We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kitchen @ Thorpeness

Remembrance Road, Thorpeness IP16 4NW, England
+44 1728 453266
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good29%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (11 reviews)
“scones” (33 reviews)
“welsh rarebit” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Remembrance Road, Thorpeness IP16 4NW, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Highly recommend the food and the cakes look fabulous (and now covered thank goodness!) but that's if you can get to the counter for all the dogs laid across the floor around the tables! The counter staff were very dismissive and completely disinterested. The dark...More

Thank OneHappyChicken
Reviewed 1 week ago

As regular visitors to Aldeburgh we had always mistimed our walks to Thorpeness and missed out on lunch at The Kitchen so this time we were determined to get there at the right time. My goodness! We certainly wished we hadn't bothered. It was a...More

3  Thank Steve W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came here with friends for some lunch, really busy but a table became available within a few minutes. I see what people have commented about before re flies but it's the nature of the area with water nearby and can't be helped, only saw the...More

1  Thank Goose1647
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped here for a cream tea, The scones were lovely, but huge. The tea was in a pot , but a bit lukewarm.

Thank Francesca R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have been a couple of times ourselves but this time took family. It can get pretty crowded especially on a rainy day which this was...the proximity to the meare whilst providing a scenic view, also seems to bring the flies in which is unfortunate....More

Thank AliH8691
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and myself popped in this afternoon at 4.30pm for scones and drinks, the staff were very friendly and helpful, we could take our pet Dog in and you could sit any where, the food and drinks was excellent and very reasonably priced, there...More

1  Thank Roy C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had lunch and there was a good choice for a family of four and they were good for special diets too.

1  Thank Singinggardener
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just dropped in here for teas and carrot cake. It was busy but they had a few tables spare. Orders are taken at the counter and were served quickly and efficiently. The staff were cheerful and friendly. Our pot of tea for two was a...More

Thank Jeff W
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

You'll walk in and be lucky to get a table at peak times. We got the last one at a Saturday lunchtime in September. The table will be dirty from the last customer. That might explain the huge amount of flies inside. We had to...More

Thank zigtravel
Reviewed 31 August 2018

Such a shame, locationwise this is a great place, that where it stops. We came here after a stinit on the lake but massively dissapointed. Food was poor, cheap ingredients making for awful tasting produce. Pizzas for instance were prebought bases topped with poor quality...More

Thank Paul R
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
440 reviews
.61 km away
Wentworth Hotel
752 reviews
2.62 km away
The White Lion Hotel
1,619 reviews
2.72 km away
Rosemary Cottage
5 reviews
3.43 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Lighthouse
1,315 reviews
2.97 km away
The Parrot and Punchbowl
248 reviews
2.98 km away
Dolphin Inn Restaurant
369 reviews
.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Meare
161 reviews
.07 km away
The Red House, Aldeburgh
109 reviews
2.40 km away
Long Shop Museum
100 reviews
4.14 km away
RSPB Minsmere
658 reviews
7.78 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mark C
27 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Rosemary W | Reviewed this property |
Suggest you contact the restaurant details are on their website.
0
Votes
Mark C
27 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Rosemary W | Reviewed this property |
suggest you contact them directly.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Remembrance Road, Thorpeness IP16 4NW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Thorpeness
  • Phone Number: +44 1728 453266
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing