We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
+44 1702 475588
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,224: English reviews
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First time back in 2 years due to poor experience last time, decided to try again, family of 6, daughter's 21st birthday lunch, seated at table by window with lovely estuary view, restaurant not very busy, drinks order taken then food order, we all decided to skip starters and went straight to mains, hoping to make it to dessert! Ordered... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MelodyMaker65
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Whilst we appreciate all customer feedback I would like to take this opportunity to respond to your comments. All of our dishes are cooked freshly to order so for a table of six the main courses would take about 20 - 25 minutes to prepare. I was aware that your meals had taken a little longer than usual to arrive... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

£50 per head for this night which we didn't think was too bad, food was nice except one problem- when booking this event we phoned and asked if they catered for vegans in which they said yes. When there and asked for our choices for vegan meal, there was no choice it was set meal, I really don't think that... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Debafia
Boatyard R, General Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

We are truly sorry there was no vegan option .. there should have been but our head chef was not told that a vegan meal would be required on sunday evening as this was an outside company dealing with everything themselves from bookings to the set menu options. With regard the £50 dining fee we would mention this event is... More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Eaten here before and decided to pop in on Saturday night to see if we could get a table, our daughter was at a show at Cliffs Pavillion so why not? Reception staff were very accomodating and the service thereafter was okay. The warm bread was nice but a very small portion as a starter. Me and my son had... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 321CIB
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do hope any customer who is unhappy with a meal to make their waiter aware at the time so that he can immediately rectify the situation, although we gather you had a mostly enjoyable evening do please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your visit a total success.... More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely setting and great service. Really good choice of food, fish was really tasty. Service was really great

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth S
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you had a good time. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More 

Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
145 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went on Thursday night when take your own wine. Food great, staff excellent and get a free starter which is pate. I'm a veggie so they immediately offer an alternative. Dessert free at end. Very nice place and great value.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, our grill menu is great value and we always ensure to have tasty options for everyone. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More 

Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We dined at The Boatyard last evening with friends. Thursday is 'Grill Night'. We took our own Champagne and wine (no corkage) and had a fantastic evening. Booked, by design, an early sitting (6.30) and were not disappointed, concluding dining at 9pm. Excellent, efficient and friendly service with ice buckets provided. Outstanding value with complimentary starters and (certain) sweets. Absolutely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chriscaine
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

We very much look forward to seeing you again, thank you for letting us know you had such a fabulous time. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely restaurant with great service and really good food, staff are friendly & helpful, I was here for lunch with friends and we had a fabulous afternoon, its a laid back place with cool views over the estuary, we had the lunch time menu which is really good value for money and food was plentiful , the restaurant has a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jay K
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jay Thank you for taking the time to leave us such great feedback. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Boatyard has a lovely terrace overlooking the Estuary. Pleased to note it was limited to diners only on Saturday night so we got a table immediately for pre dinner drinks before dinner. We had an enjoyable meal. Nice selection and reasonable price with some live music. An enjoyable evening. There is also a limited amount of parking available if... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 586Paul
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you had such an enjoyable evening. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More 

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been on numerous occasions to this restaurant as I am a local and the setting is great. However after a recent trip my toddler managed to get behind the barrier on the decking as it was damaged and had come away from the wall. When I alerted the owner via email I was surprised that their response was... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank caroline17bingham
Boatyard R, Owner at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

I simply must correct this inaccurate report, firstly by categorically stating that NO area of our deck is without a safety barrier. This customer contacted us concerned that her toddler had been able to slip behind an open door exposing him to an unprotected area with a sheer drop to the sea. In truth this area has in place a... More 

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely stroll around Leigh-on-Sea on a sunny Sunday afternoon. Decided to try for a late lunch and we're lucky enough to get a table in this busy large restaurant. The place was buzzing and waiter extremely polite and helpful, explaining the menu. The food arrived promptly and was delicious, although the main courses a little too large. Again... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Karen Thank you for your feedback and for letting us know you enjoyed your meal, we are renowned for our generous portion sizes, we don't wish anyone to leave us still feeling peckish! Our live musicians are popular and create a lively ambience, however, we do understand that our customers are here to talk to one another as well... More 

Travellers who viewed The Boatyard Restaurant also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Boatyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 14 - US$ 77
Cuisine
British, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Leigh-on Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 475588
Description
The Boatyard,
Leigh-On-Sea
The Boatyard combines the benefits of a modern purpose-built restaurant with the classic surroundings of the Old Leigh fishing village, not to mention the excellent food. Contained within what was previously a working boatyard, the building has been converted into a modern restaurant, fully air-conditioned with a state of the art music system, digital projection screen and a glass-fronted kitchen area . A panoramic polarised glass frontage provides uninterrupted views of the Thames Estuary and Two-Tree Island Nature Reserve. Even more spectacular views can be obtained from the stunning wooden deck which juts out into the water and spans the entire width of the building.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Boatyard Restaurant and other visitors
8 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
1 month ago
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Boatyard Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?