We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Cottage Canteen

New Commercial Inn Trinity Square, Axminster EX13 5AN, England
+44 1297 631715
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good24%
  • Average16%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“hummus” (77 reviews)
“pollock” (55 reviews)
“mackerel” (51 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
New Commercial Inn Trinity Square, Axminster EX13 5AN, England
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (2,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 2,107 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

While visiting the Axminster market (which is disappointing by the way) we popped in here for breakfast. Delicious! My husband had a bacon sandwich, the bacon was full of flavour and the bread was so fresh. I had the mushrooms and poached egg on toast,...More

Thank Kelly F
Reviewed yesterday

When we are around Axminster we seem to gravitate to River Cottage, and, it seems that it is the chocolate tiffin that drags us in. Always found the staff to be friendly and helpful, the coffee excellent and the tiffin ( seems I have mentioned...More

Thank johnfpedley
Reviewed 3 days ago

Stopped for a little snack and a drink. I had a mug of coffee and a piece of chocolate tiffin. The best I have ever had-moist, rich ad full of succulent fruit. Actually, I couldn't eat it all in one go which is unheard of...More

Thank Lynn P
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review! Look forward to seeing you for a tiffin soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

I am not local to the Canteen at Axminster in fact I live some 200 miles away but whenever I am in the area I always try to visit. I like honest food, no fancy presentations with dry ice, no highly processed ingredients or menus...More

1  Thank nualadunsby
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the great review! We are very pleased to hear you loved it! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Such an amazing place to visit! The team were so friendly and welcoming and the food is incredible - so fresh and cooked sensationally! Best place in town to eat. - Just go!

Thank Frances S
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Great review! Thank you very much.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for lunch today - nice building and atmosphere - but the meal was pretty disappointing. The bread (with butter and linseed oil) was stale and dry like croutons and, after questioning this, was replaced with slightly fresher tasting bread. The main course of portobello...More

Thank Brigitte H
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry to hear this, I will pass your comments onto the kitchen team

Reviewed 1 week ago

We called into Axminster on the way back from Devon and decided to go into River cottage as we'd heard so much about it. Although we intended to have a light lunch the waiter tempted us with the roast beef and we were so glad...More

1  Thank Teashopfan
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for such a nice review, I'll pass your comments regarding the horse radish creme onto the chef. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Often go there with my elderly dad for Breakfast but thought we would try Lunch for a change. First time in the back room and had an excellent Lunch. My dad being a little old fashioned went for Chicken & Chips ( Stick to what...More

Thank MSW1960
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice atmosphere and good service, as usual. Unfortunately my roasted hake was served on a watery gruel (called a broth) with a few small cubes of quite al dente potato and no other vegetable, so had to order a portion of chips to go with...More

Thank 647robert
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry to hear you were dissapointed, I'll pass your comments onto the head chef

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Such an exciting and special place to eat. Welcoming staff led by William such attentive and friendly service, with delicious food, fresh, tasty and beautifully cooked. The combination of flavours was excellent. Looking forward to a return visit in the near future luckily we live...More

Thank gamimi2017
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, I'll pass your comments onto Will and the team, hope to see you again soon!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Giant Club
36 reviews
.12 km away
Le Pisani
255 reviews
.14 km away
Cinnamons Indian Restaurant
273 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
River Cottage
270 reviews
3.44 km away
Burrow Farm Gardens
72 reviews
5.49 km away
Lower Bruckland Farm Nature Reserve
17 reviews
5.55 km away
Uplyme Church
18 reviews
5.86 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Sue J
If I book a table for a Saturday lunchtime, would it be ok to have just coffee and cake or a starter?
15 August 2016|
Answer
Response from jo B | Reviewed this property |
Hi Ummm I don't see them turning you away but maybe let them know when you book Enjoy your lunchtime treat
0
Votes
Beverley T
Are you dog friendly?
6 August 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Axminsterlady | Reviewed this property |
We once asked if we could take our well-behaved Border Collie in. We just wanted coffee but were refused.
0
Votes
sean d
Friends have visited and described the same situation, dreadful staff, small portions, part of the order missing, dirty lavatories and then to cap it all staff trying to scrounge a tip as they left !
3 November 2015|
Answer
Response from Richard_Feynman | Reviewed this property |
I disagree about the staff. They are very pleasant and helpful, especially William. The toilets do need modernising though and are barely adequate. The portions are rather small and quite pricey for what they are, but the... More
3
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 22 - US$ 51
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: New Commercial Inn Trinity Square, Axminster EX13 5AN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Axminster
  • Phone Number: +44 1297 631715
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing