We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bettle and Chisel Inn

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
114 High Street, Delabole PL33 9AQ, England
+44 1840 211402
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 147: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Stopped at this pub for a quick snack. Very friendly but the beer wasn't good. Real ale should not be chilled. Interestingly I chose it because it had a caskmarque award. First time I've been disappointed in one of those. My wife ordered orange juice and soda but got orange squash. Had the soup. Took an age to arrive even... More 

Helpful?
Thank e89gh
Sherry C, Owner at Bettle and Chisel Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy yourself at our establishment. Our cellar is a constant 10 degree and the real ales are stored in there so I am not sure why the temperature would very that much. I do wish you had pointed out that the orange drink was incorrect as this could of been corrected. I am also... More 

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Great value for money ,good choice of light snacks ,very clean and friendly place to visit good selection of beers a proper pub

Helpful?
Thank David A
Sherry C, Owner at Bettle and Chisel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you David, We hope to see you soon. Sherry More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Very friendly welcome - and tasty food. Varied menu - all reasonably priced. Parking at back. Dog friendly pub.

Helpful?
Thank Comosomo1
Sherry C, Owner at Bettle and Chisel Inn, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Couldn't find a pub serving food around boscastle after 3pm on a Sunday so on the advice of TripAdvisor we ventured a bit further to the Bettle and chisel ....we were not disappointed. We had a warm friendly welcome in a local pub. We were starving so all was quiet when our food arrived ....the farmers pie was to die... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suztracey
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Nothing fancy but nice local pub with good tasty food and lovely service. This is not foodie destination but provided great mosh after long drive. Good prices and beer as well.

Helpful?
Thank swatchfield10
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We decided to stop at this pub as we were passing through Delabole as they were advertising 2 steaks for £20. We had four steaks which was served by a pleasant young man The steaks were ok but there were very small amounts of vegetables to go with it I am afraid we were not over enthusiastic about the meal

Helpful?
Thank JeffJen39
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2017

The member of staff was friendly but we have never paid so much for such a small portion of soup. We asked for another helping as the first was so small and the request was granted. The soup was tasty but the ceramic bowls were very thick and shallow compared with your average bowl. It was served with focaccia which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Sad to say we are not as impressed as eight months ago. The menu seems depleted and the food not as good as our last visit. Not the same proper pub grub as before. Skinny fries with steak, skinny fries with fish, no choice of chips, no specials board ,as I said a depleted menu. The beer, staff and atmosphere... More 

Helpful?
Thank terryallan104
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Returned to this little gem new menu and great food portions just right and prices good to fantastic return and will be back again and again thankyou to all the staff and new chef thanks again.

Helpful?
Thank gay e
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Overall a good meal at a reasonable price. Service quick and accurate. Good range of starters and mains - all the usual pub staples.

Helpful?
Thank 244sarahj561
Sherry C, Owner at Bettle and Chisel Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review my business. Hope we had all you wanted on our menu's. Sherry More 

Travellers who viewed Bettle and Chisel Inn also viewed

 
Saint Teath, Bodmin
Camelford, Cornwall
 

Been to Bettle and Chisel Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 114 High Street, Delabole PL33 9AQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Delabole
  • Phone Number: +44 1840 211402

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bettle and Chisel Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Swindon, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Swindon, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bettle and Chisel Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?