We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Celtic Arms

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Golf House Northop Country Park | Northop Golf and Country Club, Northop CH7 6WA, Wales
+44 1352 840423
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good26%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“pulled beef” (17 reviews)
“steak” (39 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Golf House Northop Country Park | Northop Golf and Country Club, Northop CH7 6WA, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 644 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Visited with a group of friends and we were all super impressed with our meals. Between us we ordered a varied range of dishes and we were all really happy. The main courses and deserts blew us all away with how well they were presented...More

1  Thank StaceyAKelly
Reviewed 5 days ago

Went for early dinner with a friend. Beautifully decorated outside with fairy lights. Lovely inside too. Overpriced starter, 3 mushrooms ( small ) stuffed with spinach £5.95 Didn't enjoy it. Main course was beautiful though and I really enjoyed it. Service......sorry to say was poor....More

1  Thank valerie e
Reviewed 5 days ago

I have been coming here for many years now and with the unfortunate loss of some amazing staff who have moved on, they have gained numerous happy and talkative staff who tend to your every need in and always greet you with a warm welcome....More

Thank inbloomx
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

All kitted out with beautiful Christmas decorations this added such a cosy feel to our family meal. The lamb shank was gorgeous and the mulled wine was lovely! Staff were all welcoming and friendly. Wonderful atmosphere! Would I recommend, definitely!! We can not wait to...More

Thank TheLittleButterfly
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I have been attending the luncheons here for the last 2years and the standard has gone very much downhill. I have just returned from a Xmas lunch. Half the table received their meat and separate plate of veg, the other half got their plated meat...More

Thank Jean J
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch to find a new and exciting Christmas menu. Also had a set menu 2 and 3 course option . We both had starters two mains one dessert 2 ciders 2 cokes cost of £69 one of mains a fillet steak!!!! Food...More

1  Thank E3943RUleslier
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good solid British food again as always, again we only went due to having a voucher for discount as it is overpriced for what you get at list prices. they have had a new layout since our last visit and its odd to say the...More

1  Thank chesterfoodie67
CelticArms, Guest Relations Manager at The Celtic Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Chesterfoodie67, many thanks for taking the time to review The Celtic Arms. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the food here with us. Looking back at some of your reviews we do agree that the prices were on the top side but...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The staff here are always welcoming and the food and service excellent. Today, however, I was dismayed when finishing my meal by the arrival of people with two large and lively dogs! At one point one of the dogs was lying on the seating and...More

2  Thank Inspire30192298531
CelticArms, Guest Relations Manager at The Celtic Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Inspire30192298531, many thanks for taking the time to review The Celtic Arms. Thank you for the compliments in regards to the food and service that you receive whilst visiting us. We made the decision to make the Celtic Arms dog friendly a few months...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been here a few times when up seeing Mum, didn’t disappoint. Excellent menu and drinks, they kept my 9 year old happy and staff were fantastic. Not often you receive exemplary customer service and this should be commended. Keep it up!More

1  Thank Simondurks
CelticArms, Guest Relations Manager at The Celtic Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Simondurks, many thanks to take the time to review The Celtic Arms. We are pleased to hear that you visit us regularly when visiting your relatives. It is very encouraging to hear that you have such a positive experience every time you visit us...More

Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

It frustrates me every time I come here that it's not fantastic. Local places are always full...FB and GF...so why isn't my local!? Staff are lovely but far from vibrant...no conversation...no banter...no welcome. The food is laughingly over priced..paid nearly £7 for the smallest pieces...More

Thank 22LMJ
CelticArms, Guest Relations Manager at The Celtic Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 22LMJ, many thanks for taking the time to review the Celtic Arms. Some of your comments are very concerning as they seem to be reoccurring in your past reviews. We were hoping that you could email us directly with some more information so that...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
Soughton Hall
142 reviews
.50 km away
Travelodge Chester Northop Hall
330 reviews
2.25 km away
Beaufort Park Hotel
793 reviews
2.26 km away
Beufort Park Hotel
19 reviews
2.30 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Butchers Arms
34 reviews
1.32 km away
The Boot Inn
196 reviews
.90 km away
Red Lion
382 reviews
.83 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Peter and St Eurgain Church
11 reviews
.75 km away
Boars Head
7 reviews
1.85 km away
Wepre Park
237 reviews
4.68 km away
Blue Bell Inn
41 reviews
4.85 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Grandmaseabear
24 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from RichLea | Reviewed this property |
£1000
0
Votes
kazh128
15 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Mark S | Reviewed this property |
Hi, If you go on the Celtic Arms Website in Northop they have a google map of where the place is located.......hope you enjoy your visit.
0
Votes
Lisa9674
20 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from sbozza6 | Reviewed this property |
If you don't have a card that was left on your table, don't worry! I asked the manager on how I could be registered and he told me to send a email to the celtic arms asking for them to put you on their mailing list for any... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 8 - US$ 25
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Golf House Northop Country Park | Northop Golf and Country Club, Northop CH7 6WA, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Flintshire  >  Northop
  • Phone Number: +44 1352 840423
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing