We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Loaf

Victoria House The Common | Victoria House, Crich, England
+44 1773 857074
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good18%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bread” (84 reviews)
“cakes” (34 reviews)
“salad” (19 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Deli, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Victoria House The Common | Victoria House, Crich, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A lovely restaurant I go there for breakfast also artisan bakery all kinds of delicious bread and cakes

Thank TonyHarper
Reviewed 1 week ago

We've been to the Loaf for the greatest English Breakfast ever as well as their Weds. night Pizza Night. Fun place to watch local village life pass by. The people who work there are wonderful and its a great place to meet the charming local...More

Thank koolbill
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

A really good cafe according to club members and it felt like one too, but today I feel they were having an off day. We don't like to hang around too long on our ride but the stop was at least 40 mins. As we...More

Thank teepeeDerbyshire
Andrew A, Owner at The Loaf, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi and thank you for taking the time to write this feedback. It does indeed sound like we weren't on best form when you visited and I am glad you acknowledge that occasionally that can happen. Our normal service is to bring cakes out with...More

Reviewed 30 August 2018

People had been telling me what a great place this was. I was underwhelmed by the experience. The food was a little strange, and confusing, my butter looked like it had melted and been chilled again, it didn't taste nice and it was grainy, and...More

Thank DarkHorse11
Andrew A, Owner at The Loaf, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We are sorry you didn't enjoy it. Butter is a bit of a recurring theme at the moment on here which is odd as we haven't had negative feedback about it before. Firstly,...More

Reviewed 24 August 2018

Been here a few times for lunch and always enjoyed their home produced food and amazing breads. Friendly staff. Off the beaten track in this delightful village.

Thank HLsss
Andrew A, Owner at The Loaf, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoy your visits.

Reviewed 24 August 2018

Nice cafe with a good range of food in the lovely village of Crich. Cakes are exceptional, but their specialty is their bread which is baked in the attached bakery. (They run courses here too) Can be busy at times, and it's not always possible...More

Thank Karl R
Andrew A, Owner at The Loaf, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Very happy to hear you enjoy your visits.

Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

We arrived and had no problem getting a table. Our order was taken prompt and drinks arrived. When the food arrived it started to go down hill. The ham was nice in the ham cob but the small side salad wasn’t very nice. The quiche...More

Thank SDJJSK
Andrew A, Owner at The Loaf, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit and experienced poor customer service. We do pride ourselves on our food...all of our salads are made from scratch on the premises and we try...More

Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

Love pizza nights, beautiful fresh, hot and tasty baked pizza, great staff and flexibility to cope with strange dietary requirements too. Thanks again!!!

Thank thetwoalis
Andrew A, Owner at The Loaf, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thanks Alis! Always good to be making an order for you.

Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

We are so lucky to have the loaf so close. Just had another great meal there, at the Wednesday pizza night. Great food, cooked just how you want, great service.

Thank mike_blakeuk
Andrew A, Owner at The Loaf, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you Mike. We enjoy having you in!

Reviewed 4 July 2018

Called in here on the way to the Tramway Village to buy some food to take away. They do filled rolls and I opted for ham & salad (£4). They make them to order, but prepare them round the back so you can't see the...More

Thank 989pezza
Andrew A, Owner at The Loaf, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Hello and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit. The only thing I can suggest is that you visit Bakewell if you are wanting to try Bakewell Tart. We don't make Bakewell Tart,...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Travelodge Alfreton
329 reviews
5.63 km away
Alison House Hotel
428 reviews
5.93 km away
Premier Inn Ripley Hotel
764 reviews
6.17 km away
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
252 reviews
6.21 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Jeera
150 reviews
.06 km away
Cliff Inn
122 reviews
.87 km away
The Old Black Swan
71 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Crich Tramway Village
1,966 reviews
.80 km away
Sherwood Foresters Regiment Memorial
76 reviews
.98 km away
The White Hart Inn
46 reviews
2.22 km away
Wingfield Manor
14 reviews
2.76 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
sdmmmtc2016
29 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Andrew A | Property representative |
Yes, point noted and have passed it on. Thanks!
1
Vote
Roger M
14 March 2015|
Answer
Response from Andrew A | Property representative |
Hi there. Yes we are open and serving breakfast until 12noon. We don't take reservations as the crowds ebb and flow quite quickly. We look forward to seeing you tomorrow. Best. Andrew.
0
Votes
nutellaLondon
12 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Andrew A | Property representative |
Hello. Though I didn't answer at the time on Tripadvisor, we did get straight back to you and were indeed able to sort cakes out for your friend's birthday. We hope she enjoyed them!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 3 - US$ 22
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Victoria House The Common | Victoria House, Crich, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Crich
  • Phone Number: +44 1773 857074
  • E-mail
Description
We are a busy and vibrant artisan bakery, delicatessen and café in Crich and now also in Matlock, Derbyshire.We sell a wide range of specialist bakery products, home made café food and deli-style groceries. We make bread, cakes, pizzas, pies, quiches, salads, hot and cold snacks, soups and a whole load more deliciously irresistible, top-quality goodies. Most of what we serve is made from scratch and contains no additives or preservatives.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing