We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown Inn

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Ringwood Road, Bransgore, New Forest BH23 8AA, England
01425672279
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 320: English reviews
Newport Gwent
Level Contributor
144 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and i visited a few weeks ago whilst on holiday. We found Ben the manager Sophie and Sam the waitresses sooooo friendly. I phoned before we arrived and asked why i should eat at The Crown and Ben gave me a few reasons why and they were all spot on. We had 2 different cuts of beef to... More 

Helpful?
Thank MelvinNewportGwent
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I had lunch at this pub. There was a notice apologising for the heating which had broken down, however there was a good fire in the lounge which made the room acceptable. We ordered a starter and main course. The starters were good but my wife's steak pie was returned and exchanged for scampi as the beef... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raglan
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Hi Raglan. I'm sorry that you left disappointed on your recent visit. I hope your wife enjoyed her replacement meal. This is not our normal standard and I hope you try us again to restore your faith in us. If you have further concerns,please call me on 01425 672279 kind regards Ben Stothard General manager More 

pyecombe,brighton
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have always had a great time at this place...the food is always tasty and served at just the right times.i have to say I ordered a starter yesterday and then couldn't finish my main !!!!! So we took it home and now making a vegetable soup with our leftovers !!!!! The staff are always friendly and always seem to... More 

Helpful?
Thank hairystephen
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thank you hairystephen for your lovely review. I will look forward to trying your soup! Hope to see you soon Kind regards Ben Stothard General manager More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Run by very nice people who gave the most in service, but you can tell there is no chef, what a shame, a pub who has a good reputation ruined by very poor food and I do mean very poor, this is the second visit recently.

Helpful?
Thank markashford1000
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

thank you for your review. We do have a chef and I'm sorry to hear you have had a poor meal. Please feel free to call the pub to discuss your complaint in more detail on 01425 672279. Kind regards Ben Stothard General manager More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great meal here for a large family group - a very warm welcome from the staff and a highchair was immediately found for the youngest member of the group. The food was of good portions, well cooked and well presented. We shall definitely return

Helpful?
Thank 810Wanderer12
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for this lovely review. I will share your comments with the rest of the team and we will look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Ben Stothard GM More 

Teguise
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2017

nice atmosphere, lovely food, much better than most , and nice thing is they give you decent portions. the restaurant is comfortable and the staff are extremely helpful. If you want a nice family meal this is a really nice place to go .

Helpful?
Thank Neville B
General Manager A, General Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Neville for a lovely review. We are passionate about making it special for every guest and we are pleased that you can see that. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. kind regards Ben Stothard More 

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful extended family get together here, complete with dog (only allowed in the bar area). The food was excellent with a variety of meals on offer and the menus are changed every couple of months. Not too expensive either.

Helpful?
Thank Lynda A
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

hi Lynda, thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal. we have a new menu on the 20th February with lots more fantastic specials. kind regards Ben Stothard General manager More 

Bournemouth UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Fantastic meal here, The atmosphere and feel off the crown is very nice and the staff were very helpful! Wanted a roast but they had ran out and wait was another hour which is only reason I didn't give a five! We ate steak and burger off the menu amwhich was cooked perfectly!

Helpful?
Thank bazabex
Ben S, General Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. I. Glad you enjoyed your meal. We are getting more and more popular on Sundays so we have up our beef order again for this week so that we don't run out. I hope to see you soon Kind regards Ben Stothard General manager More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2017

We visited the Crown Inn at Bransgore for the first time this past weekend. We have visited several Vintage Inns and knew that we would be eating in a quality establishment. We were greeted by warm, friendly staff who were efficient and hard at work on a busy Sunday lunchtime. They were courteous and professional without being either over familiar... More 

Helpful?
Thank Douglas S
Ben S, General Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm glad that we have upheld vintage inns good reputation. I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the team. I hope to see you soon Kind regards Ben Stothard General manager More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2017

We remember the Crown of a few years ago when it was heaving on a Friday night. Tonight it was barely half-full and some sections were totally empty. Zero atmosphere. I'm a vegetarian who eats the odd piece of fish. The menu offers very little for fish lovers (and the cod was off the menu tonight which only leaves you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank amygrape
Ben S, General Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your feedback. I'd like to discuss your recent visit on the telephone. This isn't our normal standard and I would like to get to the bottom of what went wrong. Our number is 01425672279. Kind regards Ben Stothard General manager More 

Travellers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

 
West Parley, Dorset
Sopley, Hampshire
 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ringwood Road, Bransgore, New Forest BH23 8AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest  >  Bransgore
  • Phone Number: 01425672279
Description
The Crown in Bransgore is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?