We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Trooper Harvester

) #2 of 3 Restaurants in Christleton ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , , Vegetarian Friendly
Whitchurch Road, Christleton, Chester CH3 6AE, England
+44 1244 335784
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good34%
  • Average16%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“sundae” (14 reviews)
“rack of ribs” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Pub, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Whitchurch Road, Christleton, Chester CH3 6AE, England
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 399 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Food was good Service even better, served by a young lady with pink hair and glasses. Extremely helpful and just a pleasure to have around. It was our first visit to The Trooper and I would call again.

Thank nuttyredx
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not been here for years and today I visited for a nice lunch 😎 changed rather a bit since she was last here but still a great place with s good selection of food match with excellent staff 😎 thanks for a good time 😎

Thank Stevetkdme
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Trooper Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the positive review! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just got home from here the food and service was excellent hubby had gammon chips etc and i had the cheese and bacon burger with chips etc. Had a lovely selection of fresh salad in a help yourself section blue cheese sauce was delicious for...More

Thank michelle s
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Trooper Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Michelle S, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Old Trooper! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic food as always Value for money Shame about the chap serving no customer service Nice location Food served quickly

Thank shaz999
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Trooper Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited about 8.20pm on bank holiday Monday with family but disappointingly we were turned away by staff as they had decided to not serve beyond 8pm. Went to the Brewers Fayre around the corner instead which was serving until 10pm. Not from the area so...More

Thank SnowballNewcastle
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Trooper Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. Unfortunately I was on annual leave when you visited and have only returned to the business this week. I apologise that the business closed early on 29th May, rest assured, I will...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the harvester (aka the old trooper) everything was 1st class the surroundings, the food, the staff, sat us at a lovely quiet table overlooking the canal

Thank paul w
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Trooper Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Paul W, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Old Trooper! Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The last time we visited a Harvester it did not end well, so it was with some trepidation that we pulled in here. The experience could not have been more different. The staff were all helpful and friendly and the food was perfect. My husband...More

Thank A R
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Trooper Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

A R, thank you for the high star rating! We're looking forward to your next visit with us!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate twice at The Old Trooper in the past week. We knew it was a Harvester and so we knew roughly what to expect from their standard menu. The first time one of us had the half chicken and one had the gammon steak....More

Thank Beeper53
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Trooper Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Old Trooper. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here yesterday lunchtime. We are regulars here, we've never had a bad meal food is served quickly, hot and tasty. The staff are attentive and polite providing great customer service. Well done Harvester!!! See you again soon xMore

Thank DAllsopp
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Trooper Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dallsopp, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Old Trooper! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have...More

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Simple decor, simple service, simple food. It's a harvester at the end of the day. Not going to be amazing. Salad bar was good, but the prawns in my starter were appalling. Cheap and over cooked!!

Thank Morgan R
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Trooper Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Hi Morgan R thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ring O' Bells
473 reviews
.49 km away
The Cheshire Cat
781 reviews
.79 km away
Sun Do
35 reviews
1.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
Grosvenor Park
310 reviews
2.63 km away
Chester Canal
215 reviews
1.54 km away
Grosvenor Park Miniature Railway
70 reviews
2.50 km away
Caldy Valley Nature Park
14 reviews
1.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Old Trooper Harvester staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 9 - US$ 19
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Whitchurch Road, Christleton, Chester CH3 6AE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester  >  Christleton
  • Phone Number: +44 1244 335784
  • E-mail
Description
At The Old Trooper Harvester in Christleton food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Christleton, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Great Broughton, Waverton and Vicars Cross, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing