We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bridgewater Mill

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹₹₹
Australian, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Mount Barker Road, Bridgewater, South Australia 5155, Australia
+61 8 8339 9200
Website
Today
11:00 - 17:00
18:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Mon 11:00 - 17:00
Fri - Sat 18:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 137: English reviews
Birdwood, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

It t'was a Thursday Night, and it t'was a large group, and the setting by the creek, unique, but the food??? I should say the Garlic Bread was nice, but the main courses were very average!! Kangaroo was dry, tough and way over cooked (yes, and being a bushy, I do know), as were other steaks on our table. Veggies,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trevor and Sue M
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fabulous! The millers platter was amazing , enough for 2! Service was lovely ,very attentive even though extremely busy and we turned up during lunch on a rainy day.. no booking !!! I really wanted to sit on the new deck but due to the bad weather I now have an excuse To go back soon!!! Love this place a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

amazing autumn degustation menu, plenty of food and beautiful environment. highlight was the amazing service by the waitress to allow us to sit at a private table despite it being a group sitting. a wonderful way to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Helpful?
Thank Jezzamupps
Helsingborg Sweden
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I had lunch on Australia Day with a couple of friends who live in the Adelaide Hills at Bridgewater Mill. We had quail as a starter and duck as the main course. The food was well cooked and was presented in a very appetizing way. With our main course we had a Pinot Noir 2014 from Honey... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hawk16
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a most enjoyable meal outside on the deck in a beautiful setting. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were courteous yet friendly. Best meal I have eaten in a long time, highly recommend the sweet treats desert platter!

Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took some overseas visitors here for lunch in a very peaceful location The outside deck is now on 3 levels and is in the process of being refurbished so it should look pretty good on completion Staff very helpful but service is agonisingly slow as it took 45 mins for platters to arrive and we were one of only 3... More 

Helpful?
Thank SPQR1210
MelissaBWM, Manager at The Bridgewater Mill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience dining at The Bridgewater Mill. Over the past couple of year the business has undergone some extensive changes in both structurally and in the style of customer service. I empathize with your frustration in the delay in service. I will share your review with the staff. We will use your... More 

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had the most perfect here for our 10th Wedding Anniversary. Staff were very friendly and helpful; the food was beautifully presented and completely delicious. Amazing coffee too. The atmosphere was gorgeous - ambient lighting, music and cosy surrounds. My husband and I are quite fussy and were really impressed by the whole experience. We definitely recommend this place and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 123OutAndAbout123
Mailhac
Level Contributor
283 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2017

Apparently this restaurant used to be fantastic. Numerous recommendations had led us here, just to be massively disappointed. Very slow and indifferent service of very expensive, minimalist, COLD food. One course, one glass of wine - two hours lost. We left hungry and disillusioned.

Helpful?
1 Thank Iain S
MelissaBWM, Manager at The Bridgewater Mill, responded to this review

Dear Iain I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience dining at The Bridgewater Mill. Please accept my apologies in regards to your cold meal. As you can see by the other reviews we consistently meet and exceed people's expectations when they dine here. All the staff here strive for total customer satisfaction. If you had... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017

My partner and myself decided to go for a drive late Saturday afternoon, as it was around 5pm most places where closed for cocktails/wine tasting. Anyhow we tried our luck here and let me tell you it was one of the incredible experiences I have had. I had a cocktail & a glass of sparkling wine & my partner has... More 

Helpful?
Thank chloemarch3
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2017

Yes we agree that the food is innovative and well cooked and the staff were attentive without being intrusive. And there was no backgroung music... a big plus (and a noise deadening ceining to conteract the hard slate floors)....we were in the side room (the Fernery?) I would avoid the Petaluma Reisling (far too young/acid... yes I know its a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerry G

Travellers who viewed The Bridgewater Mill also viewed

 
Adelaide Hills, Greater Adelaide
Crafers, Adelaide Hills
 
Uraidla, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to The Bridgewater Mill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 97
Cuisine
Australian, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Private Dining, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, View, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 17:00
Monday
11:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 17:00
Thursday
11:00 - 17:00
Friday
11:00 - 17:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 17:00
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mount Barker Road, Bridgewater, South Australia 5155, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  South Australia  >  Greater Adelaide  >  Adelaide Hills  >  Bridgewater
  • Phone Number: +61 8 8339 9200

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bridgewater Mill and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bridgewater Mill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?