We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, Seafood,
Main Road, Arorangi, Cook Islands
+682 20 501
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good33%
  • Average16%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“seafood platter” (113 reviews)
“lemon fish” (6 reviews)
“steak” (30 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, Polynesian, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Road, Arorangi, Cook Islands
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 130 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2016

We'd heard great things about their seafood for 2 platter so went to check out. We ordered garlic and honey bread first...sounded a weird combo but it was good. The platter looked impressive size wise... plenty for two but it was a bit hit and...More

Thank Jacqui T
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Kia orana Thank you for your review I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your SF platter. There are some thing on most seafood platters through out the world that don't appeal to everyone. However with the oysters, they are flown into Rarotonga chilled and...More

Reviewed 15 May 2016

We have been here before, 3 years ago and were looking forward to the seafood platter. Should have read the other reviews. $80.00 was way too much for mostly frozen fish bits that you can buy at the supermarket. Didn't like the fish or ikimata....More

Thank BJRDMK
TAMBA1954, Owner at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Kia orana Thanks for your review. It is one way that we can learn form our mistakes an improve upon. I am sorry you didn't enjoy the seafood platter. 95% of reviews about the platter are excellent. Certainly there were no frozen fish bits as...More

Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We ordered the seafood platter and found everything on the platter except the oysters, frozen. The whole platter was tasteless. The oysters on the other hand were off but just by putting one in my mouth was enough to make me pay for it the...More

Thank Trish S
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Kia orana That was rather a harsh review. Everything on the platter was not frozen. The platter has a variety of tastes from deep fried salt and pepper squid to local marinated fish salad. 95% of the reviews about the platter are excellent. The oysters...More

Reviewed 11 May 2016

The Restaurant was beautiful with interesting things to look at everywhere which was lucky because it took us 30 minutes to get served for a drink. We waited over an hour for our main meal that was nothing like we ordered. We left hungry &...More

Thank Peta P
TAMBA1954, Owner at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Kia orana Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you had a terrible experience at our restaurant. There is no excuse for this. We are often recommended and people are usually very happy. I only wish that you would have said something to...More

Reviewed 10 May 2016

We did not like the decor here at all, it was like eating in a junk shop. Too much mish mash. If you want water at the table you are required to buy a bottle of it. On the other hand the meals were delicious,...More

Thank Taurangahawk
TAMBA1954, Owner at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Kia orana and Thankyou for your review. I am so very happy that you enjoyed your meals. It is recommended by the health department that we sell bottled water rather then tap water to avoid any possible after affects. The décor is certainly not everyone's...More

Reviewed 5 May 2016

This was a very cool restaurant! The design of it was amazing, there was so much to look at. Our food good, great steak! There was a bit to much seasoning on the chips. Overall, lovely restaurant.

Thank rebeccastevenson1
TAMBA1954, General Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Kia orana and Meitaki (Thankyou) for your review. So happy you enjoyed our Tumunu Restaurant and hope to see you back one day. Kia manuia from the Team at Tumunu

Reviewed 25 April 2016

Had our last meal on the island here and we were very disappointed the seafood platter was very very average and was mainly from frozen pre made items Wish we hadn't wasted our money it was the most expensive meal of our trip and not...More

Thank ShreeandRhys
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Kia orana So sorry you didn't enjoy the platter do. Perhaps if you ever visit again it would be more to your liking. Kia manuia The Management

Reviewed 24 April 2016

Food was pretty good and prices were on par with other restaurants on the island, just loved the seafood dishes. Nice decor and gardens, good range of drinks as well, just a little note on their service, were waiting for a while to get our...More

Thank joeandkarenB
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Kia orana Thanks so much for your review. We are all so pleased you enjoyed your night and apologise for the service or lack of it with the follow up drinks. Reviews should be meant to allow for improvement and we will certainly improve upon...More

Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

We were the first table on a Thursday night and were given the option to sit outside in the gorgeous fairy lit garden dining area which we chose. Mosquito repellent on the table was a nice touch and definitely needed for the hot evening! Service...More

Thank LillianMaguire
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Kia orana Thank you for your review. It does seem that you were not happy and I do apologise. Hope if you ever visit again that we will do better for you. Our staff all read the reviews and we do try to learn from...More

Reviewed 20 April 2016

Amazing food and friendly staff. Food was incredible, indoor and outdoor seating. Incredible lighting and warm/welcoming atmosphere. Seafood platter for one is massive and beautifully presented. 100% highly recommend eating here. A little higher in pricing however worth every penny!!

Thank AmandaAds787
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Kia orana and thanks so much for a great review. We are all so happy that you enjoyed our Tumunu, food, ambience etc. Hope that you will ocme back one day to our beautiful Cook Islands. Kia manuia The team at Tumunu

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Waterline
849 reviews
.99 km away
Kikau Hut Restaurant
974 reviews
.83 km away
Tuoro Restaurant & Cafe
352 reviews
1.25 km away
The Anchorage Restaurant & Bar
308 reviews
.76 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tik-e Tours
158 reviews
.18 km away
Cook Island Christian Church (CICC)
267 reviews
1.41 km away
Wilson's Beach Bar - Castaway Resort Rarotonga
135 reviews
1.60 km away
Black Rock Beach
75 reviews
1.38 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
cestrian2004
2 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TAMBA1954 | Property representative |
Monday - Sunday - open from 6.00pm Sunday 10pm close
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 30 - US$ 35
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, Polynesian, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road, Arorangi, Cook Islands
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Cook Islands  >  Southern Cook Islands  >  Rarotonga  >  Arorangi
  • Phone Number: +682 20 501
  • E-mail
Description
A great quirky casual dining experience. Opened since 1979 it still has the same owners and the same name. It is a mix of eclectic and local island decor. The walls feature an array of photos of events, people and things. The ceilings are a collage of various types of posters etc. The Tumunu Garden Restaurant also features the "largest little notebook" on the island. Come visit us! A fun place for children too with a garden and "dancing laser fire flys"
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing