We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Abbey Cottage

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
26 Main Street | New Abbey, New Abbey DG2 8BY, Scotland
+44 1387 850377
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 168: English reviews
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stopped off here on a number of occasions recently on the way to the beach and am never disappointed . Great food great prices and friendly staff .

Helpful?
Thank rachael b
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this review

Hi there Rachael, Lovely to hear from you, and glad to hear that you enjoy your visits to Abbey Cottage on your way to the shore. Maybe we'll get some warmer weather soon for your beach trips! Lesley More 

UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

On the Solway coast tea rooms are few and far between - we have been coming here now for many years. Service is always good and the range of cakes would tempt most people!

Helpful?
Thank sharpedgecumbria
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this review

Hello, and many thanks for taking the time to post your review. It's lovely to hear from our 'regulars'. Hopefully we'll get some warmer weather soon for visiting the coast! Lesley More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here today for lunch, I ordered soup and a sandwich. I ordered lentil soup and a chicken sandwich, is the first time I've had lentil soup with other veg in it. Totally took the taste away. For the price, I thought the presentation was basic and poor!

Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this review

Oh dear, Andrew, that makes 2 of us that are disappointed! If only you'd said something at the time, then we might just have been able to help you out. As you know, we provide table service, and I'm pretty confident that the person who served you your soup and sandwich would have asked you if everything was OK. I... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice but unfortunately very expensive for the the quality and quantity of the food. This establishment is defiantly cashing in on the tourist trade. Ice cream was an eye watering £4.00 for to scoops of local ice cream. It is a very pleasant cafe staff friendly but they could improve their food for the price they are charging.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this review

We serve Cream o'Galloway luxury organic ice cream. As you state, this is £4, for 2 scoops, served in a dish at your table. As well as the table service, this price includes VAT at 20%, which we have no option about charging. A takeaway tub is also available at £1.60. More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been here before and the food was great. Decided to stop off again and grab a wee bite. The place was busy, but the service was fine, and the cafe cosy. Ordered soup and bread, unfortunately, the bread tasted stale, (possibly frozen bread that had been defrosted) and whilst the soup was very tasty, it was watery.

Helpful?
Thank Neatephotography
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for your review. I'm sorry that didn't mention your concerns to the member of staff who served you - if something isn't right, we'd much rather know about it at the time and have the opportunity to put things right. Also, as you don't mention when it was that you visited, there is very little for... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here for lunch today with my mum, we both had wraps one chilli chicken and other smoked chicken with side salad and coleslaw ... they were delicious and the salad was lovely and fresh! We then had peppermint crunch tray cake... yummy!!! Will certainly be back and highly recommend it to anyone that stops here.

Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your reivew. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We use only use British Chicken, and for the Chilli Wrap, this is cooked for us by Houstons in Dumfries. The Smoked Chicken is prepared by Galloway Smokehouse. The Peppermint Crunch is one of our favourites too! Look forward... More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from having afternoon tea was excellent and the staff were very helpful would recommend this place will defo be back

Helpful?
Thank jintyf13
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your review - we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us. Look forward to seeing you again. More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We have enjoyed several Easter holidays in New Abbey and our first treat is always a visit to Abbey Cottage. We are returning this year for more delicious treats in your lovely tea room,

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne D
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this review

Hello Yvonne, We're busy getting ourselves organised for opening up again this week, on the 15th Feb, and it was lovely to come across your review as I was checking things out online. Delighted to hear that you enjoy coming to New Abbey, and we look forward to welcoming you again in April. More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

I was impressed to get fresh local produce, cooked to perfection and great choice too, as I require gluten free food. It was so lovely to be offered savoury instead of just CAKE, which I don't eat anyway. Also at sensible prices too. The staff were truly nice and friendly. It was a lovely visit on a cold November day.

Helpful?
Thank Crystal94
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed our menu, and our gluten free choices. Within the kitchen team we have direct experience of various food intolerances, including coeliac and lactose intolerance, so we really do know how challenging it can be to eat out. We're also acutely aware... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2016

The cottage shop and restaurant/tea room is right next to Sweetheart Abbey and the car park. Small gift shop with a stock of good quality items at the front. The tea room/resturaunt is to the rear. The food and service are excellent and the staff are welcoming. I really liked it there. Individual, not a chain.

Helpful?
Thank 119Janette
Lesley M, Manager at Abbey Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review - I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to Abbey Cottage. As you say, we're not a chain, but a family owned business and most our team live very locally. We started making soup, baking cakes and serving teas and coffees more than 30 years ago, and the property itself has... More 

Travellers who viewed Abbey Cottage also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
New Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Sandyhills, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Abbey Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 4 - US$ 19
Cuisine
British, Soups, Scottish, Cafe, Vegan Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 17:00
Monday
10:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 17:00
Thursday
10:00 - 17:00
Friday
10:00 - 17:00
Saturday
10:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 26 Main Street | New Abbey, New Abbey DG2 8BY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  New Abbey
  • Phone Number: +44 1387 850377
Description
Abbey Cottage is a family owned and run tearoom, and we celebrated 30 years in business in 2013.
We offer coffees, light lunches and afternoon teas, sourcing ingredients locally, and even growing some ourselves. We have a good understanding of dietary issues and can offer gluten and lactose free menu options.
New Abbey is a very historic village, with a traditional working Corn Mill, and the beautiful ruins of Sweetheart Abbey. It's also a great place for walking, with several circular routes and the more challenging walk up Criffel.
The pretty village is on the road to the Solway Coast, popular with cyclists and motor cyclists.
Abbey Cottage is situated right next to Sweetheart Abbey - see our photos for views. The public car car park is very close.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Abbey Cottage staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?