We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bellavista Panorama Restaurant

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
European, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
R43 | Situated between Stanford & Gansbaai, Stanford 7210, South Africa
+27 82 901 7650
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 21: English reviews
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
190 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We have never been disappointed with this restaurant. We had the beef curry while enjoying the spectacular view. The service was excellent and the prices reasonable. Will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Nico558
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you! Better hurry because the famous Traditional Malay Curry is not available all the time as we change the Menu sporadically ;-) Georges More 

England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2016

The restaurant is open for lunch and evening dinners but not well visited. Unfortunately, there are no vegetarian options available, a special request is needed for one and such meals are not a strong point for the chef. Service by the waiter is exemplary - professional and attentive. On a sunny day eating here should be a delight though.

Helpful?
Thank theteacher112
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes we are not very strong for vegetarian dishes. I admit. The reason being that we are out of town - "Country House" - and do not cater for fast are any "standard" food. In other words we do not have lots and lots of guests transiting through the restaurant. All our dishes are à... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

We got here because many other restaurants were full. We were surprised by the view, which is amazing,and by the quality of the food. There are many creative dishes on the menu, which are very well prepared by the chef, who is alone in the kitchen. Fortunately we were the only guests :) it is slightly more expensive than "normal",... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joellevdm
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Being a bit out in the country (8km from Stanford) when we experience wind and, like in the past few days rain, our Panorama Restaurant still has great 180 degree views over the Atlantic but guests prefer to stay in town. Georges More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
215 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

A little strange to be the only party in the restaurant in the middle of nowhere. However, the place has a wonderful view for watching the sunset. Come early and enjoy a swim in the pool. The food is decent.

Helpful?
Thank ChristianFrantz
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

Ha, "nowhere" is good and a new definition of our location ;-) I wonder how you even found us… We are a "Country House" without pretending to be a high class city operation. Glad you enjoyed the view! Georges More 

cape town
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2016

Whilst staying in Stanford, and looking for a nearby restaurant for lunch, we set off for Bellavista, which we had passed many times on the road between Stanford and Gansbaii, but never had the opportunity to visit. On arriving, we were offered seating inside or on the terrace, but the view was too amazing to sit inside. The service was... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephen m
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Stephen for your expert gourmet comments, much appreciated by my crew (and myself!). Georges More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2016

Good menu with sufficient choice. Excellent food and pleasant ambiance. Interesting winelist. Definitely worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank 23Lloyd41
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks! Our chef was very happy reading your review. Georges More 

Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2016

Good service and fine quality on the food. The view takes the price - woauhhh!!! Fantastic view to sit in front of the restaurant with a local glass of wine.

Helpful?
Thank miklar_dk
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

Hey Mikkel! "a (one) glass of wine….." ?!!!! You probably meant one bottle of wine…. Thanks for your kind compliments! Georges More 

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2016

We very often drove past Bellavista but as it is located between Stanford and Gansbay there was no real reason or opportunity to stop off, until last Sunday when I wanted to go have lunch "somewhere special". The host Georges warmly welcomed us upon arrival (I had also spoken to him earlier the morning to make our reservation) and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trade M
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and compliments! I remember well our happy lunch time together, you having fun at the table and me having fun with you having fun…… - great time with great people coming all the way from up North of Europe. Would be so great to see you again and have great laughters! Georges More 

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

The Restaurant is certainly at stunning place and the food is really great. But the wait time even for pre-booked tables is unacceptable. We had to wait 2hrs until the first food arrived even though the restaurant was almost empty.

Helpful?
2 Thank Falko Z
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your two compliments, much appreciated! A pre-booked table does not mean an automatic "quick service" as our way is "first come - first served". As we say clearly on the Menu: "We have only one chef - we do not cook with Microwave ovens - Please be patient". A table of 7 persons and another one with... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

Food was cold and had no taste. The crispy fries looked like the ones from McDonalds with the difference that the fries of McD are actually good... Only go there for the view and a wine no food. But, have enough time because service is slow as hell (even though we were the only table).

Helpful?
1 Thank DHilgert
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

You were the only table at lunch time…. you got a "cold meal" and "as hell slowly…". That does not add up with our policy (over 15 years in business) to 1) provide fresh products (no catering and no prepared fast food) and 2) to serve only one table - slowly. As a non-fast food resto (like your preferred McD's)... More 

Travellers who viewed Bellavista Panorama Restaurant also viewed

Stanford, Overberg District
Stanford, Overberg District
 
Stanford, Overberg District
Stanford, Overberg District
 

Been to Bellavista Panorama Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 15 - US$ 25
Cuisine
European, Contemporary
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: R43 | Situated between Stanford & Gansbaai, Stanford 7210, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Overberg District  >  Stanford
  • Phone Number: +27 82 901 7650
Description
Excellent cuisine and service, magnificent 180 degree views over the Atlantic. Fully licensed.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bellavista Panorama Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?