We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship Inn

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Church Lane | Levington, Levington IP10 0LQ, England
+44 1473 659573
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good32%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“sausage roll” (6 reviews)
“potatoes” (9 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 10:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Church Lane | Levington, Levington IP10 0LQ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a special occasion here with my daughter's Birthday Sunday lunch celebration. This wonderful pub with it's staff couldn't have been more accommodating and engaged. The service was beyond expectations, our late sitting helped chef and meant we all had a relaxed superb afternoon. The...More

Thank lasuperba152
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good welcome into pleasant pub/restaurant. Reasonably warm in the area with the open fire, slightly cooler in the other part. The menu initially looked good, but in fact was surprisingly limited in detail (perhaps inevitably for a small place unable to have a high throughput...More

Thank tlwmd
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have visited this pub again after 2-3 months, the first thing we noticed was a change of front staff. Also there seems to have been a management change in the last 6- 8 weeks. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was great with...More

Thank Percyp100
James G, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your great feed back. Just to say we are not part of Deban Inns but directly managed by Adnams Brewery for just over 3 years now.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely meal at the Ship on a Saturday evening in October 2017. Excellent starters. The calamari was some of the best we have ever tasted and was of a very generous portion size. Main courses were also lovely. Fish and chips with...More

Thank Richard C
James G, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are glad you enjoyed your visit. Our new menu launches next week with more interesting dishes for you to try.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for lunch on a Sunday my wife had the beef roast and I had the lamb roast, we were both disappointed with the meat we found it tough and chewy the rest of the dish was ok. Paid £12.50 for each meal was...More

Thank Calogero B
James G, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I'm sorry to hear of your experience on a Sunday lunch time. If you would like to email me your contact details at ship.levington@adnams.co.uk I'd like to get in contact and put this experience right.

Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Stopped for dinner and drinks. The location and interior are very special and the food was very nice along with the beer. Very nice recommendation as the menu was very solid with many delicious choices.

Thank HobbyCheF L
James G, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stop off with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

We booked a table for 4 plus one dog during the week. The phone was answer and table booked with friendly efficient service. This was our first visit to , although our family had been some years before, and we weren't disappointed. A very friendly...More

Thank MrsKEP
James G, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely feed back. Also good the see the whole family out enjoying the local pubs. The team all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Beautiful location, friendly staff, comfortable environment, excellent food, dog friendly. All this should really add up to more than a 3 star review; but I'm writing this as a vegetarian. The veggie food served at The Ship Inn is excellent, and inventive, but there is...More

Thank Nigel B
James G, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for all your feed back. We have just been writing our next menu and taken these comments into consideration.

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

So disappointed. Another pub that apparently loves dogs but only if you can sit at one of 3 tables!! Really big areas with tables where people can sit but if you have a dog you are limited. The tables where we could have sat with...More

Thank tanelley
James G, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

I'm sorry we didn't have room for you and your dog. We do allow dogs within the bar area and this is one third of our seating capacity. I do appreciate that our pub is only small and therefore can be limiting at times.

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

It was a lovely day and on the spur of the moment, we headed to The Ship Inn. Squid starters follows by the roast beef main. Everything was beautifully cooked, and generous portions too. My other half and I could have shared the starter (but...More

Thank gilliansmith80
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Butt and Oyster
671 reviews
3.01 km away
The Artisan Smokehouse
40 reviews
4.84 km away
The Red Lion
180 reviews
3.60 km away
Nearby Attractions
Suffolk Wildlife Trust at Trimley Marshes
7 reviews
5.39 km away
Play2Day
14 reviews
6.57 km away
Stena Line
203 reviews
6.37 km away
Martlesham Heath Control Tower Museum
8 reviews
6.63 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jill L
2 July 2017|
Answer
Response from James G | Property representative |
Hi. Yes we do. Menu available on our website or please give us a call to discuss further.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 12 - US$ 24
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Lane | Levington, Levington IP10 0LQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Levington
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 659573
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing