We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Horse at Ireland

Shefford, Shefford SG17 5QL, England
01462 811398
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good21%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“souffle” (12 reviews)
“steak” (55 reviews)
“pork” (26 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Shefford, Shefford SG17 5QL, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (1,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Visited this restaurant in its lovely countryside location for a family lunch and were delighted with the quality of service, food and wine. Two of our party suffer serious food allergies and these were dealt with very sensitively with a ' choose what you would...More

Thank Jim M
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello Jim M All the staff at The Black Horse were elated to read your fantastic review and very much look forward to welcoming you back. May I pass on my thanks for taking the time to publish such a wonderful detailed review.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the Roast Lamb on a Sunday lunch menu. The lamb was cooked to perfection and the vegetables were served al dente which is exactly as vegetables should be served and not over cooked which a lot of places still can't get the vegetables...More

Thank musicman186225
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Musicman Your posted report was certain music to my ears! Great review which is much appreciated by all the staff at The Black Horse. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Black Horse.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Yet another beautiful meal. Service as always was impeccable, and we just love their maître'd, who is hilarious and definitely had the measure of our vegetable dodging 13yr old son! There was a great choice for each course, although I think the goats cheese mousse...More

Thank Claracluzel
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Claracluzel Five stars! I know that all the staff at The Black Horse will be delighted to read your glowing review. My thanks to you. Hopefully you will be returning so that we can see if we can get your son to eat more...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I've visited twice recently for lunches with friends and family. Although the food is generally above average in terms of a good quality pub meal, the prices are quite high for what you're served. The Black Horse is a good local option for a nice...More

1  Thank shaantravels
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Shaantravels Thanks for reporting on your recent visit to the Black Horse and I was pleased to read that you thought our food to be above average. However, I was disappointed to read your comments regarding our front of house staff. In order that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went for lunch here today, from the moment we walked in to the time we left we were treated like guests. The staff were very professional and attentive. We both had the chicken dish for mains and fruit crumble for dessert, both these were...More

Thank anjparmar
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello anjparmar Your great report is much appreciated by all the staff at the Black Horse. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately we went on a Friday so it was very crowded. I fact they even had a parking attendant which should have warned us. Service was slow so we got a little agitated waiting. It must be more relaxing in the week, one hopes. Tables...More

Thank lindamjones6
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Lindamjones6 I would worry if we were not busy on a Friday evening so I was pleased when you wrote that we were crowded! We do employ a parking attendant for the weekend which alleviates not finding a parking space and offers additional security...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing food, great staff and lovely surrounding. My husband had the roast and loved it and I had the crispy egg veggie special, which was really nice. Lovely to see some really great veggie options. We'll definitely be back!

Thank clbramr
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello clbramr Your 'awesome' review was much appreciated by us all at The Black Horse. My thanks to you and your husband and we look forward to your return visit.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a prime example of what an English country pub eatery should be. In a very rural location not far from Bedford. Also close to Old Warden and the Shuttleworth collection of vintage aircraft. The internal decor is of a very high standard forming...More

Thank LEGALLOISVERITABLE
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello Legalloisveritable Very much enjoyed reading your excellent review as did the rest of the team at The Black Horse. You will have to come back to sample the delights of our garden.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a delightful stay at this lovely country pub in one of their little chalet rooms. It was compact but very confortable, clean and well equipped. the food at the pub was superb and the staff very friendly, attentive and helpful. We were also...More

Thank Rockstallion
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Rockstallion Thank you for this lovely review of The Black Horse. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay and your meal, along with the local scenery! We hope you will choose to stay with us again when you next visit the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

From the time our group walked through the front door to the time we left some time later, we were treated like kings. The service was brilliant and so professional, everything that was asked of them was done so nicely and perfectly. The food was...More

Thank Brewkit
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Brewkit Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I am delighted you and your party enjoyed your recent dining experience at The Black Horse. Your lovely comments and kind words are much appreciated by Darren and the Team. Thank you also for your...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Green Man
299 reviews
2.49 km away
The Hare and Hounds
323 reviews
2.60 km away
The Cock at Broom
61 reviews
4.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Shuttleworth Collection
388 reviews
3.78 km away
Hoo Hill Maze
6 reviews
3.90 km away
Champneys Henlow Spa
268 reviews
5.65 km away
Birds of Prey Centre
652 reviews
5.79 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
monicastamp
18 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Kerry S | Reviewed this property |
They have dog bowls of water outside but it is more a restaurant than pub so would say it's a no for inside
1
Vote
Bob W
4 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Peter D | Reviewed this property |
It's a very popular place, very busy, i presume they are covering themselves in case they get let down, which i'm sure has happened to most restaurants at some time or other. You have to bear in mind that when they take... More
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 20 - US$ 39
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 18:00
Monday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shefford, Shefford SG17 5QL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Shefford
  • Phone Number: 01462 811398
Description
The Black Horse is a family owned Inn with character and style set in a small hamlet in Bedfordshire. The Black Horse was built in the 17th Century, and although it has been updated and given a contempory style, it still holds its charm and character. With it's exposed original beams, inglenook fireplace and low ceilings, the bar is warm and welcoming - perfect for relaxing with a drink or a glass of wine. The restaurant consists of two distinct dining areas each offering their own unique style and atmosphere with either garden or courtyard outlooks. Our seasonally changed menu's use only the freshest ingredients sourced locally (where possible). The dishes are expertly prepared and presented by a team of highly qualified chef's.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing