We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Horse at Ireland Restaurant

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$ 19 - US$ 39
CUISINES
British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (1,297)
Filter reviews
1,295 results
Traveller rating
804
262
119
72
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
804
262
119
72
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pork steak pudding fish and chips bread roast dinner risotto pie ice cream salad birthday card special occasion gastro pub car park waiting staff lovely meal birthday meal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,295 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Excellent food, and service, what more can I say will be coming back again and again.Children welcome extensive menu

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank carolcheney
Reviewed 4 days ago

This was my first visit to The Black Horse, and I was taken on recommendation of a friend. Set out in the country it has the appearance of a small country cottage/inn and this is emphasised by the low ceilings as you enter, however the...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank paulkbillson
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Food was great! Quick to the table and presented very well. Service was also great. They helped us decorate the table before the birthday girl arrived and even added happy birthday to the pudding. Will definitely be back for more I’d recommend the chicken from...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank FellowTraveler646568
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello FellowTraveler646568 Appreciate you taking the time to post such a great review - many thanks. Thanks also for the recommendation.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Yet another fabulous night at The Black Horse for New Years Eve! The Roaring 20s theme was very well supported by many of the guests and everyone looked amazing and had gone to a lot of effort with their outfits. Food excellent as always, pleased...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank jabl22
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Another trip the black horse and yet again they deliver the quality they are known for. Great selection of drinks. Great food. Fantastic service and staff are top notch. Well done 👌👌👌👌👌 out of 5

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 358jayb358
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello 358jayb358 Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review. Have a Great Christmas.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What can I say? Booked a couple of weeks ago had to choose at booking (suspicious it is probably pre cooked in vacuum bags) it was the worst meal I have ever been served I chose two courses I couldn't eat either of them brie...More

Date of visit: December 2018
3  Thank Sandra K
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I have been waiting for this review as I had been alerted that there would be a bad report from a customer who had recently eaten with us and was quite rude and verbally abusive to the staff. However, I am surprised at the content...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having been out recently for a few work Christmas meals, all of which were on the rather average to completely terrible side, I knew we were on to a winner with The Black Horse. So glad I booked here. Beautifully decorated, lovely atmosphere, highly efficient...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Andreamac_12
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Andreamac_12 Your review has gone down a treat with the team at The Black Horse who were delighted with your comments. I am sorry about the delay at the bar which I will investigate. Thank you for your constructive feedback which I can assure...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Being Christmas restaurant festively decorated and lovely and warm. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and seated with a minimum of fuss. The service was very good, the staff well trained and friendly. The food was excellent, we all (four of us) chose something different...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank glinka32
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello glinka32 My thanks for posting such a great review. We certainly look forward to your return visit. Best wishes for a good Christmas.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Black Horse is under new management but I’m glad to say the food is still up to the same standard and maybye even better.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank susansh47
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Susansh47 Thanks for posting your lovely review. However, I am not sure where you have heard that The Black Horse is under new management which is untrue. I, and my family have owned it for 20 years and intend to run it for many...More

Reviewed 12 December 2018

A party of 13 females visited last week. We had the Christmas menu which was excellent. We were looked after extremely well. The Manager and staff were very efficient and very attentive.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank maureen c
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Maureen C Thanks for posting such a lovely review and for the five stars. Have a good Christmas.

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
JnJBadby_Northants
21 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from annie9755 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry have no idea but i’m sure the pub would tell you if you rang up! Whoever runs this place is doing an excellent job!
0
Votes
monicastamp
18 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from Kerry S | Reviewed this property |
They have dog bowls of water outside but it is more a restaurant than pub so would say it's a no for inside
2
Votes
Bob W
4 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Peter D | Reviewed this property |
It's a very popular place, very busy, i presume they are covering themselves in case they get let down, which i'm sure has happened to most restaurants at some time or other. You have to bear in mind that when they take... More
2
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing