We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Salt

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
European, Contemporary, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
134 West Coast Dr, Sorrento, Joondalup, Western Australia 6020, Australia
+61 8 9246 9221
Website
Today
08:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 17:00 - 22:00
Tue - Sun 08:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

341 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 341: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2017

White Salt has been around for ages, and some of my previous experiences were bad, so I'm really pleased that things have improved markedly. Breakfast is great, all the usual suspects, cooked well delivered hot, and with a few fruity options that are fresh and tasty. Price is reasonable. And I like their coffee, good flavour and delivered at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank RonVW14
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments Ron, we agree our coffee and breakies are great! Tim and Claire Leech Proprietors More 

Gold Coast, Queensland
Level Contributor
314 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2017

This is a small but pleasant restaurant on the coast road. The interior is a bit plain but all the same comfortable. Ordering from an ordinary menu was no problem with drinks delivered promptly. All freshly prepared so a bit of a delay was no surprise. Mussels particularly good and the burger was tasty. No problems - just needs a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bennlew
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks you for the feedback which we appreciate very much and have taken in the constructive manner it was written. Glad that you enjoyed everything. We agree our building is a little old and tired but unfortunately our site is up for redevelopment in a couple of years and as a small business we have limited funds to fully refurbish... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2017

There are very many tables - some inside and some on the patio, but the kitchen must be small, as the service is rather slow.

Helpful?
Thank Normanjp
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks for your review!. Tim and Claire Leech proprietors More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

First time visit for us. Nice venue with a nice friendly waitress. Found the menu a bit limited especially the starters. Wine wise still find hard to swallow a bottle of wine we pay $13.00 Is $40 on the list. I don't mind paying top notch for good food but when the only main meal that attracted 3 out of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff L
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, a little confused as we have at least 20 shares and entrees which can all be taken as a starter and we pride ourselves on our 10 main course selection which offers a selection of meat, fish, salads and vegetarian dishes? In regards to the affogato, please note that you chose the White Salt affogato from... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

We popped into White Salt for a spot of dinner. If I'm honest the food was lovely, but the service was lacking. It wasn't that the service was poor more like there wasn't enough staff to go around. Nice enough place, we will probably go back again if we are that side of town.

Helpful?
Thank Emma B
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks Emma and we are glad that you had a lovely dinner. So we can follow up on your comments re service, could you contact us to advise when you dined, really hard for us to follow up with our team of young people if we don't have a date? We do take all comments constructively and appreciate your feedback.... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

A large table of us went before Xmas and it was a beautiful lunch. Just one thing I found odd. The menus were faded photocopied bits of paper on the table! It's not a cheap restaurant but this was a bit tacky. Great food though.

Helpful?
Thank margy2609
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments we are so glad that you enjoyed your Christmas function with us. Kind Regards Tim and Claire Leech Proprietors More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2017

On the night we went to this restaurant we had the Seafood Platter, it was very tasty and beautifully cooked it is a bit pricey. Service was alright, once they take your order it’s hard to get someone’s attention. We found the table was very small, by the time you have a bottle of water, glass & wine glass there... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnoT
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we agree our seafood platter is great! Just a note in regards to the pricing, after having researched we believe we are in fact the best value seafood platter along the coast as we believe that the seafood and shellfish should be fresh and not all fried! Once again, thanks for your comments, we will be... More 

Oxenford, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2017

The place looks great but I was unable to eat here unless I ate in but I wanted takeaway as I was tired from working. I wanted takeaway but as it was Valentines day they were not doing takeaway that day so I had to go next door to get takeaway :-(

Helpful?
Thank Tami R
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Hello Tami, what a comment!! We are not a takeaway, we do not do takeaway with the exception of pizza and coffee. On Valentines Day we did not offer this service being one of the busiest nights of the year!! Sorry! Tim and Claire Leech Proprietors More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Decided to finally come for dinner to white salt . Having read the reviews we decided that we would make up our own minds about the food and service. It a really nice spot with ocean views . We had a table near the window , that was nice . We ordered garlic bread for starter , was very oily... More 

Helpful?
Thank arwenb1
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback, If we could just comment, the Garlic bread has NO oil at all, purely garlic butter. There is no lavender in the coleslaw as we do not have it on site so not sure ? Apologies that you did not enjoy the chicken, apologies if the flavour was not strong enough. We don't look... More 

Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Went here for dinner with family. The oysters were yummy,the pork sliders superb, pork fibs that fell off the bone and pizza mouth watering. The staff were friendly very efficient

Helpful?
Thank Wally H
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thank you Wally, we are glad that you enjoyed everything. Tim and Claire Leech Proprietors More 

Travellers who viewed White Salt also viewed

Sorrento, Joondalup
Hillarys, Joondalup
 

Been to White Salt? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 11 - US$ 31
Cuisine
European, Contemporary, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:00
Monday
17:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 22:00
Friday
08:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 134 West Coast Dr, Sorrento, Joondalup, Western Australia 6020, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Western Australia  >  Greater Perth  >  Joondalup  >  Sorrento
  • Phone Number: +61 8 9246 9221
Description
Situated overlooking the clear blue waters of the Indian Ocean, White Salt has been pleasing its diners since opening in 2005 and is now established as one of the premier dining venues along the beautiful coast.Be it coffee, cake, lunch, dinner ,breakfast or just a drink we welcome everyone to our cafe and bar. Why not pop in for a drink whilst watching the sunset over the ocean. We also cater for functions and are the ideal wedding venue, intimate and on the beach

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from White Salt staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?