We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chapel House Restaurant with Rooms

Friars Gate | Off Main Cobbled Market Square, Atherstone CV9 1EY, England
+44 1827 718949
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good20%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (6 reviews)
“soup” (2 reviews)
“steak” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, French, International
PRICE
₹₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Friars Gate | Off Main Cobbled Market Square, Atherstone CV9 1EY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2017

The meal was Superb. The wine came from an extensive cellar in this very old house. The couple who owned and ran the Chapel, husband and wife. He, the extraordinary Chef served out of this world plates of sumptuous delicacies with wine to match! Why...More

Thank Jim N
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful three course meal with good choice of wine. Chef owner very friendly. great place to dine.By sharing your experiences, you're helping travellers make better choices and plan their dream trips. Thank you!

Thank JCH818
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Wonderful meal, superb service and excellent wine. A most memorable evening and we will be back. Thank you.

Thank bluefoot52
Richard N, Owner at Chapel House Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thank you for your review, we were delighted that you enjoyed a lovely evening and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards.

Reviewed 2 December 2016

I tried to organise a voucher for afternoon tea as a present for my children who have birthdays in January. Unfortunately they will only cater for large groups. I was happy to pay £20 per head but obviously we are not worth the effort.More

Thank Judy S
Richard N, Owner at Chapel House Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

We are truly sorry that you are so disappointed. We do offer vouchers for the restaurant and we do cater for tea parties. However, we bake fresh scones, cakes, and pastries as required so we only offer afternoon tea to parties of 12 or more,...More

Reviewed 21 October 2016

I happened on this rather fine eating establishment whilst out in the square of the town of Atherstone and was very pleasantly surprised when I decided to visit and partake of a repast there , It is rather expensive but not to worry because it...More

Thank Hungrymetalhead182
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

A beautiful hotel with elegant surroundings . Service was top class and food was outstanding the best I have had in a very long time it was definitely fine dining our room was relaxing and comfortable and breakfast was delicious thank you for a lovely...More

Thank Tina W
Richard N, Owner at Chapel House Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Thank you for your kind remarks. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we shall see you again in the future.

Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Went to celebrate a friends birthday, paid £15 for an afternoon tea which constisted of 3 finger sandwiches,1 onion tartlet,1 scone and 1 slice of chocolate cake (which most people in our table left)on and a lot of tea. Presentation was a bit poor.. just...More

1  Thank Louise S
Richard N, Chef Patron at Chapel House Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, which we much appreciate. I am sorry you were disappointed. As a licensed restaurant, we provide afternoon tea only for parties of 12 or more and thus do not have the individual cake stands used...More

Reviewed 28 August 2016

We reserved a table for four here in the restaurant and I have to say service was impeccable and the food absolutely delicious - there were good choices available for vegetarians as well as the best steak I've ever had - highly recommended to everyone

Thank Martyne H
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Went for a pre Christmas meal, superb food, reasonably priced and great service , Highly recommended, choice of starters mains and puddings served in lovely room reasonably priced drinks aswell

Thank mrbob30031955
Reviewed 21 August 2016

I have never had anything other than excellent food here, the owner/chef ensures he procures the very best ingredients for all of his menus and the results are superb! His lovely wife is very welcoming and ensures that the service is "spot on" . The...More

Thank Plumly
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Larder
201 reviews
.19 km away
The Black Horse
34 reviews
.31 km away
Herbs and Spice Restaurant & Take-Away
87 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Clocktower Tea Room & Cookery School
7 reviews
3.44 km away
Hartshill Hayes Country Park
267 reviews
3.53 km away
Pooley Country Park
41 reviews
7.11 km away
Fourways Play Centre
159 reviews
.73 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chapel House Restaurant with Rooms staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 33 - US$ 52
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Private Dining
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
19:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
19:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
19:00 - 23:00
Thursday
19:00 - 23:00
Friday
19:00 - 23:00
Saturday
19:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Friars Gate | Off Main Cobbled Market Square, Atherstone CV9 1EY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Atherstone
  • Phone Number: +44 1827 718949
  • E-mail
Description
Award-winning elegant restaurant with romantic ambience: candlelight, linen napkins, soft music, overlooking pretty garden. Special occasions our speciality. Stay overnight in 5-star rooms.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing