We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zinzi

10 k west of Plettenberg Bay | Plettenberg Bay, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
+27 44 532 8226
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good19%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pulled pork” (9 reviews)
“lamb shank” (22 reviews)
“panna cotta” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
African, European, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
10 k west of Plettenberg Bay | Plettenberg Bay, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

This restaurant is in a lovely garden setting. It is graded as a 6 star but actually is much less formal both in style and menu. For example, we both had their burgers which were lovely. It's a short walk from Tsala Treetops in the...More

Thank elsieCork
Reviewed 4 days ago

The service we received was exceptional, from the booking process, which we did in person, earlier in the day, where we could choose the table we wanted, based on the manager's recommendations and knowledge, to the actual dining experience that evening. The various dishes we...More

Thank Hands161
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited Zinzi after recommendations from 2 different friends. We were not disappointed. Our meals were delicious and we received great service. Can't wait to visit again.More

Thank jannions
Zinzi_Rest, Front Office Manager at Zinzi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Jannions, We are delighted to read that you had "delicious meals and great service" during your evening with us after the recommendations you received. Thank you for your lovely review. We certainly look forward to having you dine with us again. Warmest regards The...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a terrible experience we had here. We were booked on a fully inclusive package via a competition won through Firestone SA, which included the Zinzi Restaurant, but somehow the Restaurant messed up. After sorting out the problem from their side, the Manager on duty...More

Thank Asjas1001
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The restaurant is beautifully appointed. The food tasteless. I ordered the Kingklip - a moist, firm white fish which needs to be served moist and tasty. The piece I received was dry and tasteless. The topping did not help - it was dried out. Second...More

Thank Jocelin K
Zinzi_Rest, General Manager at Zinzi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jocelin K Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our restaurant, your comments are very much valued. We are extremely saddened that you felt the Zinzi flare was not displayed in our menu selection. Our chefs endeavor to ensure flavor...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited Zinzi whilst in South Africa, it was recommended to us. What a fantastic restaurant, the ambience, food, service, friendliness. Would have liked to go at lunchtime but was closed out of season, open nights only whilst we were there. Sat on the verandah for...More

Thank shamwari45
Zinzi_Rest, General Manager at Zinzi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear shamwari45 Thank you for the "Fantastic restaurant" review and hope you enjoyed all South Africa had to offer. We are thrilled to read that you had a lovely dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to experience a lunch with...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having been to Zinzi several times in the past, our latest visit did not disappoint. The highlight was the triple chocolate decadence which was superb.

Thank Titanic1
Zinzi_Rest, Manager at Zinzi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Titanic1 Thank you for your lovely review of Zinzi. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed yet another great dinning experience with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Kindest regards The Zinzi Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The setting and decor is beautiful, with stunning attention to detail. The staff were so attentive and excellent service during the meal. The salmon miso broth as a main meal is phenomenal, with such fresh tasting flavours. The thai green curry was also delicious and...More

Thank 721shannond
Zinzi_Rest, Manager at Zinzi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 721shannond Thank you so much for this amazing review. It is such a pleasure to read all of your wonderful comments and we are absolutely delighted that you had such a wonderful Zinzi experience. We are so looking forward to welcoming you back on...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My misogyny salmon was devine but my husbands lamb shank was far to over cooked and could have been season better. The creme brulee was very nice. Service is always good.More

Thank Desre R
Zinzi_Rest, Manager at Zinzi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Desre R Thank you for your kind review of Zinzi. It was truly wonderful having you and your husband dine with us and we are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal as well as the service. Thank you for your constructive...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I tried the chicken schnitzel which was delicious. Loved the atmosphere and service was top notch. Worth the visit.

Thank Strosieberry
Zinzi_Rest, Manager at Zinzi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Strosieberry Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review and for commending our service team and chefs on their efforts. We do hope to have you join us again soon! Kindest regards The Zinzi Team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bocca Dolce Coffee Shop
47 reviews
7.32 km away
Hunter's Country House
73 reviews
5.40 km away
Love Food Cafe
10 reviews
1.74 km away
Nearby Attractions
Knysna Elephant Park
1,941 reviews
1.60 km away
Radical Raptors
190 reviews
2.47 km away
Garden Route Wolf Sanctuary
127 reviews
1.98 km away
Garden of Eden
211 reviews
7.19 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Sylvia B
Does my husband have to wear trousers or are smart shorts ok?
3 March 2017|
Answer Show all 18 answers
Response from Zinzi_Rest | Property representative |
Dear Sylvia B We would suggest smart casual for evening, day time is very casual though. But we fully understand that most guests during holiday period would not necessarily have smart pants available. You are welcome to... More
0
Votes
Maylanes
Hi there, How long is the drive from Knysna Elephant Park to your restaurant? Is there parking available? Or is it easy to book a local taxi from the Elephant park and back again if we wish to have a drink?
9 January 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Zinzi_Rest | Property representative |
Good evening Maylanes We are situated about 4km from the Knysna Elephant park, once you get to the N2 just drive directly opposite and follow the dirt road for 1km until you reach the Entrance gate to Hunter's & Tsala... More
2
Votes
obiokehi
We are on the way to your Restaurant!! Is it worth it to drive from Knysna to Plettenberg for your cooking/food?? What's your best seafood meal and or Prawns serving?
23 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Rolgand | Reviewed this property |
I think its worth it! But forget about prawns! I had the mussels as a starter today, very, very nice! And the kinglip sounded heavenly! You should better have a reservation though! Its quite busy!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 k west of Plettenberg Bay | Plettenberg Bay, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Plettenberg Bay  >  Harkerville
  • Phone Number: +27 44 532 8226
  • E-mail
Description
Vibrant and casual with distinctive international flavours, Zinzi Restaurant offers an abundant & tasty menu.
Ideal for sun-downers on the deck, or for a relaxed dining experience, Zinzi embraces the spirit of hearty cuisine and zesty ingredients with a choice selection of a la carte menu items. A meal at Zinzi is truly an abundant experience of honest food, warm service and superb ambience, at an affordable price.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing