We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The John Fielding

) #14 of 68 Restaurants in Cwmbran , British,
1 Caradoc Road | Cwmbran, Cwmbran NP44 1PP, Wales
+44 1633 833760
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good38%
  • Average18%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (9 reviews)
“mixed grill” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Caradoc Road | Cwmbran, Cwmbran NP44 1PP, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in about 10:00 on a Saturday night, after eating at a nearby Indian restaurant, whilst staying in Cwmbran for an event. The pub was typically busy, with its usual variety of ales. It took an age to get served. Despite being busy, the five...More

Thank Souwester147
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Always a busy pub, and can get very busy at certain times of the day hence queues can build up at the bar, when you do place your food order its at your table very quickly, food is pretty basic but good, however new menu...More

Thank Pje1231430
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

What can I say? Its cheap which seems to attract, Personally I would prefer a character pub but alas they cant compete with these large chains, Can get busy, can get boring, can fill up with space cadetsMore

Thank Ali S
Thomas F, Manager at The John Fielding, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Hi Ali S, Thank you for taking the time to review the John Fielding. Feedback is an essential part of our business and we take pride that the customers experience is our number one priority. It is sad to hear that you do not feel...More

Reviewed 1 April 2017

Where else can you get great service a good meal and good pint all in the same place for a good price no where but Weatherspoons. I did enjoy the special service Brandon gave me. ThanksMore

Thank syngymus
Thomas F, Manager at The John Fielding, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Hi syngymus, Thank you for taking the time to review the John Fielding. Feedback is an essential part of our business and we take pride that the customers experience is our number one priority. It is great to hear such positive feedback and that you...More

Reviewed 31 March 2017

My friends and I all had fish and chips, mushy peas and a free pint of Ruddles at the amazingly cheap price of £6.90. The fish was really good and all the meal was fresh and hot. I have paid double in some pubs just...More

Thank jimpilgrim
Thomas F, Manager at The John Fielding, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Hi jimpilgrim, Thank you for taking the time to review the John Fielding. Feedback is an essential part of our business and we take pride that the customers experience is our number one priority. It is lovely to hear such positive feedback. We strive to...More

Reviewed 21 March 2017

This was the first time for a while that we have visited a Wetherspoons and it was a big disappointment. We have never eaten dinner in this particular Wetherspoons before although we have eaten breakfast there on numerous occassions and have never been really happy...More

Thank glyndavies47
Thomas F, Manager at The John Fielding, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Hi glyndavies47, Thank you for taking the time to review the John Fielding. Feedback is an essential part of our business and we take pride that the customers experience is our number one priority. I am disappointed to hear that you had such a poor...More

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Stopped off here for steak night last week and had possibly the worst steak I have ever had, tough overcooked and whole meal was just about warm and as it was a very quite night I can't even blame it on them been busy. Ok...More

Thank herbie6789
Thomas F, Manager at The John Fielding, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Hi herbie6789, Thank you for taking the time to review the John Fielding. Feedback is an essential part of our business and we take pride that the customers experience is our number one priority. I am sorry to hear that you didn't have an enjoyable...More

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Although the food and drink are good value for money, the biggest problem for me is the noise within the building when it's busy. Also, there never seems to be enough bar staff?More

Thank Jeleneo
Thomas F, Manager at The John Fielding, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Hi Jeleneo, Thank you for taking the time to review the John Fielding. Feedback is an essential part of our business and we take pride that the customers experience is our number one priority. It is disappointing to hear that you didn't think we had...More

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Families food looked appetising and they enjoyed it. I normally have lovely meals but I guess it was an off day. I ordered skinny chicken with salad. Salad wasn't fresh and the chicken was rubbery. It looked OK on the plate but quite disappointed. The...More

Thank welshcath1975
Thomas F, Manager at The John Fielding, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Hi welshcath1975, Thank you for taking the time to review the John Fielding. Feedback is an essential part of our business and we take pride that the customers experience is our number one priority. I am sorry that on this occasion you had a less...More

Reviewed 4 March 2017

Revisited again,the service is fast and pleasant with good prices,and the food is nice. The downside is that the lighting is v poor in certain parts so can be gloomy,and because of the open plan layout can get very noisy.More

Thank andrewjhill58
Thomas F, Manager at The John Fielding, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Hi andrewjhill58, Thank you for taking the time to review the John Fielding. Feedback is an essential part of our business and we take pride that the customers experience is our number one priority. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoy our premise...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Tiffins Indian Buffet
592 reviews
.11 km away
Pontnewydd Fish Bar
155 reviews
.76 km away
Page's Fish & Chips
278 reviews
.35 km away
Costa @Next
47 reviews
.54 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cwmbran Shopping Centre
181 reviews
.42 km away
Greenmeadow Community Farm
222 reviews
1.55 km away
Llantarnam Grange Arts Centre
41 reviews
.15 km away
Llanyrafon Manor
57 reviews
1.26 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Anne G
10 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from carol c | Property representative |
Hi, we dont have rooms. The nearest Wetherlodge is 6 miles away at The Queens Hotel in Newport! :) Carol
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
07:00 - 01:00
Saturday
07:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Caradoc Road | Cwmbran, Cwmbran NP44 1PP, Wales (Formerly The John Fielding, JD Wetherspoons)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Torfaen  >  Cwmbran
  • Phone Number: +44 1633 833760
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing