previous three trips. We were looking for something that appealed to kids, grandparents and us and hit the jackpot. Kids were happy, we were happy, and we had great service/servers both nights we were there. We will definitely go back... and... More 

Helpful?
Thank CLTtoAXA
Jimbo R, Owner at High Tide Bar & Seafood Grill, responded to this review

It's great to have the whole family's approval! We're glad you had a chance to stop by on your most recent trip -- looking forward to welcoming you back. All the best, High Tide More 

Aruba
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

We were meeting at High Tide before our sailing adventure and we ended up eating there. Everyone loved their meals and the view is fantastic. Very casual nice place to eat. They also made a great Bloody Mary.

Helpful?
Thank KathieJohnson
Jimbo R, Owner at High Tide Bar & Seafood Grill, responded to this review

Thanks for taking a moment to dine with us before your adventure, Kathie. It's wonderful everyone enjoyed the food and bloody marys! We hope you had just as much fun sailing. All the best, High Tide More 

Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We went here because it was on the beach, and had some nicer choices for our anniversary dinner. I had the coconut shrimp appetizer for dinner, and my husband had the tenderloin steak. It was great! Service was awesome, drinks were good, dessert was great, and you can't beat the view!

Helpful?
Thank orthoarrow
Jimbo R, Owner at High Tide Bar & Seafood Grill, responded to this review

First off, Happy Anniversary! We're so glad you chose to celebrate your and your husband's big day at our place -- thrilled the coconut shrimp and steak could make the evening. All the best, High Tide More 

Travellers who viewed High Tide Bar & Seafood Grill also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to High Tide Bar & Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, View, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5000 Enighed PMB 52 Prince St, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
  • Location: Caribbean  >  U.S. Virgin Islands  >  St. John  >  Cruz Bay
  • Phone Number: +1 340-714-6169
Description
Like the waves that crash on our beaches, our islands are full of people that come and go. Like the boats that leave our docks filled with guests that want to stay, our gates wave goodbye to friends who want to remain for one more drink, one more bite of the best the ocean has to offer, or one more minute of closing their eyes and smelling the salt in the sea and listening to the caress of the ocean against the sand.

We know your time here is precious, everyone comes here to escape, to go on adventures with people they love the most. Here, we make it our vocation to help you experience the best of what the Virgin Islands has to offer. Our chefs have mastered both local and international cuisine, bartenders have figured out the best way to put spirit in our spirits, and all of our staff is happy to see you.

Honestly, we think there's no better backdrop to relax with friends or family, close that business deal, or even make the life-long commitment to the person you love the most.

We'll see you when the tide comes in.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from High Tide Bar & Seafood Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?