We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Horse at Ireland

Shefford, Shefford SG17 5QL, England
+44 1462 811398
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good20%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“pork” (31 reviews)
“pudding” (42 reviews)
“steak” (61 reviews)
Opens in 11 min
Hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Shefford, Shefford SG17 5QL, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We visited with friends for a long overdue catch up meal and had a wonderful evening. The service was fantastic, waiters/ waitresses were all very friendly & attentive. Our food was delicious, very good portion sizes & wonderful flavours. The restaurant is lovely inside, it...More

Thank JayAndZ
Reviewed 3 days ago

5 covers for a family birthday dinner/midweek. Comfy with a nice atmosphere,attentive service,nice food but a tad fussy and sparse in parts,not special enough really for £160 overall. After reunion hugs on arrival,as I ordered drinks at the bar,landlord ID'ed no.1 son.He'd forgotten his DL,but...More

1  Thank Patrick L
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello PatrickL I was surprised to read your review. It was the Duty Manager who was serving at the bar on the day you visited and he is certainly quite right to ask for ID from individuals who look under age. We can use our...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Had wanted to visit here for some time and finally made it for lunch. The ambience and service were very good in this well furnished, comfortable restaurant. The starters and desserts were excellent, though the shredded smoked duck portion size could have been a little...More

1  Thank David G
Reviewed 1 week ago

On local recommendation came here with work colleagues. Very impressive, well presented, beautifully cooked and delicious food. Service was friendly and efficient. Beer well kept and tasty. All round a good spot.

Thank CoupeColonel
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello CoupeColonel Thanks for posting your 'great' review. We hope to welcome you back to The Black Horse in the near future.

Reviewed 1 week ago

What a fantastic restaurant! Food was fabulous, staff extremely helpful and attentive from the moment we walked in. Cannot fault this place, will definitely be coming back. Very deceiving from the outside but plenty of tables inside, and was fully booked when we arrived on...More

Thank Shez72
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Shez72 Thanks for posting your 'amazing' review and that you consider The Black Horse "worth every penny". It is always great to receive good reviews but when it is as fantastic as yours it makes it worthwhile. The team and I send our thanks...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My favorite all time restaurant. Food is fantastic, service is fantastic, and we always keep going back. Can't rate it high enough. Fair price too. Highly recommend

Thank Gemma H
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Gemma H Your high recommendation is much appreciated, especially after the last review. You have fully restored my faith that we have pitched our prices fairly. Many thanks and may you continue to frequent The Black Horse.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have eaten at the Black horse a few times, the last was a year ago as I feel it had fallen below the standard we had come to expect. We tried it again this week and sadly it had not improved, nothing terrible but...More

2  Thank Stuart G
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Stuart I was surprised to read that our food fell below your expectations, especially as the comment cards that I have recently been receiving from The Black Horse, reflect otherwise. It is also a shame that you failed to pinpoint any area that we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were recommended this pub restaurant but warned it would be pricey. Actually it turned out very reasonable for an excellent dinner. The staff were helpful and friendly despite the fact we hadn't booked. It was on a Wednesday evening when it is normally easy...More

Thank Stephen M
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Stephen M Thanks for taking the time to publish your excellent review on the Black Horse and for your recommendation, which is very much appreciated by all the team. Our pastry chef, is delighted that you enjoyed his bread pudding, despite it being an...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We wrote a review of The Black Horse three years ago. We ended that review, that we would come back on our next return visit. We have done just that! So good to come back again! My husband and I used to live in the...More

Thank OregonExplorers4
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Oregon Explorers4 What an exceptional review! The staff are overjoyed to read your kind comments and send their sincere thanks to you. Darren and his team also send their best regards to you both and hope that you have a safe journey back home....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been coming to the Black Horse for some years - first when it was a "high end" restaurant and we have seen its style relax over the years. Sadly, each time we have been increasingly disappointed. The most recent visit has meant we...More

1  Thank Michael384
James C, Owner at The Black Horse at Ireland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Michael384 Oh dear – very sorry to hear of your meal experience at The Black Horse. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the team. I can assure you that I will be taking up all the issues you raised with the management and...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Airman Hotel
207 reviews
4.32 km away
Champneys Henlow
2,107 reviews
5.70 km away
The Crown Hotel
64 reviews
6.40 km away
Stratton House Hotel
180 reviews
6.71 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Shefford Tandoori
417 reviews
2.44 km away
The Green Man
365 reviews
2.50 km away
The Hare and Hounds
494 reviews
2.60 km away
The Cock at Broom
80 reviews
4.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Woburn Abbey and Gardens
811 reviews
3.04 km away
Hoo Hill Maze
19 reviews
3.74 km away
The Shuttleworth Collection
502 reviews
3.83 km away
Champneys Henlow Spa
318 reviews
5.63 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
JnJBadby_Northants
21 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from annie9755 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry have no idea but i’m sure the pub would tell you if you rang up! Whoever runs this place is doing an excellent job!
0
Votes
monicastamp
18 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from Kerry S | Reviewed this property |
They have dog bowls of water outside but it is more a restaurant than pub so would say it's a no for inside
1
Vote
Bob W
4 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Peter D | Reviewed this property |
It's a very popular place, very busy, i presume they are covering themselves in case they get let down, which i'm sure has happened to most restaurants at some time or other. You have to bear in mind that when they take... More
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 20 - US$ 39
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shefford, Shefford SG17 5QL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Shefford
  • Phone Number: +44 1462 811398
Description
The Black Horse is a family owned Inn with character and style set in a small hamlet in Bedfordshire. The Black Horse was built in the 17th Century, and although it has been updated and given a contempory style, it still holds its charm and character. With it's exposed original beams, inglenook fireplace and low ceilings, the bar is warm and welcoming - perfect for relaxing with a drink or a glass of wine. The restaurant consists of two distinct dining areas each offering their own unique style and atmosphere with either garden or courtyard outlooks. Our seasonally changed menu's use only the freshest ingredients sourced locally (where possible). The dishes are expertly prepared and presented by a team of highly qualified chef's.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing