We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Yemanja Woodfired Grill

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$40 - $70
CUISINES
Caribbean, Seafood, International, Grill, Healthy
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 05/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Yemanja Woodfired Grill
Updated 05/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Sponsored by: Yemanja Woodfired Grill

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Amazing food and atmosphere!
1. Amazing food and atmosphere!
"Was recommended several times and definitely lived up to all the hype!"
Lynn M
See reviews that mention Amazing food and atmosphere!
2. Hidden Gem in Aruba
2. Hidden Gem in Aruba
"Every dish was well thought out and beautifully presented."
HJH74
See reviews that mention Hidden Gem in Aruba
3. Best food on the Island
3. Best food on the Island
"Their menu is incredible and extensive"
Hannah H
See reviews that mention cooked perfectly
Reviews (3,144)
Filter reviews
2,901 results
Traveller rating
2,268
415
121
48
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
2,268
415
121
48
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews triple tail superfood salad truffle risotto boursin cheese picanha grouper gelato seafood medley pork chop sea bass poussin mashed potatoes surf and turf bread kebab gluten free food allergies
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We have been to Yemanja Woodfired Grill at least 15 times since they opened. The food is wonderful, so it made sense that we would take our friends and family last night, 6/24/22. Our party included 2 children but we were more than willing to...leave a credit hold for party size of 8 plus arrive at 5:30 to accommodate the children seated before 6:30pm policy. We were among the first 2 tables to be sat. We did note that most of the waitstaff appeared new since our last visit in December 2021. We can also imagine that the kitchen staff may have changed. But none of these should be the customers' problems. I say that as a front line healthcare provider! At any rate, the initial drink, appetizer, and kids' menus order proceeded without problem. Those items along with the delicious bread, proceeded well! But after that, it was a disastrous experience. Half of us had worked in restaurants growing up through college. 30 minutes after the kids meals and our appetizers....still no food for adults. At 6:30pm, my husband asked what was wrong. The waitstaff stated that the order was in and the kitchen was busy. That made no sense as we were 2nd table sat, with that being a 2-top!!! The assistant manager, Ron came over but it was not until food arrival at 7:02 pm (kids were now fussy and had to be juggled) that there was any attempt at explanation & at that point we were assured that things would be taken care of. We hurriedly finish and the "things would be taken care of" was 15% credit to bill and you won't have to pay for desserts. 1/2 of our party left at that time. Well only one of 2 desserts ordered at beginning of meal arrived at table by around 7:45pm. Those desserts were ordered at start of meal! So dear friends please be aware that things are not the same here; and Yemanja staff, please do a BETTER job going forward. We love the place.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 16 November 2020

Before we went to Yemanja during our annual trip to Aruba we noticed that the menu was paired down due to the pandemic and some of our favorites were not available. What we weren't prepared for was the absolutely delicious specials that Chef Joyce and...her crew had been putting together every week (and sometimes more). We took the opportunity to try many of the specials and every single one of them was amazing. We had the Grilled Tenderloin Kebab, Asian Style BBQ Beef Short Ribs, Mediterranean Grilled Garlic Shrimps (which I made a request should permanently stay on the menu), Grilled Wahoo with Coconut Shrimp, and Grilled Cajun Blackened Striploin Steak. This restaurant is in my opinion the best on the island. The food is amazing, the ambience is perfect and the staff are first rate!! If there is one restaurant that is a must do on the island it is this one. With regards to COVID, we felt completely safe at this restaurant. We ate outside, temperatures were checked before entering, we had to use sanitizer before entering and information was taken for contact tracing purposes. All staff were wearing masks and/or face shields and tables were spaced appropriately apart. Masks were required to enter and when moving around restaurant. Menu was accessible via QR code.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?5  
Reviewed 6 days ago

Our server and staff were amazing! Excellent service. My boyfriend had the best burger ever in his life! My sister and I had the tenderloin and it was perfectly prepared ! The best meal we had on the island! Definitely need a reservation.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to celebrate my nephews 15-year job anniversary at a drugstore. We ate different apoetizers, entrees and desserts. I ate escargots and mushrooms, filet of fish and shrimps and hot meets cold as dessert. It was out of this world, wishing to go there...soon again.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food was excellent from appetizer to entree! The waitress and waiters were friendly and knowledgeable of the meals

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yemanja never fails to disappoint! Ernon twas amazing! He brought warm, homemade gluten free bread to our table with olive tapenade and garlic herb butter! Complete heaven! I topped off the night with my favorite dish of grouper with Boursin cheese!

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We shared the special five shrimp appetizer. Each one is prepared differently. Great! We had barbeque mahi mahi and salmon cooked in banana skins. The manger, Ron, was very attentive and personable. We hope to return during our next trip to Aruba.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My ticket was inaccurate and I advised the wait staff and cashier. The cashier returned my receipt to sign but, he ran my card with a $150 error before I signed. The manager and cashier stated that the charge would be reversed immediately but, the...charge was not reversed. Now, I basically was taken for $150 from this restaurant. Good food but horrible finalization which, I would not have thought would happen. Literally, they are thieves.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
FoodieAruba, Owner at Yemanja Woodfired Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Mr. Townsend, We apologize for the inconvenience that you had experienced on the night of you reservation. The error of charging you the wrong ticket of another table, which was very unfortunate, but a human error that can occur. An error that was directly...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband made reservations for dinner since we were shopping at Renaissance shopping mall in downtown Aruba, Walking distance from Renaissance hotel and mall. The Food was not only delicious but well presented. We were blown away from their Pumpkin Thai soup, it may not...sound very good but it was the BEST soup we've ever had!! So flavorful and we're still talking about it today back from trip!! My husband was bummed out that they ran out of Ribeye as that's his favorite. We both ended up ordering tenderloin kebab dinner and wait until you eat the spiral potatoes on the stick covered with sourcream, cheese,yummy onions , that was fantastic!! And desert was 👍 great. My husband surprised me with them singing Happy birthday too. I loved it 110% must try !!More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First time trying Yemanja. It is downtown Aruba on a back side street. They have an inside bar area and then a covered outside patio and an uncovered patio. The bread is served just one piece per person onto a plate. There is a herb...butter and olive tampanade served with it. The bread was ok. My husband had the Thai Pumpkin soup. It is very unique and he enjoyed it. The meals here look like works of art For dinner he had the BBQ Mahi and really enjoyed it. He said he would try something else next time though just because there are so many interesting choices. I had the Grilled Unicorn Leatherjack fish with garlic shrimps. It was amazing. The fish was light, flaky and moist and the shrimps were some of the best I have had in Aruba. Based on these shrimps I would always consider adding on one of the 3 piece shrimp options they offer. I would probably try something different too although this was fantastic. For dessert we ordered both the banana tarte tasting and the apples & cinnamon Mille Fueille. They were both very tasty but we both liked the Apples & Cinnamon one better. Great place. Highly recommend and we will be back.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Monastery Suites
46 reviews
.72 km away
Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club
344 reviews
1.35 km away
Divi Dutch Village Beach Resort
346 reviews
2.45 km away
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
4,236 reviews
2.73 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Aquarius
1,392 reviews
.12 km away
Fred Royal Aruba
981 reviews
.17 km away
L.G. Smith's Steak & Chop House
2,889 reviews
.17 km away
The Pastechi House
297 reviews
.20 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Renaissance Mall
398 reviews
.11 km away
Cosecha
52 reviews
.02 km away
Fort Zoutman Historical Museum
264 reviews
.18 km away
Seaport Crystal Theatre
29 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jenn72603
10 February 2022|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from coachmikec | Reviewed this property |
Also, this restaurant is wonderful! The food is excellent and the service is good (although keep in mind Aruba dining is generally a slower experience than in the US)
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Yemanja Woodfired Grill

Yes, Yemanja Woodfired Grill offers takeaway services.

Yes, Yemanja Woodfired Grill is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Yemanja Woodfired Grill is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5