We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cliffemount Hotel Restaurant

₹₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cliffemount Hotel, Runswick TS13 5HU, England
+44 1947 840103
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 75: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had Sunday lunch with the family. Invited to the help ourselves just as they ran out of everything and we had to wait. As they replenished unfortunately my husband was last and they had no vegetables left and went away to cook at this point his food went cold. What was disappointing is the staff in the bar all... More 

Helpful?
Thank sscottoe54321
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely resturant with fantastic bay view's if you are lucky enough to get a window table or if the weather is good you can eat outside. Staff good hilarious when they forgot the gravy in the little pan with the meat pie couldn't apologise enough for the empty pan on the plate. Restaurant is beautifully decorated with a relaxing atmosphere... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynda A
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We visited today and the place was very quiet but that meant we got all the attention of the staff which was great. Staff were friendly. Our dog was welcomed in the bar area which all looks freshly and tastefully decorated, not your usual pub bar decor. We both had Sunday roast which when served looked great and tasted great... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen-9999
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Helen-9999, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read your comments and I am glad that my team and I were able to make your afternoon's meal enjoyable and memorable. I look forward to your next visit and we are able to show you another great meal and experience. Regards Shane... More 

Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Cliffmount Hotel for New Year's Eve, our first visit. Hotel is located on top of cliff with fabulous views across Runswick Bay. Our room, Topmans, was spacious, very comfortable, warm and spotlessly clean. The staff were very welcoming and extremely friendly. Breakfast was well prepared and plentiful with excellent choice. Ideal location for visiting nearby Sandsend, Whitby... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jacq21
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear jacq21, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Our location and the views over Runswick Bay are a great asset and I am delighted that you enjoyed your new years eve with us. We take great pride in the service and guest care that we offer our visitors and I am delighted that my team... More 

Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Having visited the cliffemount 3 years ago we received an email offering a return visit for half price! Off we went the next day and what a fab time we had. The hotel was very quiet which we loved but the service was first class. The changes they have made in the last year since the takeover certainly work. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank McNiffes
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Mr/s McNiffe, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our quality and service "certainly worked". We are a new team and we take great pride in the guest care and attention to detail we offer all our guests. I look forward to your next visit and... More 

sheffield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We visited some time ago and were less than impressed. After finding out it had been taken over at this time we decided to give it a second chance. I went in to look at the menu and to ask whether they were serving. I walked in an the place was deathly quiet with just myself and another lady at... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank katthechimp
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear katthechimp, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. First and foremost please accept my sincerest apologies for the lack of service and guest care you received on your recent visit. We take great pride in our service and attention to detail, however on this occasion we appear to have failed. We do have a new... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We spent the weekend caravaning in Runswick and visited the pub twice. Drinks after our beach walk. It's a lovely place to have a drink and sit overlooking the bay on a sunny afternoon. Then we returned for tea that evening. Food was really nice and the staff very welcoming and attentive. Would recommend to anyone visiting Runswick Bay.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jobi66
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jobbi66, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read your comments and I will pass these on to my team. We take great pride in the quality and service we offer all our guests, visitors and residents and it is very rewarding to see that our hard work and continuous efforts... More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We had a large family meal in this beautiful location. We were a party of 8 and we had not booked but they were happy to accommodate us. Most of us had roast dinners which were lovely and nothing was too much trouble as we kept adding extras on like extra potatoes.....you can never have too many :) extra boat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jaynie033
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Janie033, Thank you for taking time to write a review on tripadvisor. Our head chef and his team are committed to giving great quality and service and the front of house team will always ensure all our guests and visitors receive excellent care and attention to detail. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal and I look forward... More 

westcountry
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Realised I've posted under hotel instead of restaurant. Lovely fish and chips. Best I've had in a long time. Would highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank kittenWestcountry
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear kittenWestcountry, Thank you again for your review. It does not matter which business outlet you review as we look at both areas of the hotel and the guests comments. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back and show you another great meal. Regards Shane Gray General Manager Cliffemount Hotel More 

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Myself, husband and children stayed at the Cliffemount hotel for the weekend so had a good chance to try the menu... And what joy it was too!! The first night we had a mix my husband had fish and chips which he said and quote "it's the best fish and chips" he's had! I had the steak and chips which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria_Oram
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Maria_Oram, Thank you for taking time to write a review on tripadvisor. I am delighted to read your comments and I will pass on your review to our head chef and my team. We take great pride in our service, our standards and our guest care, it is very rewarding to see that our hard work and commitment to... More 

Travellers who viewed Cliffemount Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Staithes, North York Moors National Park
Runswick, North Yorkshire
 
Staithes, North York Moors National Park
Hinderwell, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Cliffemount Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cliffemount Hotel, Runswick TS13 5HU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Runswick
  • Phone Number: +44 1947 840103

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Cliffemount Hotel Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Harrogate

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cliffemount Hotel Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?