We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Italian, Indian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
52
36
9
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
52
36
9
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pasta burger roti delicious food kasar devi temple views ambience cafe himalayas kasaar interior word
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 22 May 2022 via mobile

I visited the restaurant with family and my nonagenarian aged uncle. First of all they didn't show the Courtsey to him by helping him to movee in. Then nobody came to ask for water or orders. When we asked the staff they simply showed a...cold shoulder that this place usually have excess rush with 2 servers only. But 80% of the tables were empty. I don't how they are running a hospitality industry. When we opted to go out without having food nobody from the staff, who were standing there, chose to ask us the reason for going out in such. Rather the moved inside. For your info all 5 of us are seniors. Very disappointing. RegardsMore

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 March 2022 via mobile

Mohans Cafe is a beautiful place to stay .The staff is very cooperative and helpful.Best part is THE FOOD.awesome is the word I would use. Must visit this Cafe if u happen to be in Binsar

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 October 2021 via mobile

The food was delicious though the options got limited due to prolonged power cut. I would recommend to try their cakes at least once.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 October 2021

Considering this is one restaurant is such a remote area, what an extensive menu they have!! Had the Israeli platter and some noodles and burger and each was yum!

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 September 2021 via mobile

Tucked in Kasaar village of Almora this is a must visit. Very friendly staff efficient service and to get such quality of food in a remote village was just amazing.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 September 2021

Great food. We ordered Mix vegetables, roti and coffee. Everything was super yummy. The view from the deck was amazing. We loved playing with a very cute friendly cat who gave us company at lunch.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 August 2021

Avoid Shakushuka. Oreo monster shake is delectable. Pasta is a must try. Toilets are okay. Pasta is also fine.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 August 2021

Apart from view from this restaurant nothing is worth mentioning. We ordered pasta, sandwiches, pizza, Manchurian and Oreo shake. Nothing of these is worth mentioning rather we found pasta to be tasteless and sandwiches were burned. After being informed about this their manager told us...that food is cooked up like this only here and they can do nothing to change it. They did however removed these two items from our bill but in the end but it left us with a very bitter experience.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 April 2021 via mobile

The cafe is located quiet near to kasar devi temple. Ambience and interior is nice.. they have inside sitting as well as outside. From outside you can have nice views of the Himalayas. Food is nice and good

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
mohanr1053, Owner at Mohan's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2021

Thanks for your review please do visit again 🙏

Reviewed 27 February 2021 via mobile

Worst service experience in so hyped resturant. Staff wont take your order unless you call out for them. They wont even serve water and other utensils unless you asked for it. Food preparation takes ages. In my latest experience it was just 3 tables booked...but still staff took hours to serve food. Unprofessional staff. I would never recommend this place to anyone.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 February 2021

The ambience and view compensates for the average food they serve. The sandwiches were nice but the burger was average. They ran out of bakery products and was fortunate to have 1 last banana muffin but alas, the same was over heated and burnt, albeit...tasty.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 February 2021

The food quality is really good & portion size adequate.They have 3 sit out places - 2 open and 1 cafe joint

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 January 2021 via mobile

We visited this place today and we ordered food. The team dont know how to handle guest.We ordered Pizza and found that it had had a hair strand. We ordered a new one that also had hair. I fail to understand what makes them say...they are so good. Horrible food, unhygienic condition. I won't recemond anyone for it . Better cafe are there to explore.dont go to Mohan cafe guys.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 August 2020

Good location and views, average setup, and poor food. Our Italian turned out to be more like a spaghetti khada masala (instead of Arrabiata) and penne mushrom curry (instead of a creamy mushroom sauce). Fairly expensive for the quality of food and facilities. Not recommended.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 August 2020 via mobile

Though the location and view from the restaurant is good, the service is terribly poor and might offend some with the very casual attitude of the staff. First the waiters won't come to take your order, you'll have to look and call out for them....When they take the order finally, it will literally take ages to for it to arrive if it comes at all. They might forget your order or completely ignore you. This review is not based on just a single visit but multiple visits and each time you go there with the expectation that things would have improved, but to no avail. I am.writing this review based on the awful experience we have been having there. We took some friends who had come from Chandigarh to have something there, and after ordering with so much effort and waiting for almost an hour all of us got frustrated as not even the beverages arrived let alone the food, we were embarrassed as we had got our guests along. We decided to walk out and it turned out the staff had not even started preparing our food. The place was deserted as there weren't any tourists so they hardly had an excuse for other orders. They were not even courteous enough to apologise and said plainly the staff is busy. I wonder what was the staff busy doing when we seemed to be the only guests there. Try other places nearby, there are many options in the vicinity with good food. From earlier visits I can say the food is very basic qualitatively and for that kind of quality it is heavily overpriced. Avoid the place if possible, only good ambience and no service can't take one far in the tourism industry. The place is very over-rated for what is offers. I hardly give negative reviews but this had to be said out loud after multiple poor experiences.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mrayal, Manager at Mohan's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2020

Dear Sir, Firstly, we would like to apologize for any kind of inconvenience caused. Our food and our services are well appreciated by all our customers and because it was a Sunday, we were quite occupied with our room guests and which is why it...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Mohan's Binsar Retreat
271 reviews
.21 km away
The Kumaon
226 reviews
.49 km away
Kasaar Jungle Resort
217 reviews
.77 km away
Imperial Heights Binsar
368 reviews
1.42 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Baba Cake
54 reviews
.50 km away
Dolma Restaurant
40 reviews
.66 km away
The Northern Hill
13 reviews
.32 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Binsar Wildlife Sanctuary
121 reviews
3.49 km away
Tarikhet Village Nature
11 reviews
3.68 km away
Kasar Devi Temple
197 reviews
3.83 km away
Pariyadeva Pashan
6 reviews
3.83 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
manishaj2013
24 May 2018|
Answer
Response from PurviParekh | Reviewed this property |
Hi ! Club Mahindra Binsar is about 30-40 mins drive from Mohans retreat. While driving from club Mahindra ask for Kasar Devi road . It’s very close to Kasar Devi jungle resort.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

MOHAN'S CAFE, Binsar - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mohan's Cafe

Yes, Mohan's Cafe offers takeaway services.

Mohan's Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4