We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kikau Hut Restaurant

) #2 of 10 Restaurants in Arorangi ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ Seafood, ,
Aorangi, Arorangi, Cook Islands
+682 26 860
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good25%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“wontons” (77 reviews)
“banoffee pie” (25 reviews)
“lemon cake” (11 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, New Zealand, Polynesian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Aorangi, Arorangi, Cook Islands
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 260 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

We went as a group of four, we started with garlic bread, a bit ordinary, more butter than garlic, then the dishes ordered were the curry $26, it was recommended and a great choice it was, if you like curry this is a goodie. Then...More

Thank Sandraleelovering
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

Hi Sandra and thank you so much for the positive comments on the dishes you had, the level of service and your overall assessment of what we have to offer. With guests like you and your group, it makes this business worthwhile. See you again...More

Reviewed 21 February 2016

We visited the Kikau hut twice during our stay and both times the service and food was perfect. The menu was one of the best on the island and the quality of the meals were outstanding. We loved the curry, calamari and pasta dishes. The...More

Thank Bal0ne
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

We really appreciate your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. This island and its people are lovely and I am glad the Hut was able to add to your positive experiences here. Come back soon !! Regards Gordon

Reviewed 21 February 2016

Gordon the owner of Kiku-Hut will pick you up & drive you home, a great guy he is. The restaurant is not beachfront ,however It is very cosy & welcoming. The food was typical of the rest of the Island, so nothing new here.It was...More

Thank Brian L
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

Thank you for those positive comments Brian - as I may have explained, the pick up and drop off is to let our customers have a glass (or two) of wine and not have to worry about being DUI, or being nervous at driving at...More

Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner Kevin who is a genuine nice guy. Very friendly. Even offered us to move to a cooler location under fan. We ordered the Steak and Kikau Special Chicken. The food was wonderful. Real taste of home back...More

Thank Sammy I
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Thank you for your review - unfortunately we cannot claim the prize as we purchased the Hut after your visit. Our goal is however to maintain the excellent standards set by Kevin and Cathy and we hope you visit us again and are equally pleased...More

Reviewed 8 February 2016

We were lucky to pick this restaurant for our first evening meal on the Island. We walked there through the cool driving rain of Cyclone Victor and were given a large warm welcome from Gordon , the owner. The food and atmosphere of the restaurant...More

2  Thank JBH44
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Hi Bruce and Edith - what a pleasure it was to have you with us and we are hoping you will keep that promise and be back next year. Renovations are finished for now but there are more planned for the next break - the...More

Reviewed 4 February 2016

I recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the island. The food is superb, the service fantastic and if you go on a Monday night, the music just adds to the experience. Booking is essential as this restaurant is hugely popular, not only with tourists but...More

Thank Stacey G
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Thanks Stacey and we are pleased you had a good time. Mondays are a bit special as our duo are terrific singers and musicians. Thanks also for the comments on the food and service - I do take these reviews back to the staff and...More

Reviewed 4 February 2016

Very friendly owners (I believe it has since changed hands). The food was fantastic, service was attentive without being intrusive and did I mention the chocolate and banana deep fried wontons...what a dessert! I went to the Kikau Hut twice in one week just for...More

Thank Andrew W
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Thanks for the great comments Andrew and we look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Raro. Regards Gordon

Reviewed 30 January 2016

The owners came and picked us up from our resort and were very friendly. The food was great, we ate with another couple from our resort. Service was great, and the staff were very friendly. I had a seafood platter and it was amazing! I...More

Thank Samantha A
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Hi Sam and it was a pleasure having you with us. One of the reasons for our pick up and drop off service is to let you have a few drinks without worrying about the drink driving issues and of course to make sure you...More

Reviewed 28 January 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed dinner at Kikau Hut and would have returned but they were closing the next day for refurbishments. The camembert entrée is superb. I had it last year when we dined there, and will do so again. The desserts are homemade and superb!...More

Thank Julie C
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Thank you Julie and we are pleased you enjoyed the evening. Our mini re-furb and clean up is complete and we are back open from 8 February right through the year. We look forward to seeing you again one day soon we hope. Regards Gordon

Reviewed 27 January 2016

It was late in the evening and a slow time of year for tourism. We walked from our resort to the restaurant. While therestaraunt only had four tables with guests were were told we needed a reservation but could be seated outside which was our...More

Thank ErricRoss
Browny57, Owner at Kikau Hut Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

Sorry to hear of your disappointing experience Erric, I can assure you we do not give preferential treatment to those buying alcohol. Similarly we aim to treat all our guests in the same way and we do encourage our staff to make sure everyone is...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Anchorage Restaurant & Bar
288 reviews
.11 km away
Tuoro Restaurant & Cafe
326 reviews
.42 km away
Oceans Restaurant & Bar
254 reviews
1.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tik-e Tours
130 reviews
.96 km away
Cook Island Christian Church (CICC)
255 reviews
2.14 km away
Punanga Nui
304 reviews
4.53 km away
Wilson's Beach Bar - Castaway Resort Rarotonga
124 reviews
2.36 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
khammy82
8 July 2015|
Answer
Response from anniealden s | Property representative |
Yes we do take wedding bookings our email address is kikauhut @ oyster . ck Kia manuia and we look forward to hearing from you
0
Votes
r10th
20 March 2015|
Answer
Response from anniealden s | Property representative |
Hi there - on Monday nights we have Tani & Rose known as Island Groove playing from 7pm. cheers and regards
-1
Votes

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Arorangi

Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 20 - US$ 50
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Aorangi, Arorangi, Cook Islands
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Cook Islands  >  Southern Cook Islands  >  Rarotonga  >  Arorangi
  • Phone Number: +682 26 860
  • E-mail
Description
A small intimate restaurant. The relaxed atmosphere, local art, beautiful gardens combined with excellent service give it a special ambiance for all diners. European food with island flair, Coeliac Friendly, gluten free and vegetarian options along with a children's menu and free transfers by arrangement make Kikau Hut special. We are wheelchair accessible also.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing