We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hell of The North

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Neighbourhood:
Fitzroy
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
135 Greeves St, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
+61 3 9417 6660
Today
17:00 - 01:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 23:00
Wed - Fri 17:00 - 01:00
Sat 12:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 142: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came as guests, for a special occasion. The welcome was friendly and we were promptly shown to our table of four. We were shown the wine list and as agreed had the $65 per head tasting meal. The wine waiter was pleasant and knew his wines. However, this is a review about the food and here we were sadly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorna K
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2016

I took a risk and brought overseas visitors here before coming myself...and was not disappointed! We chose the 'Feed Me' option for 4 people and the food was delicious. The staff were SO helpful regarding my severe peanut allergy and made me feel confident that the kitchen could cater to me safely; you can't underestimate how much it means to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lol_10045
Au
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2016

The restaurant had been recommended by a daughter so I was a bit concerned about the noise. The building is a lovely old blue stone house in a quiet street off a main road. I had asked for a quiet table and they put us with other people at a big table with others! This would have been fine except... More 

Helpful?
Thank 653jeffreyo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

What a great casual place to share great food with friends! I didn't the think food was expensive, well priced, however if you like a tipple or three like us, it can push the price up. Would definitely return next time in town.

Helpful?
Thank Troy M
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

My partner and I thought we would give this place a go for a relaxed dinner. Great ambience and very attentive staff, the menu is original and this is a place to steep out of your comfort zone when it comes to food. We chose the feed me option which gives you 5 courses left to the chefs discretion, glad... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony B
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2016

Visited again on friday evening as a pre-cursor to Derby day with my son visiting from Sydney. We were not let down with their food consistency and excellent attentive service. My son commented further that on his next visit to Melbourne on business he will be taking clients there rather than in the City, a wonderful gem.

Helpful?
Thank Bill N
Perth
Level Contributor
91 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2016

We visited H of the N on Saturday 29th October. We were visiting from Perth and a friend had booked a table for 8 friends. On arrival we were told that as the booking was for 8 we could not choose a la carte. A disappointment as our friend had not been told this on booking. After the first course... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig H
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

I was unable to attend a reservation on Saturday evening (Derby Day) due to a family emergency and friends becoming too intoxicated at the races. I forgot to confirm the booking the day prior so I also assumed the table had been given away. The owner proceeded to send me threatening messages throughout the evening. He stalked me on Facebook,... More 

Helpful?
Thank jschlosser87
M_Grixti, Owner at Hell of The North, responded to this review

Jessica booked a table for 14 people on Saturday night. We called and messaged on 5 occasions, she didn't respond or turn up. And she didn't like being called out.... which is what this is about. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

This is one of Melbourne's best dining experiences. Set in a beautiful bluestone building, you have any number of amazing dishes to choose from.

Helpful?
Thank Campbell R
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

I read a review on Broadsheet and thought we must try this place. Apparently it's been open for over 3 years so this was a great find for us. We booked in for a Saturday lunch for 2. Got a park in Greeves St but it is 1 hour limit during the day and that costs $4. Anyway we found... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Knills

Travellers who viewed Hell of The North also viewed

 

Been to Hell of The North? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
French, Wine Bar, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 01:00
Thursday
17:00 - 01:00
Friday
17:00 - 01:00
Saturday
12:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 135 Greeves St, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Greater Melbourne  >  Yarra  >  Fitzroy>  > Fitzroy
  • Neighbourhood: Fitzroy
  • Phone Number: +61 3 9417 6660

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hell of The North staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Fitzroy

Neighbourhood Profile
Fitzroy
Fitzroy is an unusual blend of working class roots, hip gentrification, and a robust bohemian work ethic. Along Brunswick Street and its side streets, you'll find little independent shops where local clothes and furniture designers display their wares. There are specialist bookshops, funky record bars, and quality vintage clothing shops where browsing is the next best thing to buying. Gertrude Street is famous for its cuisine and art galleries, but if you want to buy an old-fashioned snooker table, there is a shop for that too. Small pubs still exist, tucked away on the corners of suburban side streets that serve up traditional Sunday roasts. Live music abounds, and the street performers play so hard you worry to tip them would ruin their concentration. Venture to the Spanish quarter on Johnston Street and you may even find street dancing. It is all happening amidst off-beat street murals and the shuffle of a very funky neighbourhood that embraces both old and new.
Explore this neighbourhood