We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Black Ginger

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
116 Moo 1 | The Slate Phuket, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Name/address in local language
+66 76 327 006
Website
Today
18:30 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 18:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 249: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Went as part of holiday for wife's birthday. It is all about the setting and the drama, and the atmosphere it creates. Wife loved it. The Thai food is also very good and well worth the effort. Wine is very expensive as is anywhere in Thailand. Go for the occasion and soak it all in.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Thank you for your review and choosing Black Ginger for your wife's birthday. We are very much happy that all went well and that we manage to make it up to expectations as we aim. We are looking forward for the next occasions. Warm regards, Yann Hervy Food & Beverage Director More 

London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016

A lovely place to eat.. But could be sign posted clearly to find it as at night time it is quiet dark with a river to cross over to the restaurant where the staff will come over to the other side to meet you.

Helpful?
Thank sylviam542
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear sylviam542, Thank you for visiting Black Ginger. We are glad to read that you had a lovely dinner at The Slate. Best regards, Yann Hervy Food & Beverage Director More 

singapore
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

Lovely Thai food in a wow setting. It's definitely designed for impact with the flaming torches, the punt ride across the lagoon and the opulent darkness of the restaurant itself. Interestingly it was the cheapest of the 3 resort restaurants for us. If you didn't opt for the wagyu beef, the local Thai dishes were very reasonably priced but of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan W
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear Jan, Once again thank you. We are glad you found Black Ginger to enjoy sumptuous Thai dishes (ref. Tin Mine review). Your comment is very much appreciated and the entire team would like to thank you for visiting. Looking forward to welcoming again very soon. Regards, Yann Hervy Food & Beverage Director More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

The decoration is beautiful, very fancy, perfect service and the food is delicious. Expensive experience compared to other restaurants in Thailand but worth every penny.

Helpful?
Thank Estely84
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear Estely84, Thank you for your review. As you mentioned, the decoration is beautiful, very fancy, perfect service and the food is delicious, consequently the experience is not expensive but fair we believe. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again very soon. Kind regards, Yann Hervy Food & Beverage Director More 

Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Dined here once during our week long stay at the slate. We had a very very good experience here. From the wonderful entrance, the staff the food and the wine. Would recommend a night at black ginger. The quality of the food did not blow me away but the overall experience, presentation and the staff made it a great evening.

Helpful?
Thank Callum D
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear Callum, Thank you for staying with us at The Slate. The team was very much happy taking care of you and even more reading the feedback about your experience with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Regards, Yann Hervy Food & Beverage Director More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

A beautiful setting, beautiful ambience and truly wonderful staff; coupled with fantastic food by chef Anne. And you must check out the toilets! They too are beautiful

Helpful?
Thank Brucesrobinson
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear Brucesrobinson, Thank you for posting a review about Black Ginger at The Slate Phuket. We are happy that you enjoyed the setting, the ambiance, the wonderful staff and of course the food. Let us know about your next visit. Regards, Yann Hervy Food & Beverage Director More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

One of a kind place. Food is amazing - flavoursome, modern Thai, and not that expensive. Service is far above hotel average, staff attentive and well informed. Bar staff make great cocktails. Ambiance - plenty of reviews and photos already attached. Highly recommended. We will be back for the high drama interior and exterior coupled with great food.

Helpful?
Thank ania8888
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear ania8888, Thank you! Wow, we have no other words. Just happy to reiterate yours "One of a kind place. Food is amazing - flavoursome, modern Thai, and not that expensive. Service is far above hotel average, staff attentive and well informed. Bar staff make great cocktails.". We are definitely all looking forward to your return. Kind regards, Yann Hervy... More 

Dubai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

The place's novelty of going through the man-made lagoon to reach the restaurant is one thing. The architecture is beautiful in its traditional Thai way. The food is amazing. My cousin even said it's 'beautiful.'

Helpful?
Thank BhennEspina
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear BhennEspina, Thank you for your review about Black Ginger. Not sure how to understand the fact that your cousin said 'beautiful'; however we are all glad you liked it and really hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Yann Hervy Food & Beverage Director More 

Boston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016

As we floated over the water I felt that this is a special place. We came to celebrate our 25. wedding anniversary and as we stepped onto the deck the fiery torches heightened the mystery and the expectation... We chose to eat inside because of the light rain. The dining room is kept dark, illuminated by magnificent jade-colored chandeliers. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank richrome
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear richrome, Thank you for posting a review about Black Ginger at The Slate Phuket. We are pleased by the words you used to describe your evening with us. We are happier to know that you enjoyed every minute from the raft pickup to the last bite. We hope you had a safe journey back to the United States, and... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We had been advised to visit the Black Ginger but our friends wouldn't tell us anything more other than....you must go and you must visit the toilets. Unfortunately I was not feeling well and had to leave my meal barely touched, but my husband stayed and thoroughly enjoyed every moment. We will return before the end of our stay and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denise R
Yann H, Manager at Black Ginger, responded to this review

Dear Denise, Thank you very much for visiting us and please thank your friends for their brilliant recommendation. We are sadden that you could not enjoy Black Ginger as much on the first time due to the fact you did not feel too well but hopefully you did on your second one. Please contact concierge@theslatephuket.com for your future bookings. Warm... More 

Travellers who viewed Black Ginger also viewed

 

Been to Black Ginger? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Asian, Thai, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Wine and Beer
Good for
Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
18:30 - 23:00
Monday
18:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
18:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
18:30 - 23:00
Thursday
18:30 - 23:00
Friday
18:30 - 23:00
Saturday
18:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 116 Moo 1 | The Slate Phuket, Nai Yang, Sakhu, Phuket 83110, Thailand
  • Location: Asia  >  Thailand  >  Phuket  >  Thalang District  >  Sakhu  >  Nai Yang
  • Phone Number: +66 76 327 006
Description
Floating magically on the softly-lit lagoon, the jewel in The Slate's crown. A combination of rare Thai cuisines, Black Ginger has a fusion of flavours to entice your palette along with a unique ambience. Authentic flavours of Phuket in a modern masterpiece of ancient Thai architecture. The menu will stimulate your tongue with authentic Phuket specialities such as its fresh seafood, tender grilled cuts, battered cha-plu, and exhilarating cocktails - all in a distinctive setting of architectural wonder, inventive design and hypnotic surroundings.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Ginger staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?