We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Anchor Hotel Restaurant

) #2 of 2 Restaurants in Kippford ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , British,
Kippford, Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland
+44 1556 620205
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good40%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Kippford, Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Over the years, we have visited the Anchor on many occasions. We went for a bar supper on Saturday night and thoroughly enjoyed it. 3 of us had the Chicken Sizzler and 1 had the Rib-Eye Steak from the Specials board. The food was wonderful,...More

Thank quine19
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Called in for tea really nice staff grate atmosphere food was lovely very popular dog friendly within restrictions would definitely recommend and go back thank you

Thank Andrew A
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited one evening for food having been recommended by friends. The place was busy but our food was served in good time and was good pub food - that's where the good part ends... Once we had eaten and had relaxed a little (we...More

1  Thank Beetlebum77
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello and thank you for your review, the contents of which will be discussed with the staff. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We appreciate you taking the time to write and are disappointed that your enjoyable evening was marred. Kind regards from...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped here for lunch only to be told they had stopped serving 1 minute ago. Very rude staff who couldn't care less.

1  Thank RPettifer
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. Its a shame you were disappointed, we do advertise our serving times and it is always difficult when we have just closed. We do offer a selection of snacks outwith serving hours, and of course drinks are always available.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good food, good beer, friendly place. Extensive menu that added new dishes each evening. Able to sample local beers before buying.

Thank 621Hilary
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Hilary, thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed everything especially the sampling! - All the best from the team at the Anchor

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ate here one evening. Had salmon with hollondaise which was definitely of the 'chef opened the packet himself' variety. Wine was fine, didn't notice what beer they had. Served its purpose.More

Thank Inalltheworld
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for your review. Hope you will try us again and see what else we have on the menu. Our fish dishes are usually very popular, we change the menu regularly and source fresh produce locally. Best wishes from the team at...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly, good food in fact I would say the breakfast is 1 of the best I've ever had!! Excellent location and great views

1  Thank Chris J
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Chris, thank you for your very kind words. Much appreciated, come and see us again soon, all the very best, for now, from the team at the Anchor.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have eaten here many times before and U have to say that I will not be back unless the crew change .there has been many changes at the helm and I'm afraid this is the worst service I have ever had from anywhere in...More

1  Thank doonhamer999
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Its a shame you experienced a bad visit. Without understanding more about your specific concerns it is difficult to address them. I will make sure the team are aware of your comments. Thank you for taking the time to write...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were planning to have lunch at the Anchor but found we were 15 minutes late for the lunch serving times. Several people were asking the same. We were all turned away. One customer was somewhat angry about the situation, and seemed to be poorly...More

1  Thank seaview900
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience. We offer food all day Saturdays and Sundays and in between lunch and dinner sittings during the week you can order snacks such as tray bakes and scones as well as drinks. There are other eateries...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Called in with a friend who lives locally. The main bars were grim, with poor light and blaring TV. Moved into the back room and while the food was ok the atmosphere was still gloomy. There's not a lot of choice in Kippford and this...More

1  Thank Happytraveller030
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. Glad to know you found the food OK but its disappointing to hear that you didn't enjoy our ambiance. Perhaps you will come again at a different time and...More

Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Ettie D
Do es the hotel do B and b
23 November 2016|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from Fasayers123 | Property representative |
hello there yes it does -
0
Votes
SeaToSkyTraveller
What time do you serve food on Thursday evening?
22 April 2015|
Answer
Response from Fasayers123 | Property representative |
from April to end of October food is served from 1200 until last orders at approximately 8pm - no need to book - in the winter lunches from 12 - 2pm and then open again after 5pm call 0155 6620 205 for more information
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kippford, Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  Kippford
  • Phone Number: +44 1556 620205
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing