We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Hollow Bottom

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
+44 1451 850392
Website
Today
09:00 - 23:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 328: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a meal here whilst staying for a few days nearby, the food was excellent and the atmosphere friendly, the wood burner was welcoming on a cold winter night.

Helpful?
Thank DAVID M
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you David for taking the time to leave a review. We hope to see you again sometime soon. Hugh More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is my first trip advisor review but it had to be done we visited on a Sunday from a recommendation from a friend and the experience was just amazing from the warm welcome of the staff (Holly?) the beautiful decor and setting and a great selection of real ales and an impressive wine list followed by the BEST roast... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sundayroasthunter
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Wow, thank you so much Tim & family for hunting us down! A big thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We love that you had such a great lunch with us here at The Hollow. Andy Cole is fantastic and we love having him here, we are even more delighted that you got the... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A brilliant Burn's night was had by all of us. Food was great-thank you, Charlie, and all the traditional elements of piper, haggis, readings,singing etc all much appreciated and well organised- thank you Hugh. If you'll have us back you can book us in for next year.

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna K
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you Donna, it is always a pleasure to have you all. We are delighted that you all enjoyed burns night and can't wait to have you back! Hugh. More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017

This place was great. The pub itself is your typical country pub, with an open fire and great people. My family came here after a long walk and managed to get a table in the pub area after a short wait. The guy who saw to us (who i believe is the co-owner) was one of the most friendly and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you Peter for taking the time to leave this wonderful review! We are delighted that you and your family had the chance to stop by and enjoy the delicious food and service. Thank you very much for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you all back sometime soon! Hugh. More 

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

We used to visit this place for years just for its amazing legendary roast on a Sunday. Roast is still good, but not as good as 4-5 years ago, before the renovation. It was a carvery then, a lot simpler in service, but extraordinary quality of the meats. Especially the pork! We came on a Sunday, hoping to get the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank J K
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

A bizzare review which I must admit has us all scratching our heads. Not one word of complaint on the evening and then this. The adjectives used have to be grossly exaggerated and are so out of place that I have to question the validity. Hugh. More 

Dorchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff, delicious food and beautiful rooms, reasonably priced. Great find ...lucky us. Highly recommended ❤❤❤❤❤

Helpful?
3 Thank Gary D
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much Gary for such a positive review of our 'warm comforting oasis'. Was a pleasure to have you all and we look forward to seeing you again. Hugh More 

Crowthorn
Level Contributor
138 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

The service is fantastic! Plenty of staff and all very knowledgeable about the food on the menu. We were a party of six for lunch. Nothing was too much trouble. We all loved the food. Basic, good quality, well cooked food. Delicious! We will come again. Don't miss it if you're in the area.

Helpful?
3 Thank Allison H
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thanks Allison! We are delighted that you and your party of six enjoyed your lunch with us here at The Hollow. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to your return. Hugh More 

Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely food, great service & exactly what was needed on a wet & windy New Years Day. The pub has some wonderful memorabilia on the walls linked to Horse Racing and could see the attachment to horses from the screens showing the Cheltenham races. Would highly recommend- lovely menu and great service from all the staff. Will be recommending to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jennys121
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you Jenny for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your experience here with us at The Hollow on New Years Day. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to catch you again soon. Hugh More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Went to the Hollow Bottom with a group from work for a Christmas meal. The menu sounded excellent and we weren't disappointed. The Brie starter was really delicious with plenty of cranberry sauce. The turkey main was huge, difficult to finish to be honest, but everything on the plate was really well cooked and very tasty. The Christmas pudding was... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank chowso
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Happy New Year and thank you for such a lovely review! We are delighted to hear that you and your work group enjoyed our festive menu over the Christmas period. It is wonderful to hear such great feed back.We hope you had a lovely christmas and look forward to your return. Hugh More 

Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

As a family we have met here for the past couple of years. This year you couldn't fault it for service, for atmosphere and for tasty beautifully presented food. About 17 of us met up & all the food came together all hot and delicious. Decent bill as you can imagine but not excessive. Fair price to be honest. The... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Andy F
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you very much Andy for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you and your family had such a great experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the New Year! Hugh More 

Travellers who viewed The Hollow Bottom also viewed

Kineton, Cheltenham
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 24
Cuisine
International, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:30
Thursday
09:00 - 23:30
Friday
09:00 - 23:30
Saturday
09:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Cheltenham  >  Guiting Power
  • Phone Number: +44 1451 850392
Description
Award winning freshly cooked a la carte Menu. Well kept Real Ales. Substantial Wine list. Warm & friendly Service. Relaxed Dining. Log Fire. Stunning outdoor heated area.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Hollow Bottom and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Coventry, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Hollow Bottom staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?