We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bishops

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bishops Cottage Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RQ, England
+44 1929 400552
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 176: English reviews
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Arrived at 20:30pm to the restaurant with a couple dining (must I add it was a Sataurday) ! Ordered our starters and main! I ordered a creamy mushroom starter, my sister; a crab starter and my aunty; a grilled vegetable goats cheese salad starter!! The worst starter I have encountered ! Seemed to me everything on our plate was shop... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Sabi786
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

We are truly sorry you had such a bad experience. The stand in chef had a very bad evening. We should have closed the restaurant early. Any other day the main executive chef would have given you a delightful dining experience. If you want to come again, please refer to this review and we will will feed you a complimentary... More 

Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2015

Lovely atmosphere inside and magnificent view by the pool, overlooking the golf. They have the best scones in UK and the hotel is beautiful and romantic.

Helpful?
Thank EmmaCriveanu
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review More 

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2015

I booked this hotel for it's Location. It was supposed to be 4 stars and a "Boutique" Bed and Breakfast Establishment. It was neither - it was very dirty, the towels and bathrobes looked like they could do with a good wash and there were dead flies all over also in the Restaurant. The staff were helpful enough but seemed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Berliner119
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

I do not recognise who has made this review which contains so many comments which are simply not correct. We take a deposit on all room bookings of one night's cost with the balance becoming payable on check-out. We would never take the full amount up front - this may have been a language misunderstanding as I see the reviewer... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

We had dinner here whilst on a short break in Lulworth. The fillet of beef was fantastic, however the waitress was quite possibly the rudest I have ever witnessed. We were such an inconvenience to her evening and it left an 'atmosphere' which made us rush our food and get out of there quickly...

Helpful?
1 Thank taylorsuk
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

I don't know which waitress could have brought such comments from you. We have not had any similar reports, indeed our service is usually compliments. Please accept apologies, I can only say she must have had a bad evening, but was not aware. So please the food was of good standard. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2015

We visited twice (consectutive days) for cream Dorset applecake and coffe and scones Really good coffee and beautiful scones and cake.

Helpful?
Thank Tony L
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

So glad to get your review especially after yesterday's. Thank you More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

I would not visit this hotel again, we were visiting Lulworth Cove on holiday and when we saw the sign for Cream Teas we entered. We asked to have them served in the garden - the seat cushions were wet and the garden full of rubbish and swimming pool chemical tubs. When the cream tea arrived the tea was cold... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank chappy16
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

This sounds unlike our unusual service and performance. I do not remember the day or the instance but it sounds as if it had been raining and maybe windy when stuff can get blown around a bit by the coast. I note the writer said that they asked for their cream teas in the garden by the pool. We specifically... More 

Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2015

My wife & I spent the last week at Lulworth Cove & passed Bishops most days so couldn't help ourselves from admiring their menu. Whilst the reviews on Tripadviser were mixed, we read with interest how well the new chef was rated. And after an outstanding meal on Wednesday night, we can confirm that Bishops should be at the top... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank James W
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

A well pleased international diner is a compliment. Thank you. This year we have put a lot of effort into the dining experience, so it is good to see it is paying off More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2015

Exceptionally good food - everything from wonderful beef to imaginative seafood. By far the best place to eat at Lulworth Cove, and for such high quality meals, not too expensive.

Helpful?
Thank EFarrington
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

Thank you. Our new chef is getting rave reviews. More 

dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2015

Recently acquired a new chef who has proved to be a great asset. Having eaten here previously when it was rather disappointing I can only say now it is really good. Recommended

Helpful?
2 Thank DorsetIzzy
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

Thank you More 

Beaulieu, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2015

We only had time for tea but the staff at Bishops were very welcoming and relaxed. Just what we needed at 17:00 on a Sunday afternoon. The cream tea was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank TBigazzi
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your cream tea More 

Travellers who viewed Bishops also viewed

 
West Lulworth, Dorset
 
West Lulworth, Dorset
West Lulworth, Dorset
 

Been to Bishops? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 24 - US$ 40
Cuisine
Seafood, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Highchairs Available, Full Bar
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bishops Cottage Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  West Lulworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1929 400552
Description
Bishops is a large detached building on the beach at Lulworth cove. It has a large garden and swimming pool overlooking the Cove. It has three suites, a bar and a 30 seater dining room.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bishops and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Swansea, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bishops staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?