We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
12-14 North Lane, Headingley, Leeds LS6 3HE, England (Formerly Bretts Fish Restaurant)
+44 113 232 3344
Website
Today
12:00 - 16:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 16:00
Mon 17:00 - 21:00
Wed - Fri 12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:30
Sat 12:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 66: English reviews
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can't believe that this place has been around for over a year and we managed not to hear of it. Dined there tonight for the first time and had the meal I have been pining for since coming to Leeds six and a half years ago. To begin with the price is amazingly low for such high end food.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann E
CharlieBretts, General Manager at Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway, responded to this review

Dear Ann Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit! We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us at Charlie Brett's. Many kind regards all the team at Charlie Brett's More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ate in the restaurant on a Saturday evening and were suspicious about being the only ones in there. However, once the food arrived we couldn't understand why. We had a mixture of fish dishes and were all impressed. Would definitely recommend the fish and chips!

Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
CharlieBretts, General Manager at Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway, responded to this review

Dear Thomas Thank you for your 5 Star review. We are so glad you enjoyed your dinner with us. We look forward to seeing you next time. kind regards all the team at CB More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a fish and chip shop/restaurant in a beautiful stone built cottage. The setting is in the centre of Headingley, 10 mins walk from the cricket/rugby stadium. The food is great, served in a room that looks like my grandma's front room, it was good enough for the BBC cricket commentary team, which is good enough for me.

Helpful?
Thank Loiner527
CharlieBretts, General Manager at Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway, responded to this review

Dear Loiner Thank you for taking the time for writing a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal even doing a little 'celeb' spotting in our restaurant too! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many kind regards all the team at CB More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

......has not lost any of its charm, service or quality. The main difference is that the menu has been extended and now caters for all. Fish and chips still great but if you do want anything else don't go when the Rhinos are playing at home or you may have to wait. Will certainly return, in fact, we already have!

Helpful?
Thank Green-Banana-Man
CharlieBretts, General Manager at Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway, responded to this review

Mr Green banana man Thank you for your review! we look forward to welcoming you at Charlie Brett at the allerton on your next visit. All the CB team More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We used the take away with a little trepidation following some of the reviews on here. This was our first visit since it changed hands. The take away seating area has been significantly improved with the addition of heaters and doors! The haddock & chips were excellent. Good quality haddock fried fresh in a good batter. An excellent example of... More 

Helpful?
Thank BenfleetAndy
CharlieBretts, General Manager at Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway, responded to this review

Hi Benfleet Thank you so much for your review! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit! More 

Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Leeds for a weekend We went to charlie bretts on saturday evening We both ordered the fish and chips and also a bottle of wine The food did take a while to arrive however this was not a problem as it was cooked fresh! The service was very good and the food was excellent even better than... More 

Helpful?
Thank leigh c
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

What a great find. The place serves fish and chips and has a takeaway next door but is so much more than a fish restaurant. The dining room is all white table cloths , comfortable chairs and tables set for dining. While looking at the menu I had a beer from the local Ilkley Brewery that was first class. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wenesburylad
LEEDS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

After visiting their remarkable Charlie Brett's at the Allerton in Alwoodley I thought I would try the famous branch in Headingley over Christmas too. A large 'house' style building off set from the bustling North Lane, Charlie Bretts ouzes character & style. They run the same menu as at Alwoodley which is interesting and is exactly what we ordered off.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Solomos
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Worst fish and chips ever. Every other chip bad and mouldy, slimy wet fish. Can't believe the person who prepared it couldn't see how bad it all was. Won't b going again, got full refund.

Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
givememorewine, Director of Sales at Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway, responded to this review

Hi there. I think it's important that reviewers know the full facts first. Our head chef (michelin star trained) cooked your fish and chips and half an hour later you returned with no fish left and a handfull of chips complaining that they were terrible and asking for a full refund. My collesgue apologised and on the evidence presented to... More 

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2016

The mood was sombre following a funeral for my mother and we thought we'd give her a good Yorkshire send off with fish & chips from Charlie Bretts at the Allerton. The food was excellent and the staff very attentive and exceedingly helpful. We all would highly recommend this venue for a function or a meal.

Helpful?
Thank SpamulaMacSpamula
CharlieBretts, Manager at Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway, responded to this review

Hi SpamulaMacSpamula, We're very pleased to hear your afternoon with us went well and thank you for your kind comments. Hope to see you soon for a more cheerful experience. Charlie Brett's More 

Travellers who viewed Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway also viewed

 

Been to Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 12 - US$ 38
Cuisine
British, Seafood
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 16:00
Monday
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12-14 North Lane, Headingley, Leeds LS6 3HE, England (Formerly Bretts Fish Restaurant)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Leeds  >  Headingley
  • Phone Number: +44 113 232 3344

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?